We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, dirty and theft... AVOID!!!!”
Review of Woodstock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstock Hostel
Ranked #55 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Firstly let me state this is a backpackers in the middle of Paris so I wasn't expecting much but I was truely shocked at the staff rudeness and downright theft.

We were a large group visiting Paris for the rugby. Alas, the hostel staff entered our locked rooms and went through our bags while we were not in the room. They stole and then destroyed all our bottled alcohol. We were not consuming the alcohol on premise!!!

I have travelled extensively through Europe, New Zealand and Australia using backpackers as my port of call. This was by a colossal mile the dirtiest I have even had the unfortunate pleasure of staying at.

Avoid like the plague or you may just catch it - you have been warned! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richvdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 276 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Everything you could want from a hostel. Free continental breakfast; crossiants, rolls, jam, butter, cereal, juice, milk, coffee.

Really we stayed there just to sleep. We were out in the city the rest of the time. There is a small grocery store down the road so buying food and bringing it back was a cheap option.

Safes in the room are big enough to fit a netbook but any larger computer couldn't fit. Luggage storage room downstairs for bigger bags and also more safes in the lobby.

Room with 6 beds was kinda cramped, but what more do you need? 5 euro deposit for sheets.

Very nice staff that provided us with free maps of Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffaele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in Woodstock Hostel for a full week. Upon arriving I was greeted by the very charming receptionist who let me store my bag and take a shower much earlier than check in, which I appreciated.

I stayed in a four bed dorm. The bunk beds were solid and cosy, always slept pretty well. My dorm had a sink and mirror. The best part was definitely the electronic safes in the room so I didn't even need to worry about using a padlock, there are also electronic safe's downstairs. The staff were very helpful keeping my laptop in the back all the time. It does feel like a very safe hostel, but you can never be too careful. It was almost a running joke how frequently I would collect and then deposit my laptop with reception, but staff were always very sweet and kind, especially the manager who was a very polite and warm woman who was always happy to see everyone, help them out and surprisingly remembered everyone's name :)

There wasn't too much of an atmosphere. I stayed in October which I understand to be low tourist season and it seemed the hostel was pretty quiet, but I still met a lot of great people. There wasn't much of a lounge area either, a couple of PC's in reception and a few tables and chairs. This could either be a blessing for those who like quiet hostel's and a peaceful trip or a curse for those (like me) who love meeting new people. Things picked up after a few days, but being a solo traveler it was a bit dull at first. It wasn't until the weekend when the first floor got a bit noisy, but if you're staying in a youth hostel you realistically have to expect it.

As far as cleanliness went, this hostel was great. There was a cleaner every day, lockouts are common in hostel's I guess, at least they actually cleaned and made use of their lock out period. It is also in a great location, only a two minute walk to Anvers metro and a 10 minute walk from Gare du Nord. A grocery store is only up the street, there's also a few laundromats and ATM's around the corner. Wi-Fi was also very strong, never a problem. The kitchen is alright and provides the usual amenities.

Breakfast was okay, cereal and croissants and bread rolls, only one croissant per person is the standard rule so I would just load up on chocolate corn flakes.

It was a pretty good stay, no real complaints. Staff were helpful and friendly, close to a Metro and located within a 2 minute walk of Sacre Couer, Moulin Rouge and a lot of great pubs (check out the Irish place next to Moulin Rouge if you want some great cheap beers) I'd also highly recommend taking a Culture Fish (pay what you want) walking tour, there are flyers in reception if you're a little in over your head and would like a very informative tour without having to stress about finding everything yourself.

A great stay at Woodstock Hostel. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Hot water does run out, not sure when so get in quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went to this hostel only for two nights for a concert in Paris on December 2012. It is a small hostel, with no outstanding facilities. The main reason why I chosed it it was for the location. I went to a Crystal Castles concert at the Trianon and it is just located three blocks away from it. Also conveniently located close to the Sacre Coeur et Montmartre area, not to mention the Anvers metro station just five minutes away walking. The only issue is that one of my roomates, a Brazilian guy had 300 euros stolen form the security box! :0...anyways good location, regular hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlitosCanedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Woodstock hostel was pleasant and I enjoyed my stay. Me and another friend stayed in a shared dorm (6) for 4 nights Mon - Fri and chose woodstock for its location and reasonable price. 30 euro each a night for a room just below pigalle was a cheaper option and it was very close to montmartre, sacrecoeur and Pigalle and Anvers metro. I actually walked straight down to the louvre from woodstock hostel - a great way to see the city.

The room
We were on the third floor - small spiral staircase was hard to pull my small travel case up but we managed fine! Our room of 6 was made of a sink, a bin, very small safety deposit boxes and a few lights. A lamp above each bed would have been nice I was told by others in the room - though I was lucky and my bed had one above - perfect for nighttime reading. The wifi reached my room from the bottom floor which was also good, slthough it was a little temperamental and hard to connect to. One probems was that there was no air con - little a bit annoying because paris in august is hot and humid but we both adapted quickly and slept well after some vino!

The noise outside the hostel was a little loud but to be expected in busy lived in areas - bin men and drills in the morning - it was not unbearable though and i liked the fact it woke me up so I could get up early get a shower and explore.

The hostel

The staff were all very pleasant, spoke great english and were willing to give advice on where to go, eat, party etc. There was a tiny outdoor seating area where we could sit and drink but you cannot drink inside because they want you to buy from their bar. The outdoor seating also closed at 10pm and the kitchen at 12am to keep noise levels down. Shame to stop drinking outside early but good I had to no access to midnight munchies!

The location
Situated just below Pigalle - this was close to the red light district. I had been warned and reasd that this was sleazy and unsafe for two girls to be in. I think it was good I was aware but I fee this is a little bit of scaremongering. Maybe outside August when parisians are back in the city after their holidays it is worse but I walked home alone twice and had no issues with anything scary or disgusting. The strip in pigalle obviously was not ideal, we drank in an Irish bar Sullivans which was overpriced and crowed. There was a great electro club - Divan Du Monde, opposite la fourmi (great coffee and lush food), which we left because noone else liked the music!! Annoying for me - lover of techno, deep house etc!!

Overall the hostel was great for what we needed , a bed, friendly faces and like minded travellers. I had a ball and although it was by no means perfect, I would stay here again! Only thing i suggest is you bring your own towel and DO NOT lose your receipt for your bedsheets - you wont get the money back otherwise. I made this mistake and lost 12 euros. OOPS

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genofeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

During our recent exploration of Paris, my wife and I booked a private room at this hostel. Although the cost of the room was slightly over our nightly budget, we are glad that we chose the room that we did. It was nice to be in a room with just the two of us.

If you choose to stay there, follow the directions you receive upon booking your stay. Just note that when you go around the park, turn to your right and take the second street to the left. It will all make sense when you are there. Also, you may be interested to know that there is not a whole lot of activity around the hostel’s neighborhood late at night. In fact, the streets seemed eerily empty. During the day, however, there is a nice size grocery store about a block away. In addition, there is an internet and copy service business right next door and the main post office for the area is right across the street from the hostel.

We had a pleasant experience at this hostel. All of the staff were multi-lingual and provided us with lots of guidance as to how to explore Paris. In the mornings, the breakfast wasn’t much, but they always had fresh croissants, coffee and cereal. The kitchen was small, but sufficient enough to meet our needs. We stayed on the first floor, right off of the courtyard, and we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room on the ground floor off of the courtyard. It has a small sink, a sitting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Easy check-in, clean, and offered a kitchen filled with food. Bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was substantial. Just understand that you're going to hostel and you'll be happy with it.

Only bad thing was a guy in our room snored. A lot. But the staff can't control that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#39 of 187 in Paris
532 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#34 of 187 in Paris
238 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Beautiful Belleville Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 Ducks Hostel
#22 of 187 in Paris
346 reviews
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#23 of 187 in Paris
464 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#11 of 187 in Paris
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Address: 48 rue Rodier, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $35 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock is known for its cosiness as well as for its party atmosphere, and is the ideal place to meet other backpackers and to make lifelong friends. Watch out though, once you’re here, you might never want to leave… Woodstock is much more than a hostel, it’s a way of life. Here we know your name and you will know ours.Nowhere else in Paris will you find so much at such an unbeatable price… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodstock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing