We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a great price, as long as you don't need frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Ranked #1,277 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My wife and I were traveling on a budget, and the price of this place seemed right. Although there were other budget Paris hotels at about the same price, not many were in as great a location as this little gem in the less touristy section of Montmartre. We are used to fending for ourselves, and don't need lots of luxuries, so this little no-frills place worked great for us.

We paid the little extra to have a room with a corner balcony, which was well worth it! It was great to be able to come back to the room after a long day of sightseeing, open the balcony doors, and sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine, looking at the Parisian buildings and streets. Some rooms have small single-person showers (incl. all the balcony rooms), and all have their own sink. Everyone, however, must use the toilet down the hall on each floor. This was never an issue, as it was always kept clean, and we never had to wait to use it.

Keep in mind that there is no elevator, so you'll be hauling yourself (and your stuff) up the spiral staircase to your room. This was no problem for my wife and me, who were traveling with large backpacks, but it might present a problem for some. Besides, most Parisians use the stairs anyway.

Check-in was easy and quick. You can reserve on-line, then when you arrive you pre-pay all your nights. Checking out is as simple as dropping off the key. Apparently there is an internet computer in the lobby (but no wi-fi in the rooms). There's also a breakfast served in a downstairs room, but at 7€ per person, per day, my wife and I skipped this and shopped at Monoprix or got cafe & croissants in the many local cafés.

The location is fabulous if you like being somewhat away from all the tourists. This is a real Parisian neighborhood, away from the hordes of Place du Tertre, and there are many great restaurants, bars, and stores within a few blocks. It's very close to the Abbesses Métro Station, and also easy walking distance to the stop at Place Blanche (also where the Monoprix is). About all the cafés and takeout restaurants you could want are located on Rue Lepic which leads down the hill to Blanche. One note: at night the streets outside the hotel can get noisy with nightlife, but this never kept us from sleeping (we were also on the 5th floor).

All in all, this is a quaint, clean, decent budget place. If you're mostly planning to spend your time outside the hotel anyway to see the sights– as most folks visiting Paris do– you won't miss the creature comforts of a fancier hotel. I recommend that travelers check photos of the rooms to get an idea of the size and amenities, since this type of lodging, although great for us, may not be for everybody. That said, I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the small extra € for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 260 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

This hotel was in a fabulous location right in the heart of the lively Montemarte!! So I would give it five stars for this.

However, the owner was so arrogant and so rude to his wife and children and hotel guests. It took him ages to find our reservation and right from the word go he was rude and uninterested. Crazy when it is his livelihood and we are paying him for a service.

Anyway the hotel served us its purpose of being in a prime location and 5 mins walk from the metro.
The rooms are located on different levels all the way up very very steep stairs, would not be suitable for an older person to climb and possibly dangerous for young children. The toilets were located one on each level, very tiny, and the shared shower was located on the bottom floor beside reception.

I could use a computer with wifi in by reception. However, I got asked to leave around 11am as the owner wanted his cleaner to clean in there.
Would stay again, but only for location!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miasmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Everything went fine. We booked in a hurry and the following day we were there and they have everything ready! Excelent location, very close to metro and shops. Just a few minutes walking of Sacre Couer, Moulin Rouge and the heart of Montmartre. Clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolarg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This hotel (really not a hotel, but a hostel) was a nightmare. First, when booking we reserved a private bath, assuming that meant bathroom. Wrong. Apparently that means a very small plastic shower in the corner of a very small room. When we checked in, the manager treated us like we were a great annoyance, practically throwing a key at us just to get rid of us. Once we'd seen the room, and were very disappointed, what with five flights of uneven, slanted, winding stairs, the small room, a single communal toilet for the entire floor, we tried to convince ourselves that we'd barely spend any time in the room. However, when we decided to crash that night my friend pulled back the sheets on his bed and saw a nice big period-blood stain. At that point, we got out of there and ended up finding a much nicer cheaper hotel (actually a hotel this time) just two short subway stops away. I would only recommend the Bonsejour "Hotel" to a true enemy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkerk1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Hi,
My first impresion when I saw the room was... this must be a joke... The rooms are very small, I chose a room with shower but this is like a toy, you can't move it inside and can fall out of the shower, There is only one general shower at the main floor and you need to pay for it... and don't ever mentioned that I was at the 5th floor without a elevator 97 stairs !!!!!!

The room was very cold. There is only one old toilet per floor.

Great location and there are 2 subway statios, tipical french restaurants, there is a laundry in the same street, stores and easy to move to anywhere. There is a Carrefour near too.

I think for the same price you can get a better hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Net0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed 2 nights at this so called Hotel, owner who booked us in was not a very nice person, had to pay up front. 4 flights of winding stairs, no lift and no offer to help with luggage, room was clean but not very nice, we had a plastic underlay on the mattress, and the floor was not level, toilet at the end of the corridor was very tiny, as noted before shower was on the bottom floor and 2 euros for 7 minutes. Great location close to everything, have no idea how they got a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Great location in the heart of Montmartre, with plenty of bars and restaurants on the hotel's doorstep and the Moulin Rouge just round the corner. Budget accommodation in this artisan area of Paris comes at a price - rooms have a sink, but toilets are shared, with only one on each floor, and only one shower shared with all other guests. That said, we knew this was going to be the case and therefore it wasn't a problem for us, but might put others off. Breakfast is included and there is free internet access in the lobby. Parking is a problem, as it is anywhere in paris, but there are a couple of guarded 24-hour multistory carparks within walking distance. There is good access to the metro lines.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_baggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
#984 of 1,803 in Paris
335 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#862 of 1,803 in Paris
514 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#517 of 1,803 in Paris
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Boronali
Hotel Boronali
#1,121 of 1,803 in Paris
248 reviews
Montmartre
Comfort Hotel Place du Tertre
Comfort Hotel Place du Tertre
#1,596 of 1,803 in Paris
370 reviews
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre

Address: 11 rue Burq | 18 Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,277 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsejour Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing