We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is 3 steps away from being the best budget hotel in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Petit Trianon
Ranked #1,659 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This hotel is 3 steps away from being the best budget hotel in Paris”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I love hotels like this, they have charm, character and a very down to earth feel. I won't bore you with the same comments as the other reviewers, they are all fairly accurate. Service is good, room is clean location is excellent, noise is minimal.

Howeve there are a few things they could do which would make them the top rated budget hotel in Paris, and most of them are quite small.
- tv lacking in the room, and for this price you would still expect this (cheap LCD tv is fine)
- door handles not working inside our room to our toilet (cheap fix from handyman). They were falling opout of the door and not locking properly.
- store room in hall ways door was off the hinges and to one side for the two days we were there, didn't look good and we had to climb past it.

So these things moved the experience from amazing to average for us - hope to stay again and see these things fixed and from this we can rate this the top budget hotel.

Room Tip: Lower is louder but less stairs, higher is quieter but more stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    46
    43
    75
See reviews for
37
74
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Firstly if you are on a budget and don't mind roughing it, then this is the hotel for you. It is an old Parisian hotel with a steep winding staircase to the rooms so of no use to people with walking problems. The rooms are basic, some including ours in dire need of updating and decoration. But you cannot fault the location it is fantastic!!! Norte Dame is a ten minute stroll via the street directly opposite the hotel and a good 45 minute stroll will take you to the Lourve, Le Champs Élysées , Les Invalides, Concorde with the Eiffel Tower just a bit further. The area is excellent for cafe bars, restaurants and two cinemas! The staff are polite and courteous. But be warned there is no tv, tea or coffee facilities and you will have to ask for fresh towels. Overall value for money location wise but in need of some TLC.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was bearable for our six nights here, the shower head did not attach to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

At the request of this hotel, I sent through my credit card details so that they were on record in case I no-showed or cancelled at late notice.

It was a card I very rarely used (never for online purchases and it was the first time I had sent the details to anyone). Within 12hrs of sending this email to the hotel, fraudulent purchases were made on my card.

I have emailed the hotel twice since asking for an explanation and have received no reply. I am positive it is the correct email for the hotel as they confirmed my reservation which I made through budgetplaces.com.

I am posting this on TripAdvisor as a warning to anybody who is considering booking a room at this hotel. BE CAREFUL - if they request your card details to have on record, consider putting one number wrong.

While I don't think the owners of this hotel are to blame (there are no other reviews of this sort to be found), they may have a staff member who is doing the complete wrong thing by them and potential customers!

Since I have not received a reply from this hotel, I will not be staying there (regardless of how great the location is)!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shazinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I have been to this hotel 3 times now and love it. It isn't the flashest of hotels, but it is clean and comfortable, with a bohemian vibe. We have always been put in the very top room which has wonderful sloping ceilings and a great view of St Michel. The area is wonderful - close to the Louvre, Jardin De Luxembourg, Notre Dame and the Seine, not to mention all the exquisite restaurants and bars that the Latin Quarter has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I are students and went to Paris for a weekend this December. We chose this hotel as it seemed reasonably priced and looked to be in a decent location. When we arrived, we were shocked by what a pleasant hotel we were staying in. The staff were more than welcoming and friendly. In fact, they were happy to lend us maps, corkscrews and advice on good restaurants when we asked. Our bedroom window opened onto the front of the building giving us the best view in Paris of the delightful jazz band playing on the corner - very romantic! Before we went, we read many reviews that claimed the area was noisy, but when we arrived it became apparent that whoever was writing these reviews must either be genuine bores or have no intention of soaking up some atmosphere - don't listen to them, they must be dull! The room was excellent. Clean, well equipped, warm and private with the en suite (brilliant) we asked for when we booked and a very comfortable bed. As for the location, we were awash with pleasant bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity, and there is no need whatsoever to get public transport when you're based at this hotel - walk and you'll see everything you came to Paris to see! Overall a truly brilliant hotel, fantastic location, very friendly staff, affordable - what more could you want. Perfect for couples or friends, possibly families too (i wouldn't know); I cant recommend it enough!

Room Tip: We had room 6 - fresh en suite, double bed, wardrobe large mirror, table and chairs, AMAZING view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeBringLeJambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The location of the hotel is awesome, in the core of the Latin quarter, and for the location the price is ok. Staff is friendly.
However, the hotel is rather dirty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenzitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel “le petit Trainon” has been described by others as a gem, however if this hotel is a gem, then I am Walt Disney. The hotel itself is a series of rooms based around a never ending spiral staircase and the room at the end of the long arduous climb is not worth the effort. It would have been more comfortable to have slept on the road outside. The room was ordered as a room with 1 double bed, 2 single beds, wifi, a television and wardrobe space. Only one of these things was fulfilled. The room had two double beds, no wifi, no television, no wardrobe space, no floor space, a bathroom door that wouldn’t close and a strange iron coloured stain on the wall that was hopefully only coffee. There wasn’t enough room to swing a hamster, without giving it severe concussion. Eventually after a long discussion the beds where changed, to one double, one single, and one mattress on the floor. The beds filled the room so it was like one large quadruple bed and a small 30cm corridor of floor to walk on at the end of the beds. The window would not open much, due to the location of the beds. When they were opened a tiny amount the room filled with cigarette smoke, due to the location of the hotel. The bathroom, while being the highlight of the whole experience with its luxurious square metre + of space, was still not up to the standard of a hotel deemed fit for human habitation. There was no lock on the door, which was not a problem as the door wouldn’t shut anyway. There was no plug in the sink either. There were two wall sockets in the room. Only one of them was in working order. I know you may be tempted to book this hotel, due to the relatively cheap price compared to other hotels, however I would strongly recommend you to not do this, unless you are on your own or with only 1 other, in these circumstances the room should be ok, if you could get one with a working bathroom door and no mysterious stains. The rooms are simply too small to offer anything more than this and you will thoroughly regret it if you choose to force 3 or more unfortunate human beings to share a room.
On the good side, the location was quite good and located near to many good restaurants and only a short walk to the Notre Dame. The staff were also friendly and relatively helpful in the end.
Overall, its ok, but it shouldn't be advertised as a room for 4 people in this case, with a tv, internet access etc. It just was not fit for purpose.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Des Canettes
Hotel Des Canettes
#1,590 of 1,801 in Paris
81 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#665 of 1,801 in Paris
367 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Nesle
Hotel de Nesle
#1,121 of 1,801 in Paris
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
Hotel St. Andre des Arts
#1,311 of 1,801 in Paris
346 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Victoire & Germain
Hotel Victoire & Germain
#350 of 1,801 in Paris
68 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#288 of 1,801 in Paris
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Petit Trianon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Petit Trianon

Property: Hotel Le Petit Trianon
Address: 2 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,659 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Petit Trianon 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Petit Trianon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Trianon Paris
Le Petit Trianon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing