We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't pay for my dog to stay here. Avoid like the plague!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Ranked #1,247 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wouldn't pay for my dog to stay here. Avoid like the plague!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

If you would like to stay in a nice, clean, pleasant, budget hotel - DON'T STAY HERE!! Whilst I understand that this hotel is for people on a budget, it isn't an excuse for the staff to treat you like you are an inconvenience. We wanted to look at our rooms befrore we paid for them - and we were tutted at! Once we'd paid for our rooms (they had our card details from booking online - and made a point of telling us this when we asked to look at them first!), we went to our rooms. The only way I could decribe them is goddamn awful. They were bare and cold. The bedcovers were full of hair and the rooms were just - well - grotty! I didn't even want to sit down. THANK GOD we were only there for one night.
The toilets were unmentionable - urgh!
The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.
DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE DESPERATE!!! And even then, think again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    75
    58
    27
    43
See reviews for
21
135
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was cheap and functional and the bed was made every day (don't think the sheets were changed though). It was cheap (60 euro a night) considering we booked it at late notice and in August. However, I should warn future travelers: there was only a sink in our room and the bathroom on our floor was shared (and tiny). There was one shower downstairs and you need to request a coin to operate it (which the owner failed to mention, leaving me out of water halfway though my shower the first day). On that note, it's worth mentioning that the owner/receptionist was unpleasant and made us feel unwelcome, even after we handed over all our money before even seeing the room. He shouted at his wife and kids really late at night, waking us on two occasions. Overall I'd say get this hotel if you're booking late and can't find anywhere else at a reasonable price in the area. Otherwise, spend a bit extra and have a really pleasant stay in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

london UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I am lucky enough to be able to go to Paris often and this is a lovely little hotel that I found on my last trip. Its small, clean with some wonderful views over the rooftops of Paris. It has 5 floors so caution is necessary when coming home after a few drinks but I cant fault it.

And if you decide to pay a bit extra for a ensuite then you will love the box that is the shower in the middle of the room. The water pressure was fantastic and I happily paid more for the convenience, Loo was outside the room and a bit breeazy and cold but overall - loved it and will come back. Go to Cafe Bryant on rue de Abesses for breakfast.. skip the inhouse one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigusbirdus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel was good for backpackers and young people. Most of the visitors were young, very much like a hostel but the rooms are private (bathroom is communal). Rooms are very basic and nice breakfast is included along with wifi internet. If you are looking for a fancy hotel this is not for you, but if you want a great price and nice location close to the Metro this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYork61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was average. Bringing the luggage up wasn't an easy task... The stairs are very narrow / steep / circular / dark... Service was also average. Our room was a little small.

Room Tip: Get a room closest to the lobby as the stairs are very narrow / steep / circular / dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlacopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have stayed in hostels better than this. The bed was average. The shower situation was just below average, but passable and clean. The service was downright horrid. Awful receptionist/owner who barked orders at you in French. The location was great for Montmartre, but you really should consider staying somewhere else unless you really have no other option.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi10armour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I were traveling on a budget, and the price of this place seemed right. Although there were other budget Paris hotels at about the same price, not many were in as great a location as this little gem in the less touristy section of Montmartre. We are used to fending for ourselves, and don't need lots of luxuries, so this little no-frills place worked great for us.

We paid the little extra to have a room with a corner balcony, which was well worth it! It was great to be able to come back to the room after a long day of sightseeing, open the balcony doors, and sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine, looking at the Parisian buildings and streets. Some rooms have small single-person showers (incl. all the balcony rooms), and all have their own sink. Everyone, however, must use the toilet down the hall on each floor. This was never an issue, as it was always kept clean, and we never had to wait to use it.

Keep in mind that there is no elevator, so you'll be hauling yourself (and your stuff) up the spiral staircase to your room. This was no problem for my wife and me, who were traveling with large backpacks, but it might present a problem for some. Besides, most Parisians use the stairs anyway.

Check-in was easy and quick. You can reserve on-line, then when you arrive you pre-pay all your nights. Checking out is as simple as dropping off the key. Apparently there is an internet computer in the lobby (but no wi-fi in the rooms). There's also a breakfast served in a downstairs room, but at 7€ per person, per day, my wife and I skipped this and shopped at Monoprix or got cafe & croissants in the many local cafés.

The location is fabulous if you like being somewhat away from all the tourists. This is a real Parisian neighborhood, away from the hordes of Place du Tertre, and there are many great restaurants, bars, and stores within a few blocks. It's very close to the Abbesses Métro Station, and also easy walking distance to the stop at Place Blanche (also where the Monoprix is). About all the cafés and takeout restaurants you could want are located on Rue Lepic which leads down the hill to Blanche. One note: at night the streets outside the hotel can get noisy with nightlife, but this never kept us from sleeping (we were also on the 5th floor).

All in all, this is a quaint, clean, decent budget place. If you're mostly planning to spend your time outside the hotel anyway to see the sights– as most folks visiting Paris do– you won't miss the creature comforts of a fancier hotel. I recommend that travelers check photos of the rooms to get an idea of the size and amenities, since this type of lodging, although great for us, may not be for everybody. That said, I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the small extra € for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#833 of 1,801 in Paris
502 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
#991 of 1,801 in Paris
328 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#505 of 1,801 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
Hotel Basss by HappyCulture
#446 of 1,801 in Paris
497 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Du Moulin
Hotel Du Moulin
#1,315 of 1,801 in Paris
246 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
#1,088 of 1,801 in Paris
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Property: Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Address: 11 rue Burq | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,247 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsejour Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing