We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #325 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Lovely Hotel very clean - rooms are big and breakfast each morning was great! great location as lots of cafes and restaurants in the local area

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 659 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very friendly staff, very good location. Easy to walk to most of the major sights and in a lovely Breton area of Paris.
Room (nr 12) was a little small and the mattress a little uncomfortable but it had a tv and hairdryer and was functional.
Breakfast was good with meats, cheese, pastries, eggs, toast, juice, tea, coffee etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomasmoore79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for a few days and the place was beautiful. Very moderately priced, and in such a convenient location (minutes from the metro, with tons of restaurants, etc all within walking distance). The lobby was very modern looking and check in was a breeze. The front desk spoke english and they offered a free morning breakfast (if you woke up early enough).

Overall Rooms were very small, and the bathrooms were even smaller. I personally loved the decor throughout, but be careful if you have lots of luggage bc the elevators are small and the stairs were winding.

During your stay in France, I highly recommend you try the Crepes, get an expresso at the various cafes, and if you enjoy beers from around the world, I highly recommend the "Desperado". I've traveled quite a bit and have tried tons of beers from all over, and this may have to be my favorite to date. Unfortunately I've been unable to find any west of the atlantic so its something that I look forward to when i travel back to europe. Prices for food was pretty fair, but drinks can get expensive except for wine so be prepared if you're a heavy drinker like myself.

Highly recommend you visit Champs Elysees if you like to shop, and get a credit card that doesn't charge international conversion fees (i.e. Capital One offers a free one). The girlfriend bought a few things from LV, and when they offer you the option to convert it to US dollars real time, ask to pay in euros bc you'll get a better exchange rate. I learned the hard way after my first purchase so my loss is your gain.

Overall, I would highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jvmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Terrific location; helpful concierge - immaculate, quiet charming room - large by European standards ... down the block from the Arc and train station; around the corner from the Champs Elysee Would def stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
2  Thank TakinMyCarry-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here on a short break in the week before Christmas. The location of the hotel is ideal, being very close to Metro stations and also very handy for a wide range of restaurants in the area. The hotel staff all spoke English and were very friendly and welcoming as well as being keen to offer recommendations and advice. We were upgraded on arrival from a standard to a deluxe room that was very clean and comfortable as well as being surprisingly quiet as it looked out onto Boulevard Raspail.
Breakfast was self service but very good with a wide range of food on offer and no restriction on the amount that could be taken. It was let down by the quality of the coffee and tea which was served from flasks - we resorted to the (free) Nespresso capsules that were available in the lounge - a nice little touch in itself but doubly welcome as a replacement for poor breakfast coffee.
Because of the Metro links and easy walking distances we found the location of this hotel suited our trip perfectly and would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Nice hotel in very charming location at montparnasse. I loved the lobby and the room decoration. We were upgrated from a standard to a deluxe room without any charge! The reception was very helpfull and polite.Free internet access was very convenient!They even had a nespesso machine at the lobby with tablets to serve yourself an espresso!And a shoe polish device! We didn't use it, but we appreciated the thought!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ΑΚΡΙΒΗ Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood. Just walk aroud the corner and there are some nice restaurants. ( a litle bit further there are also some nice pancake restaurants too) Metro station is nearby.

The hotel has got a good ambiance and the decoration is very nice. It all looks very well maintained. Breakfast is simple but perfect.

Rooms are nice but tiny. You just have enough space to walk around the bed. Also a very small bathroom. Only possible to accomodate one person at a time.

Wireless internet acces in the room was good.

Tip: Don't want to do all the things you find in a common city guide? In bookstores in Paris you can buy Time Out Paris. It's is an english guide that gives you information about the common tourist attractions but also the hottest spots to go to. I bought the 2011 version and found it very helpfull to spot places a local would know of, but is not mentioned in a typical common guide.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asiana14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#267 of 1,809 in Paris
1,873 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
740 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Hotel Villa Modigliani
Hotel Villa Modigliani
#798 of 1,809 in Paris
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 212 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Paris
#215 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#333 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $113 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Royal - Rive gauche" hotel is located in the heart of Paris, nearby the Luxembourg garden, the Saint-Germain quarter and at less than ten minutes walk from the Montparnasse train station. The> hotel offers you a new way of enjoying welcome and hospitality in Paris It is a charming hotel that combines contemporary interior and neo-classic style, with an unique and distinctive atmosphere. The common places welcome the customers in a dimension where comfort, restful ambience and service begin now. The rooms are decorated with a contemporary style, bright and stimulating colors. The good quality bedding with mattress toppers, double glazing sounds proof, flatscreen TV, safety box, minibars and amenities : comfort is essential at "Le Royal - Rive gauche" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Montparnasse
Le Royal Paris
Royal Montparnasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing