We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum with Street Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Centre Pompidou

Centre Pompidou
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.47*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Centre Pompidou Paris Ticket
Ranked #64 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER : . The biggest collection of moderne and contemporary art in Europe, one of the finest in the world ! . A building that is an icon of 20th century architecture. . Cutting-edge events, exhibitions that can't be missed. . The most wonderful view of Paris.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Museum with Street Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Sited between the Marais and Le Halles, the Pompidou public space attracts musicians and other performers while the art inside is stellar and the view from the top, unbeatable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,121
    1,462
    635
    220
    138
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not to our taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The 'art' was certainly aimed at a niche market - and not to our taste at all. The cafe was expensive.
We paid an extra 3 euro for a spectacular viewing area but found nowhere special - we just travelled to the top of the building via the external escalators with everyone else - the view was somewhat spoilt by the scratched perspex we had to look through.
A good place to go it you like 'art' that doesn't resemble anything recognisable and could have been done by a two-year-old.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank we2brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic selection of sculpture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Loved the sculptures at the museum of modern art. Apart from those on permanent display, there was an exhibition on celebrating the sculptor Etienne-Martin when i went which was small but fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“It's all about the building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our hotel was about 50 meters from the back of this museum, so we felt its presence constantly. We also rode up the escalators (3 euro) for the spectacular view. Love it or hate it, you can't ignore this in-your-face building. The nearby Stravinsky fountain is truly charming.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Left wanting more Duchamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

As an art history major, I've always been boggled by modern art. I love it but I can never fully comprehend it. Unlike its predecessors. So, I wasn't really sure what to expectn at Pompidou. But I loved it. It goes through each movement fairly briefly so you don't get the impression of needing to understand and take in everything to see the changes across big movements.

I really enjoyed seeing the art pieces I had spent many hours pondering over as a student in college. Most of them were on the fifth floor which you actually get to from entering at the fourth floor. There's no need to take the elevator to fifth.

Also when entering the building, it can be confusing which gallery is opened and what it's showing. The permanent collection is the leftmost entrance coming in from the entrance offer the square. There are some exhibits that are not opened to Paris Museum Pass holders. But tourists should find the permanent collection to take up quite a significant amount of time. So much that we pretty much breezed through the forth floor of contemporary art unfortunately.

Helpful?
3 Thank thechilibuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre Pompidou also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Centre Pompidou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing