We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret square”
Review of Place Dauphine

Place Dauphine
Book In Advance
More Info
$226.70*
and up
Paris Day-Tour with Lunch: Ile de la Cite, Montparnasse Tower, and...
Ranked #172 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A secret square”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

At the west tip of the Ile de La Cite there are two handsome houses, warm brick with creamy stone dressing which mark the entrance to an unexpected triangular 'square' called the Place Dauphine. Built at the same time as the Place Vendome, this has been altered considerably since, but still keeps it's air of a being a part of old Paris which few visitors stumble upon, and the central areas with it's miniature bore chestnut tress has a beautiful period quality. When standing there, one feels protected from the bustle of nearby tourist attractions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SwanseaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    57
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“For quiet meal away from crowds”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Walked through here about 12:30 pm and it was fairly dead. It would be nice for couples and has some nice buildings but it's really nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heart of Paris”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I cannot praise Place Dauphine enough. One of the best kept secrets of central Paris, this charming, character-filled square with it's wonderful restaurants and elegant buildings is one of the things that makes Paris an unforgettable trip for me every time. My mum and I have stayed in a small apartment above one of the restaurants two years in a row and have found both the location and the atmosphere of the square made it the best place so far we have stayed. Stroll through the place morning day or night and you will experience Parisian life at its best. Located near the busy Pont Neuf, you would never know you are metres away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The location is superb for a small stay although prices are high-we managed to nab a bargain and the apartment was amazing. Place Dauphine is a must for a lunch, stroll-through or night-time wander

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice, but not what I expected...”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had heard a lot about Place Dauphine so while touring Ile de la Cite we had to stop by. After hanging out around Pont Neuf, we entered into triangle shaped "square" just down from the bridge.

The first thing I noticed was that there was nothing going on. No one other than a small handful of teenagers at a cafe were in the square. Now I know this was probably just a case of us being there at the wrong time but there was nothing that really grabbed us. It was around 4 PM and we just expected more to be going on in such a well known spot. On the flipside, it was quiet and a nice getaway from the busy streets outside.

There were a few cafes open and some restaurants that were closed. We did get to see a couple of "Midnight in Paris" locations there and I can see where it could be quite nice at night. It's very well kept even though it's not the most beautiful spots. The gravel instead of grass and the lack of life kinda dissappointed us. But again, it may have just been an instance of being there at the wrong time. It's quaint and peaceful and a nice bit of old Paris even if it wasn't what we expected.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keith71_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
2,534 reviews
869 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,623 helpful votes
“Great little triangular square.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A delightful space perhaps best approached through the narrow opening at the Pont Neuf end. There are four or five little cafes and restaurants on the right, the smallest and first of which on the right seemed to be the most laid back and relaxed so we used it for breakfast. The Place is exquisitely groomed. There are some other retail businesses including a couple of specialist bookshops with legal, historical bents. If you walk across Pont Neufchâtel in either direction or are making your way west down through the island, don't miss Place Dauphine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place Dauphine also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Place Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing