We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to the City of Light”
Review of Le Regent Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Regent Hostel
Ranked #9 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“First Visit to the City of Light”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Due to poor planning on my part, I arrived one night earlier to what I had originally planned. Arriving late at night in a flurry, with my cases from the train station, I was worried that there may not be room for me..But, alas- Le Regent Hostel was perfectly accommodating! I stayed in one double room before moving into my booked dorm room for the rest of the trip. In a city notorious for serious spending, Le Regent was a haven for the budget traveller! (But then when you have a weakness for macaroons, vintage clothing and Shakespeare & Co. Bookshop, it balances out) Everything was perfectly clean and you can't beat the location. Also, thanks to the guidance of the reception staff- I feel I can honestly call myself a Metro Wunderkind. Seriously. Totally Ace. Like, point to something on the metro map. Anywhere. Not too blow my own horn or anything.. But feel free to test my acumen. :)

One experience I will never forget, was climbing up to see the sunset from the Sacre Couer after my first official day in Paris. The colour of the sky was a gorgeous dusky pink and orange, as the sun faded into the distance. Honestly, I felt like "The Air that I Breathe" cover by The Pixies should have been playing in the background.. This became an evening ritual, all because Le Regent Montmartre was literally five minutes away from the Basilica! (Or three minutes when you turned attempted to burn off the pain au chocolats.)

All and all, just a fabulous place. Hope to go back someday soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    385
    208
    58
    52
See reviews for
90
170
302
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay. I enjoyed it thoroughly! The Hostel is situated 2 mins from a metro line and also about 10 mins walking distance from the Sacre Couer and Moulin Rounge. The Hostel is clean and well looked after. There are lots of young people staying there so friends can be made easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyarenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights in a private double, so experience will be different versus those in dorms. Place is a typical hostel-lots of group space, hodge-podge kitchen, and rock music playing in the lobby. Overall it was a good place. Fairly clean in the common spaces, but carpet was disgusting. Bathrooms were very clean and had a shower/tub combo. Location can be a bit sketchy at night...lots of immigrants in the area. lots of shady looking business and back room deals going on, including the infamous west African "bracelet" scam. However, in our top floor private room we had TWO balconies that looked out on Sacre Cuoer. It was like it was in our laps. The view alone made up for the shortcomings. Overall a 3/5 but a 4/5 if you take into account what they really have control over and the fact it's a cheap hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hostel is situated near Nord train station in Paris, very easy to get from/to Airport. My room was under roof, clean and quite for such big city. Supermarkets and cafe/resturants are situated near. Typical french breakfast is included. I recomend to stay in this hostel with friends, because area near metro in evening was unwelcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frezija_zl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

the location is very convenient. it is located on the main street, next to a metro station and ca. 5-10 minutes walking distance to the train station gare du nord. the rooms are ok, quite clean, but they don*t have lockers. breakfast is included, but it is only about the sweet stuff, like croissants or bread with honey/marmelade and juice/coffee. but it is sufficient.

warning: this location is ok, but don*t book anything between the stations barbes-rochechouart and la chapelle - it looks like a red light district with weird male groups standing around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NunuN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A little exspensive for the room style and cleanliness. Although the view from my room on the top floor was wonderful and having a balcony for cigarettes and coffee was perfect. Location was superb, very near the metro and plenty of decent restaurants and street food. Nearby hostels had cheaper prices but for shared rooms. I would only return to this hostel if I were traveling as a couple. Seemed more geared toward couples or solo business persons. Hard to meet people at this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eznho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is fine for a hostel, it's clean and the staff friendly. The location is fine and next to a metro station. It is not a good place to stay and meet people as a solo traveler.I traveled with friends this time. I would recommend it if you were ok going alone or traveling with someone. The other hostels I walked into nearby seemed much more social and fun. Excellent view from the rooms higher up. Overall it didn't do much for me, for the price.

Room Tip: Top floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyuthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 170 in Paris
785 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#12 of 170 in Paris
767 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Arty Paris
#8 of 170 in Paris
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Regent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regent Hostel

Property: Le Regent Hostel
Address: 37 boulevard de Rochechouart | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Regent Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Paris from the heart. You are not 20 mn away to the center , 10 mn to the center but just in the center . Ideally located in front of the most visited site of Paris : the Sacré Coeur and a short stroll away from the Moulin Rouge and Pigalle ; the staff of the Regent Hostel will welcome you day or night and will make your stay inforgettable. Come and meet fellow travelers, cook in our common kitchen, hang out in our cool lounge (with great football table) or enjoy the free Wi–fi while just hanging out. share stories and tips. The welcoming ambiance of the Regent Hostel will be just what you are looking for while visiting all the wonderful sights of Paris.We offer:• A parisian breakfast from 7:30 am to 10 am (Juice, fresh croissant, coffee, French bread with butter and jam,hot drinks)• a kitchen fully equipped opens from 12 am to 10.30 pm • 24 hour reception• Free Wifi in the whole hostel• HIGH SPEED internet kiosks (paying) • Cleaned daily• Elevator ( lift )• English NEWSPAPER• FAX SERVICE • parking nearby ( charge ) • Free Day storage luggage after check out • 100% Hostel smoking Free • Free Iron ; Ironing boarding• Hot water 24 hours • Free Use of major mobile phone recharger • Free maps and knowledgeable advice• Lockers at the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Regent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regent Hotel Paris
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing