We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Hotel Original

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Original
Ranked #172 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in January 2013 during the Cirque de Demain Festival. I am very much looking forward to visiting again next weekend. The staff are very friendly and the hotel rooms are quirky and beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hello,
Thank you so much for the comment left on TripAdvor! We are all looking forward to have you back indeed very soon then! Thank you for the mention of our staff and we are glad the Quirky atmosphere within our prelmises does please you :)
"A bientot" and you have a big Hello from the original team
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 900 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

we were there for 3 nights and all was really perfect! The hotel is 1 minute from the métro station, the rooms are beautiful, the people very polite... We can only recommend this hotel!! there are some really great restaurants close to the hotel. we travelledby train and so Gare de Lyon was very close too.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starlette101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hello,
Thank you so much for the great comment about your experience in our world :) It was our pleasure to have known you and to have had you amongst us for your parisian stay! Great that you enjoyed your room and our service :)
We hope you had a great return home We surely hope to have you back again for why not further Original adventures :)
You have a big Hello from all the staff here!
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday getaway to Paris.
- The staff are very helpful, speak good English.
- The location is great. Right next to the metro
- Very clean rooms - I got upgraded and complementary wine for my birthday and a card from the manager
- Le Marais is just a lovely place to stay with the Louvre 10mins away, Eiffel tower 20mins away, Eurostar station 15mins…PERFECT

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahliya21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello,
And thank you so much for the great comment you have written in regards to your stay amongst us! Short and to the point :)
It was our pleasure to have met you and to hear your stay went well for this special occasion....you are welcome on the upgrade and wine :) What can we say :)
Thanks also for the great recommendation to our readers, 100 percent!
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again, and why not in a wholly different atmosphere yet again! All our best wishes to you and take good care.
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is definitely original!! Stayed here in May 2013 for one night with my husband for our anniversary. We got the "gold room". It was very cute, clean, and in a good location with a great view from the balcony. The staff was great and always very nice when we stumbled through the few french words we knew.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello! :)
Thank you so much and great hearing back from you :)
We were glad to have you here for your short parisian stay and we are very happy to hear the room, its decor, cleanliness and our service pleased you indeed!
We hope you had great holidays season and that this New Year did start right! To the pleasure of hearing back from you and to see you too for more exciting Original adventures :)
Sincerely,

Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel lives up to its name. It has the most lovely, original decor. Our quadruple room was designed around Alice in Wonderland - a purple and back room that was very comfortable, quiet and lovely.

The hotel has an honor "bar" in the dining room where you can help yourself to an alcoholic beverage (just fill out a form) and even has room service. The staff is quite pleasant, if demanding about returning the room key. Who cares?

We really enjoyed our stay and will return again. The hotel is 1/2 block from the Metro, and adjacent to our favorite Marais neighborhood.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hello!
Thank you all for this great comment! It was, and is still, our pleasure to have you with us for your parisian stay :) We'll get to thank you up front as well I am sure!
Great that your room decor and comfort pleases you and that we are at one of your favourite spot...not too far to go then :)
So as strange as it could sound being still amongst us, we do hope you will return for further Original adventures....and in the meantime, keep enjoying Paris and don't hesitate for anything, we are here :)!
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Original for six nights over the winter holidays. I rate on three main criteria for a hotel: safety, cleanliness, and proximity. This hotel rated tops in them all. While some might balk at leaving your key at the front desk every time you leave, I had no trouble with it. My room was great for one person. The room was clean and comfortable every time I walked in after I got to hotel from full day sight seeing. The staff was always helpful and friendly. Last, this hotel is just a few steps from the Bastille metro station. This got me everywhere I needed to go. I am a huge fan of public transport and this was a perfect spot to access it.

I also loved the all night crepe kiosks near the Bastille plaza. Nothing like a banana, nutella crepe after a long day out on the town. Will definitely stay here on my next visit. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hello!
Thank you so much for your great comment. We were all happy to have you amongst us at the Hotel for these fews days. Great indeed that we did pass the test! ...and with top marks too :)
Always a pleasure to have such return! Great you could move all around with ease, that does take a bit sometimes :)
We had to smile at your recounting of the Nutella crepes :)
And that said, it will be our pleasure to have you back for further Original adventures and why not a in wholly different atmosphere in one of our other "funky" decors as many do mention....
All the best wishes from all the team!
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am writing this on the last night of our 5 day stay in Paris at the Hotel Original. And all I can say is what a great place to stay. Not being familiar with Paris I was a bit concerned since it's not in the "popular tourist spots" but I was wrong. The hotel is located in the very trendy Bastille area, which has tons of great dining, local joints and steps away from the metro. The staff is friendly, the rooms are all designed with different themes and are quirky and fun, the showers were hot, the wifi is free. The rooms are a bit small, but it's Paris, space is limited. Definitely would recommend and stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank sircaralot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien c, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Original, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hello!
Thank you for having taken the time to wrtite a great comment on TripAdvisor about your experience amongst us...and even before having left! :)
Great that in the end you were gladly surprised by our surroundings and that the Hotel Decor and atmosphere...funky indeed :)...pleased you.
Hope your return home went well and we again wish you all our best wishes for this New Year!
Sincerely,
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Seven Hotel Paris
#330 of 1,809 in Paris
1,246 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#121 of 1,809 in Paris
682 reviews
Idol Hotel
#79 of 1,809 in Paris
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vice Versa
#339 of 1,809 in Paris
732 reviews
Hotel Georgette
#102 of 1,809 in Paris
782 reviews
Gobelins
COQ Hotel Paris
COQ Hotel Paris
#142 of 1,809 in Paris
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Original

Address: 8 Boulevard Beaumarchais, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#102 Business Hotel in Paris
#124 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#160 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $168 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Original 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyon Mulhouse Hotel
Lyon Mulhouse Paris
Hotel Lyon Mulhouse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing