We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #283 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very centrally located close to the Sorbonne, the hotel is well designed. The rooms, however, are very small, even the superior ones. Bathrooms are miniscule also. Breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    567
    125
    29
    15
See reviews for
120
753
101
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent 2 perfect nights here. The staff are other-worldly and very hospitable. The room was fantastic with a mac computer that double as a television. We faced the university and didnt hear a peep from the street below. Great value, fantastic location and some of the best hotel staff we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with A/C. I believe they cost slighty more. We were there in October and opene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel is located within the Sorbonne. I loved being able to look out of my window and watch the students on the side street below or in the classrooms across the street. It is near numerous sights, shopping and restaurants. The rooms appear newly renovated. the decor is somewhat wild but clean and welcoming. The bathrooms are small but serviceable and pretty. The WiFi was not working (although there was a Mac) so I used the WiFi at the M cDonald's down the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornhusker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is by no means shabby or run-down, but our standard room was so ridiculously small that I left disappointed. Most other hotels have wardrobes larger than the bathroom, and there is no space to walk past one-another in the bedroom itself. I didn't think the towels offered by the hotel were suitable to this price range either, they were small and quite tatty. My idea of comfort does not extend to turning over in the middle of the night and banging my head on the wardrobe. I can't help but think that despite its excellent location and buzzy neighbourhood, this hotel offers poor value given the lack of space. We were glad that the weather was good so we didn't spend much time in the room. I agree with other reviewers that the wi-fi, although free, was patchy - couldn't get the Mac to work (nor the TV channels) or a wi-fi connection for my phone. Staff were ok - we arrived to find that another group were without rooms due to over-booking or systems issue, so that makes me wary of booking within this group again. The reception was pleasant enough but didn't try very hard when we asked them to order a taxi on Saturday night - we were simply told 'busy time' and left to fend for ourselves. Won't go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I just stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon, and loved it!
Our room was great, had a window we kept open most of the time (opens to a fairly quiet side street) and even had a large apple monitor for any online things you may want or need! It apparently doubles as a tv as well.

It's in a fantastic neighborhood - wonderful restaurants just steps away both in the Place Sorbonne and around the other side nearer the Pantheon. Walk to the Luxembourgh Gardens and to loads and loads of shops and whatever else you may want. Plenty of Metro options too.

You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airolo, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I liked this hotel. The staff kindly helpful, tv/mac useful. Rooms clean but of not so comfortable space -- too small bathroom and a ridicolous shower. Superb and elegant location.

Room Tip: Rooms on Rue Cousin are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my partner and we enjoyed it very much. The staff was very helpful. The hotel had complimentary newspapers and umbrellas. Wi fi signal was a bit spotty in our room but the computer had Internet. I loved the iMac with tv and dvd player! We did not hear our neighbors at all. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#346 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#171 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#165 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#324 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#130 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#192 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Property: Hotel Design Sorbonne
Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#252 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#256 Business Hotel in Paris
#313 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing