We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place......”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #260 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this place......”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to this hotel last August to celebrate our silver wedding. We enjoyed it so much, we came back this year with our daughters. We've been upgraded on both occasions. The rooms size is fine - from looking at pictures of other Parisian hotels, many seem to be very small. The point is, if you are a tourist in Paris, how much time will you be spending in a bedroom anyway? The are clean and tidy

The staff are brilliant, very friendly and helpful. The lady in the breakfast room - I'm so sorry, I've forgotten your name - is lovely, always cheerful. There is free coffee in the downstairs lounge. All in all, I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Thank you for a great time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    262
    36
    17
    2
See reviews for
107
322
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked this hotel through GoToday.com, that handled our travel plans. This allowed us to have free breakfast which was nice. Overall it was clean, nice neighborhood, it's consider the 14th arrondissement of Paris, montparnasse district. Convenient metro closeby, farmacia, boulangerie, grocery, love the lil bistro next to the hotel, Le Petit Broc, casual good food after a long day of sightseeing paris, sometimes we didn't want to go to far from hotel.
Okay back to review. The room we had was quite small, which is customary to European hotels. There are larger rooms but this was fine since most of the day we were out and about in paris. The room was clean and somewhat up to date. I do recommend this hotel as a moderately nice hotel. Fine if you are on a budget looking to spend your money other things on your trip.
Wifi is okay you have to sign in over and over again.

Room Tip: For two people we stayed in room 32 it was quite small than what we are used to in USA, but it worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Hotel and the room itself were very clean but the room was so tiny! We stayed in a standard room, so were expecting a basic room and en-suite. The room was nicely decorated. However, the small window we had looked out into a tiny column of space (could not see daylight, unless I leaned right out of the window and looked upwards), so it meant that we had to keep the lights on the whole time. It felt very disconcerting as it felt like evening first thing in the morning. The en-suite was however a bit harder to negotiate. The toilet was so close to the wall, you had to sit at an angle or you would crash into the wall and knock the toilet roll off its holder (which hung quite close to the edge of the toilet). The shower screen on the bath could not sit above the side of the bath properly as the edge of the sink was too close to the bath, so having a shower was fun in the limited space. The only drink options available at the hotel was a coffee dispenser, no water or tea was available. There was a mini bar, however, you had to go down to reception and sort out payment before a key was issued to the mini bar. Having said that the reception staff were incredibly helpful and extremely polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KitKat80_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great lil hotel- perfect to 2 major train stations that got us to pretty much everywhere we wanted to go. Decent enough English speaking concierges (and even one that helped you learn french!) The room was European small- the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom! Overall, it is great-near Tour Montparnasse and is the best area for crepes!

Room Tip: Even on the top you can't see the Eiffel Tower, so it doesnt really matter where you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDeMaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel in July...highly recommend it...value was good and we were upgraded to a suite! Staff very helpful and it is located walking distance to metro stops! Can take metro to airport...very easy and saves cost of a taxi. Also it has AC which is great for summer visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberts1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is located in a nice area with lots of restaurants/cafes close by and the stop for the Hop On Hop off bus was only 100 meters up Raspail road. It seems to be an affluent area of Paris and we felt safe. The Metro station was only around the corner.
The Staff spoke English very well and were very helpful, assisting us very capably on a number of occasions including calling a doctor, translating and providing directions on how to get to some of the tourist attractions etc.
The rooms as with the rest of Europe were small and had no views. However, they were very clean and tidy and we were surprised to have a large bathroom. Despite the hotel being on a main road we found our room to be quiet and no traffic noise. It seems to be a trait in Europe that they have elevators that are very small, the one in this hotel could barely fit 4 adults. If you are claustrophobic think about getting a room on the lower levels and you can use the stairs.
Forget the breakfast, better if you get your own from the numerous cafes and patisseries nearby. As the staff in most of the cafes/restaurants did not speak English it can be difficult to decide what to eat in this area so we made sure we went to those cafes where the waiters could speak some English.
Some people on trip advisor said that they had trouble with the free WI-FI, this must have been improved as we stayed on level 4 and had a very good connection
I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Forget the breakfast try eating out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSP-Adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Le Royal and could not have been in a better place. Besides being in one of the most affluent areas in Paris, it was safe and close to the Metro stations. The staff was outstanding!! They were so helpful and dead on when they would give us directions and where to go to avoid lines. They were so helpful and nice. We didn't have to want for anything. The rooms were very clean and updated. I will for sure stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#252 of 1,800 in Paris
1,817 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#68 of 1,800 in Paris
805 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#366 of 1,800 in Paris
796 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 212 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#291 Family Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookAssist, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing