We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Third Arrondissement”
Review of Le Marais

Le Marais
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.60*
and up
Paris Sightseeing, Marais and Secrets Bike Tour
More Info
$107.35*
and up
Le Marais 1.5-Hour Private Tour
More Info
$41.79*
and up
Paris Off the Beaten Path 4-hour Bike Tour
Ranked #15 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a land-filled swamp, this revitalized neighborhood, once a center of high culture, fell into disrepair following the French Revolution, but has regained prominence.
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Third Arrondissement”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Le Marais is truly a multi-cultural, historical neighborhood. There are many clothing boutiques, ethnic markets, ethnic restaurants, along with the always wonderful French cuisine. When other areas of Paris have closed for the evening, there are always cafes open in the Marais. It's my favorite area to stay and eat while in Paris!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,864
    2,999
    435
    67
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Paris”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently spend 16 days in a rental apartment in the Marais. Being in our own space allowed us to feel for just too short a time the sense of living in Paris. Choosing the Marais is to be transported back in history. The winding streets, old mansions, charming gardens, and, recently, very trendy boutiques and cafes. I don't think I will ever again enjoy marketing for food the same way. So many cheese shops, bread makers, pastry stores, etc., etc.

Soon the Picasso Museum will reopen, it looks like its going to be very impressive, although I kind of like the old one. Too - we were walking distance to the Pompidou Center - the Jewish History Museum, etc., etc.

To be in the Marais is to be part of a real Paris. Young, old, vibrant, and always exciting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank beeeeeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trendy area, formerly the Jewish quarter”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Quaint streets, hip stores, and some remnants of its old life as the hub of Jewish Paris. Unfortunately, the Hassidim roaming the streets for converts on a Friday afternoon saw me as American and Jewish (which I am). It's the same as in my old neighborhood in Brooklyn--just leave me alone, guys.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jslaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The only place to be on a Sunday.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Did you know that no stores are open in Paris on a Sunday, this because it is a Catholic country. However in Le Marais everything is open !! This area is where all the Gay's live, it is alive and amusing and the shops and the sights are amazing, loved it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take a wander”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Really great area to wander around. The Bastille market on a Sunday is worth a look - particularly if you are in a self catering apartment as the produce is fabulous.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank singapore597625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marais also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing