We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Bridge by the Cathedral

You'll get a splendid view of Notre Dame from this small bridge that links Ile de la Cite to the... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
Thomas V
,
Oakland, California
Beautiful view for Notre Dame - now without padlocks

This bridge is located just behind Notre Dame, being another connection between the Île de la Cité... read more

Reviewed May 26, 2018
Francisco-XD84
,
Porto, Portugal
Read all 390 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Paris
from $109.61
More Info
from $56.53
More Info
from $19.61
More Info
from $9.61
More Info
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveler rating
173
138
54
4
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
138
54
4
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of notre dame nice bridge seine river left bank latin quarter padlock arches
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 390 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

There is really nothing very outstanding about this bridge. It was built in 1828 and is the narrowest road bridge in Paris. The attraction it holds for me is purely romantic! The shadow of Pont de l'Archeveche is where Gene Kelly and Lesile Caron danced in the 1951 film, An American In Paris. What more reason could you want to see it? It's also where we boarded our Batobus river boat tour. There was an accordian player sitting near the bridge entertaining the tourists, accepting Euros for his efforts and he will play requests. He played La Vie En Rose for me, albeit, badly!

Date of experience: September 2012
22  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

After relaxing in the shade on a bench behind the magnificent Notre Dame, I headed south on my way to the Latin Quarter and to my disappointment the lovely Pont de l'Archeveche was covered in the stupid Locks of Love. As romantic as ithe idea sounds, it's not - it's vandalism.

Imagine thousands of litte keys floating down the Seine - what impact will they have on the environment? What happens when these locks, after being exposed to the elememts, start to corrode? Is that what you want to see behind one of the world's greatest cathedrals? Not me.

The view from the bridge is spectacular (take a look at google street view to see it "sans-locls" to see what I mean.

Date of experience: May 2012
63  Thank F1racegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the brigde to the north of Notre Dame across the Seine. Everyone puts a lock on the bridge with the names of someone or those they love. It is a truly moving site and with the stunning Notre Dame Cathedral as the backdrop, it is an amazing photo opportunity.

Date of experience: July 2012
33  Thank rosebank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews