We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our trip!”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #271 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Made our trip!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My mom and I stayed at Hotel Le Royal for 6 nights with a deal from Go-Today and could not have been happier with our stay. The staff, one gentleman in particular, was so friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke good English and gave us directions on the best way to get to the Louvre/Opera Garnier/etc whenever we needed it. The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect, especially for two women traveling alone. The neighborhood is adorable with several cute sidewalk cafés open well after midnight. This made us feel a lot safer walking home late. While we were originally concerned that our street would be noisy, it didn't reach the inside of the hotel and didn't affect us whatsoever. The breakfast was wonderful! We fully enjoyed walking down every morning to the very cute dining room. Breakfast was an assortment of meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit salad, apple sauce, boiled eggs, chocolate and plain croissants, french baguettes, orange juice, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, and warm milk. We loved everything! I especially enjoyed the chocolate croissants :) Our room was very comfortable; it was small but that was to be expected from a European hotel, and really cute! Another thing about the location of this hotel: it was so convenient and close to everything! It took 10 minutes to get to the Louvre, 20 minutes to walk to the Eiffel Tower, and for anything further out there were Metro stations just a block away. We also very much appreciated the espresso machine in the lobby! I do not understand any negative feedback, our experience was 100% positive. My mom and I both agreed that there is nowhere we would rather stay than Le Royal for our next visit to Paris :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    255
    35
    17
    2
See reviews for
102
315
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently spent three nights here and were very pleasantly surprised to discover this hotel.. This is a great value for Paris. Beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable in an excellent location in stylish Montparnasse on the Left Bank. A metro station is around the corner and it's within very easy walking distance to many nice restaurants and cafes on the Blvd Montparnasse, ,including the famous Le Dome, Le Coupole, Lila's, and the Luxembourg gardens. . A lovely, inviting lobby was stocked with comfy chairs and magazines. GREAT service at the front desk. They answered all our questions and had a taxicab for us when we needed it. Our "junior suite" room for three guests was amazingly spacious by Parisian standards, with a big, luxurious and well-equipped bath having BOTH a tub and walk-in shower, a double sink, separate water closet (!). Free WI-FI. An elevator makes moving luggage easy. Nice breakfast and coffee is free any time. We have visited Paris many times and intend to keep this at the top of our list of Paris hotel accommodations.

Room Tip: If you have more than just two persons, ask about the suite.. You will pay more than a standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicureanLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

First of all want to qualify this review as being "old" as in I stayed there 5 years ago(2008) but just never got around to writing a review on it.. But, have lately seen people asking about the hotel and the location and just want to note down my impressions.

Hotel is well located , in the 14th near border of 5th/6th. Vavin metro station very close by, several nice cafes and brasseries nearby .. Luxembourg Garden an easy walk to visit.I stayed here alone with my then 11 yr old daughter and never felt unsafe walking around in evening or coming or going in area by foot or metro.

Room was good size for that price range.. hotel rooms in Paris do tend to be very small, I considered the room size decent.. plus, nice fairly spacious bathroom .

Air conditioning worked well. We had a room facing the front and did not notice street noise being particularily loud, and I do not like traffic noise myself.
I would stay here again, but noticed prices have gone up to a bit more then I would like to pay now, but if there was a special or deal on I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location a block from Montparnasse and Blvd Raspail in the 6th District, near line 4 Metro. Friendly front desk, multi-lingual staff, attentive chamber maids and just off Blvd Montparnasse with many restaurants. Recently remodeled it is clean and without the musty odor of many older hotels in the area. It is located about a quarter mile from the huge Montparnasse Center, one of the few sky scrapers in the south and it makes a good orientation landmark. There is a small grocery store a long block away where you can buy fresh fruit and water and keep them in the mini bar. A pleasure in all regards I highly recommend it if you are staying in the 6 Arris.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StudioCityBassPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Visited in February 2013. Staff extremely helpful and spoke good english. Spent a lot of time to help us get out bearings and let us know where to go and how to get around. Situated cose to a Starbucks :-) and the Metro which is fantastic for getting around paris. The reception desk even gave us an underground map which is a must. Breakfast was great, rooms are small but normal for paris. Very nicely decorated and clean. It was valentines day when we vivsted and we had gist of chocolates left on our bed. The only downside was no view from our room window, however we did pay for hotel with airmiles so the best room was not expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view only downside was a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The receptionist (male -sorry didnt catch your name) was extremely helpful and friendly, even upgraded us to superior room on 5th floor. The whole place is well decorated and the bedroom was really nice. The location with Metro very close and the RER (from CDG) walkable even with a small wheely if you dont want to change from RER to Metro. The area is more residential than touristy but it is on edge of tourist area. Choice of restaurants is good with prices lower than in the centre. The coffee machine in the lounge makes up for lack of a kettle in room. Our only problem was that the lift broke down on our last night and wasnt fixed when we left next morning ! One of those things but we will go back when we visit Paris again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The receptionist called Eric was exceptional, notthing was too much trouble, always polite. Our room was upgraded as i prefer a bath to a shower and the staff moved all our (heavy) luggage while we were out for the day. The breakfast is more than adequate, always fresh for the 5 days we were there, The tube is 2 mins away and everything available around the immediate rue's. Some good restaurants available next door. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottsevesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#267 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#159 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#373 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Property: Hotel Le Royal
Address: 212 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#291 Family Hotel in Paris
#334 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The << Royal - Rive gauche>> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing