We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #286 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Hotel Design de la Sorbonne around 10pm after a gruelling 25hr journey from Australia. The staff spoke English which was a relief as we hadn't had a chance to brush up on our French.
The room was small but not pokey and it was exceptionally clean and fresh.
The most pleasing aspect of the room was that it was perfectly quiet and we could finally lay down and have a good nights sleep.
The local area seems vibrant and interesting but we didn't have the opportunity to explore much as we were just in transit through Paris.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2014

The hotel is small but very well decorated: everything very modern and each floor has a different theme. The location is fabulous and the staff very attentive to all our needs. We were a group with children and the hotel gave us a family room which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inalda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Good location, very clean and affordable.
Hotel staff we very helpful during 4 night stay in recommending good places to eat, getting around Paris and organising the next parts of our holiday. Rooms are a bit small but that's expected for Paris and there's enough to be comfortable and move about.
Close to metro, latin quarter, food and the Sorbonne university, this place is perfect for a stay in Paris.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddsy_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with a 3rd floor room facing Sorbonne. It was smallish but adequate and we only used it for sleeping as we were exploring all day!
The staff are fantastic! So helpful and friendly. The whole hotel is beautiful! Even the tiny lift! There was barely any street noise at night. Loved hearing the fountains in the mornings whilst getting ready. The Latin quarter is the perfect area to stay. Close to everything, 6 comic book stores, hundreds of places to eat! We spent 2 days just roaming around the streets and still didnt see everything!
We miss it already and already planning to return next year for a week.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alifax2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

So, here’s the thing. We thought that one night in Paris, on our way back from Bordeaux and the southwest of France, was too short a time to get an AirBNB in August so we grabbed one night in this hotel.

While their rack rate is outrageously expensive (by world standards for a quite small room), our rate, booked online, was reasonable. What we got was great, friendly service at the front desk, an adorable room with hilarious modern decor (it was kind of like living in a bar code...), and we loved the Mac in the room with good wireless service. What hotel gives you Macs in your room? My partner liked his breakfast, and said the waiter was adorable, and it was perfectly located for anyone who needs to grab the RER from Luxembourg to go to the Charles-de-Gaulles Airport. It’s a 5-10 minute walk.

It’s also a lovely location, close to the Parc Luxembourg and the Latin Quartier and all the delights near St Germain.

If you have longer, AirBNB rentals (with their drawbacks and advantages) are probably going to give you a LOT more space, but for what we needed and got, this was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Quanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Paris is known for its small rooms but at this hotel it really doesnt matter. The quality and design is beautiful and the room I stayed in was - yes small - but light with full opening windows and a very comfy bed. Compact shower but the layout is fine. Apple macs very welcome. I stayed in room 22 which worked well for one - if you can get room 22 or even better 12 as my daughter and her boyfriend were upgraded (twice as there was a water problem with the first room - solved very quickly and efficiently) and these rooms were definitely not small. Staff are delightful and helpful. Staying in the latin quarter was fantastic for restaurants and bars - all within walking distance as is the river boat cruise (one hour 15 euro - very good indeed) and notre dame and bridges. Luxembourg gardens short walk in other direction and well worth a visit. We actually walked to the louvre and it was not over taxing. Would chose this part of paris to stay in again and indeed this hotel.

Room Tip: 24 lovely for a small room thanks to the wonderful windows and view of the sorbonne. Rooms 22 and 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank g M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July 2014. We had room 3, which was ground floor in the courtyard. We found the room small, as typical for Paris hotels, but attractive. We had enough room to unpack one suitcase in the closet and kept another one out of the way. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom adequate with good amenities and we appreciated the tv/computer with good info on local weather, restaurants, hotel info, etc.

The hotel also has free Wi-Fi which was valuable for looking up sights, restaurants, maps and checking email. They have a computer in the lobby as well but we didn't use it much other than attempting to print out boarding passes and it shut down midway so we just skipped it.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out both easy and seamless. They also offered 1/2 price breakfast our first morning which we used and food was good. But so many choices of cafes in Paris we ate out all other times.

The key for this hotel is location. Its across from Sorbonne on a quiet street but easy walk to many cafes, restaurants, shops, markets. Right around the corner are two café/restaurants and towards Pantheon are really great places for dinner (Les Pipos, Le Vin Qui Danse, Le Cosi). Its also not far from Notre Dame, Pantheon, Isle de Cite, Isle St. Louis, Seine cruises. Its also very close to Luxembourg Gardens which are well worth a visit. One day we ate at the café there, another day we sailed the toy sailboats in the pond and got ice cream. We even walked to Rodin Museum and walked back from Orangerie, although you could catch taxis if you are tired. A Monoprix store is just down the main street to buy any snacks, necessities or pick up picnic items.

One night it rained and there was a guest talking loudly at 1 am which echoed in the courtyard but they must have asked him to close his window because it was quiet after that.

If you don't require a large room and want something clean, stylish in a great location, Hotel Design de la Sorbonne is a great choice. We actually flew in/out of Orly and it was approximately 35 euros each way and maybe 30 minutes drive. Make sure you have the hotel name and address for the taxi drivers.

Room Tip: very quiet area overall, some upper rooms may get more sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#411 of 1,802 in Paris
593 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#380 of 1,802 in Paris
1,151 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#245 of 1,802 in Paris
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#671 of 1,802 in Paris
526 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#136 of 1,802 in Paris
1,679 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#81 of 1,802 in Paris
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
#311 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $114 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing