We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay : attentive, friendly staff with hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Design Sorbonne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #280 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay : attentive, friendly staff with hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne last week, on our honeymoon. We unfortunately were only able to stay two nights, but we were really pleased with the choice that we made. The staff were very friendly, efficient, and nothing was too much trouble. They upgraded us to a superior room, because it was our honeymoon, which was nice and appreciated. The location was excellent for us: far from the madding crowd that is Paris, but easy to get to lovely places to visit, drink and eat. The rooms were clean, had pretty well everything you could want, and the wi-fi and computer access very useful....particularly to find places to eat on trip advisor! No complaints, just thank you, and we would certainly choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get married ! (so you can have a superior room :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonF_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    545
    121
    29
    15
See reviews for
113
727
97
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountsorrel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I took my partner and two friends to Paris to celebrate his 40th birthday. We wanted a hotel in the 5/6th and the Design De la Sorbonne was a great location. We booked on Room only basis as I think it’s far nicer to start the day at a sunny pavement cafe when in Paris. Quirky and glamorous interior, (love the staircase) and for Paris, quite good size rooms with free wi-fi. A great little cafe round the corner for breakfast too. Very helpful reception staff and all in all, a lovely birthday weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondebosch
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This neat hotel is lovely. So modern. Friendly staff with 24 hour reception. We arrived at 11.45pm on the late train. Good wifi. Breakfast on request in a quaint dining room. Creeps were delicious. This location is super. Opposite the University and a block from St Michael.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel more highly. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and our room was lovely. Computer access in the room was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. It is the perfect location for a stay in Paris - walking distance from numerous cafes, bars and restaurants and many of the main sights - however our room was quiet and we didn't hear any street noise. The fact that it is a short walk from the RER is an added bonus (direct train - Line B - from the airport). We will definitely stay there when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent a week-end here with a friend and was happy about this hotel. The location is perfect: literally in front of La Sorbonne, close to metro and RER station (excellent if arriving from the airport), walking distance from Notre Dame, Rue de Rivoli and just in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The reception and the rooms are well designed and each room has a mac computer ith free internet access. Wifi is also free. Unfortunately, the rooms and especially the bathrooms are tiny: definitely a place to avoid if you have kids! The lift was also tiny: ask for a room downstairs if you have any problems with small spaces as one person hardly fits in it! Overall: good hotel for a solo traveller or a couple

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnamonfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely Fabulous! My partner and I stayed in Hotel Design Sorbonne for 3 nights and I heartily recommend it. Everything about this hotel works from it’s location opposite the Sorbonne, to the helpful and courteous staff to the aesthetic of the beautifully styled rooms. Located on Paris’s left bank, the hotel is just around the corner from Jardin de Luxembourg. It’s close to Notre Dame and Pantheon and both the metro and RER are nearby.

While the rooms are small but comfortable, the décor runs along modern clean lines, it’s a boutique hotel, beautifully styled and an apple mac was provided in the room. Tea/coffee making facilities were not provided in our room but we asked for a courtesy tray and one was provided. The useful addition of free wi-fi negated us having to input long codes to search the web and, importantly for those travelling alone or on a first trip to Paris, reception was staffed 24 hours a day.

The biggest selling point of Hotel Design Sorbonne is the staff. They were helpful and friendly, and the absence of homophobia and racism (unfortunately still an issue in the 21st century) greatly enhanced the quality of our stay. The staff treated us with professionalism and courtesy at all times and were able to communicate in flawless English.

In a nutshell, this hotel was small but perfectly formed. We travelled as a couple, but for those travelling alone or unfamiliar with Paris, both the hotel and the surrounding area felt very safe and it provided us with an excellent base for exploring the city.
If I were returning to Paris, Hotel Design Sorbonne would be my first stop and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#130 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#333 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#311 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#186 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#156 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#384 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Design Sorbonne
Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#253 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#314 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing