We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel le Notre Dame
Ranked #231 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

That's what this hotel has going for it. Right opposite Notre Dame and a short stroll from the Louvre and Bld Saint Germaine. Thats why it can charge 200 Euros for the night. Its about location not the luxury or ambience of the hotel. The hotel, designed by Christian Lacroix is bijoux (small - all of it including your room) and up a set of stairs next to a bar. And on a main road so the traffic noise is deafening at times with the windows open. Or closed. |Revellers enjoyed themselves to the very late early hours of the morning below in the bar and street. But that adds to the ambience and feeling of being in the heart of Paris!
That said, it was OK. Shower no bath, and nowhere to put your soap or shampoo when there. A major oversight on behalf of Monsieur Lacroix - but we were told thats how he had designed all the rooms. Minor but irritating - along with the towels gettign wet when you were in the shower as the are stored on the back of the wall in there.
The roooms were small. The lounge area was OK, great views were its saving point alongside the hotel was very clean and tidy. The lady on reception was pleasant but we commented probably a little tired of working on reception in the hotel. Responses were pleasant but a bit automated and dismissive - one had to probe to find things out rather than information volunteered- If you dont ask the right question - you will probably miss out on important - or informative - information. Also you HAD to give your key to her if you went out. Very stern about that! On a good point - as I feel I should say something is that when we asked about parking Madame did point out a road where we could park for free. We later found out that all parking is free during August - inthe legitmiate parking spaces that is. Worth knowing! Generally nice clientele. Hotel never busy which was nice. But as we discovered on our second night we could have a fantastic hotel for 70 euro more (August is cheap so book direct with the hotels to get the discount)
We booked Notre Dame through Mr and Mrs Smith but L'hotel direct. And instead of it being 400 euro (as on Mr and MRs Smith web) we paid 270 Euro. Go there instead. Its lovely. Brilliant location, decor, service and its quiet and in the heart of things. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    283
    92
    12
    11
See reviews for
95
525
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed at this hotel when I was in Paris for a mixed vacation of both business and pleasure. The first room that we stayed in overlooked Notre Dame and it had a fun layout. It was like being a kid again! We thoroughly enjoyed the loft and it's pop up window in which you could look out over Notre Dame and the city below. Our only complaint was that it didn't have a shower. The second room we stayed in also had a view of Notre Dame and although it didn't have the same unique features as our first room, the bathroom was better in that it had a shower. Either way, we were happy. It was fun to experience the uniqueness of the rooms. We also loved the staff as they were warm and helpful. The breakfast was okay but for the cost I'd recommend getting your croissant and fresh squeezed juice at the bakery behind the hotel. It is better.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor if you want a more unique experience. However, you have to be okay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purposeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is small - rooms are small as in most of Paris...the front desk can be very helpful. Not much in the way of assistance or normal hotel services; but the rooms have been recently remodeled...and the location is dreamy. This is typically Parisian in many regards...don't expect too much with regard to knowledgeable assistance. You stay here for one reason only and that is to have a glorious eye-popping view of the river, the quay and the cathedral.

Room Tip: if you book a courtyard room - you might as well stay elsewhere. Not a wheelchair accessible propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccbuzzbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very nice hotel, the rooms are perfect, the location are very convinient and the service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Sir ; Thank you for your nice comments , and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon for a new stay with us in Paris. Best Regards.Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great location opposite the Notre Dame and the River Seine in the latin quarter, with access to good restaurants and the metro.
Friendly, helpful staff ,clean, quirky, reasonable sized rooms.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Seine and the Notre Dame will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simorar, Responsable réception at Hotel le Notre Dame, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Guest , Many thanks for taking the time to leave your apreciation about our hotel ; it is so pleasent to see that you have a nice "souvenir" about your stay in Paris with us. Looking forward to welcome you once more ; very soon.Best Regards. Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel isn't very well marked and after searching for a little while we realized it was a glass door to the right of the cafe on the corner. There is a staircase that is right inside the front door and at the top of the stairs is the check in desk. The staff was pleasant and spoke English well enough to communicate anything that was necessary. The elevator was tiny and there was only enough room for one person and baggage at a time. The hallways and the room were also very small. However, after traveling through Europe I have come to expect that places are not marked well and rooms are tiny. The room had a great view of the river and Notre Dame. It is directly over a very busy intersection but surprisingly it was pretty quiet with the window closed. However, there ambulance sirens in Europe are very obnoxious and that sound will definitely penetrate even the thickest walls. Fortunately, I'm not a light sleeper so I did not notice any noise. The bed was not the most luxurious but I now realize that is standard in Europe too. The hotel and room were decorated nicely and it was generally a comfortable stay. The location was excellent for our needs because of the proximity to Notre Dame and the Metro station is directly across the street. The Metro was a little intimidating but with a little help and a map from the front desk it was the easiest way to get around Paris and see all the sights. The hotel breakfast was light but substantial enough to get the day jumpstarted right. The hotel also sold bottled water that I could take with me on the town. It probably cost a little more than I could have paid elsewhere but the convenience was more important to me. Overall, satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_25_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I spent a night in Paris in May and chose the Hotel le Notre Dame based on its location and ratings. It was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. We had a super cute attic room over looking the Seine and Notre Dame, with quirky and fun furnishings by Christian LaCroix. The view of the sunset over the Seine was spectacular! The location is right in the middle of everything, which is exactly what we were looking for. Since we were only there for one night, we didn't want to have to spend time traveling to what we wanted to see. Instead we stepped outside of our hotel and were in the heart of Paris with all the sites right around us. It was very easy to get to via the metro from Gare du Nord. The staff were all very friendly and spoke English, which is a plus. We had a great stay and will definitely be back on our next trip to Paris!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Seine and as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrigue139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#194 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#188 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#236 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#254 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#726 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Notre Dame

Property: Hotel le Notre Dame
Address: 1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Paris
#172 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#181 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Notre Dame 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Notre Dame Paris
Le Notre Dame Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing