We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Amazing Views of the Eiffel Tower” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Walt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Walt
Ranked #70 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Amazing Views of the Eiffel Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed in the Le Walt in August 2010 in room 601 with an amazing view of the Eiffel Tower. People that complain about tiny rooms in Paris either never have visited Paris before or have stayed at the American hotels because unless you stay at the Crillon, Ritz, George V or Grand Hotels in Paris, hotel rooms are always small in Paris. I have visited Paris more than thirty times (I lived in Paris in 1991) and have stayed at a different hotel each time. Last time I went to Paris I stayed on the Isle St. Louis at the Lutece which is a nice hotel with tiny rooms but is twice as expensive as the Le Walt. In July 2010, my sister stayed at the Hotel Le Serre, a 2 star dump, which charges 100 euros a night; whereas, I reserved the 4-star excellent Le Walt at $130 U.S. through Expedia. I almost stayed at the Le Serre but after hearing her complaints I booked the Le Walt. I am so glad because I had a good sized elegant room (see photos). The hotel has a beautiful decor, incredible breakfast 19 euros, great location next to the Ecole Militare Metro and next to the Eiffel Tower, great neighborhood, and great friendly staff. I HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL - I'D GO BACK IN A HEART BEAT. Eat at the Le Terrazze Bistro across the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    197
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
83
405
44
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The room, the bathroom everything was very small. The staff were nice and helpful

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana8207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel Le Walt in paris was just awful. The rooms are tiny,( I have had cruise ship cabins bigger than this) lousy area for paris and the concierge was condescending. We had also booked smoking rooms and were told that the hotel was a non smoking hotel and they wouldn't budge. They did not try to accommodate us in the least. We had booked through hotels.com and I thouroghly researched this hotel about their smoking policy and nowhere did it mention that it was non smoking. The concierge was very argumentitive and started making things up. Just an awful experience and I am glad it was only for 1 night, otherwise I would have changed hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakalina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

What a wonderful boutique hotel. Easy walking distance to the Eiffel tower, Invallides area and the hop on hop off bus stops.
We had paid for the deluxe room but that unfortunately didn't secure us a view of the tower but instead into the rear courtyard.
Breakfasts in the hotel were wonderful in the charming breakfast room, not a large area but suitable for the occupancy of the hotel.
Very comfortable bed and surprisingly large room.
The hotel has many restaurants around it. Also bakeries and opposite is a supermarket, which is handy for grabbing wine or cheese.
If I am lucky enough to ever return to Paris, I would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

the hotel is conveniently located steps away from a subway station and a walking distance from the Eiffel Tour and also surrounded by good "cafés". There is a very expensive public parking area 200 meters away, on the other hand they provide free internet access.
The staff kinkly helped us whenever we needed information or reservations.
The minus goes to the small and noisy room.
Try to stay in a room with a view to the Tour. It will take your breath away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have been to Paris many times but the location of the Le Walt is the best we have found--truly ideal. The 7th is basically a high end residential arrondisement but this particular corner of the 7th. combines a residential feel--grocery stores, wine shops, patisseries (one of which is the fabled Le Notre)--with a lively cafe scene, proximity to major attractions and, very nearby, the food lovers' Rue Cler. Add to this the beautiful trees and buildings of Avenue de la Motte Picquet and adjacent boulevards, the parks of the Champ de Mars (Eiffel Tower) and Invalides short blocks away, the shopping on La Tour Marburg, the short walk to Rodin Museum and Musee D'Orsay, an abundance of great bistros nearby and a Metro stop at your doorstep and you know that there is no better place to stay.
The Le Walt itself is stylish with exceedingly accommodating and helpful staff, a charming and inviting patio and free internet in the lobby. It is a very small hotel--22 rooms. The rooms themselves are small but not tiny. Storage is barely adequate; bathrooms nice and with all amenities--ours was very attractive and had w.c. in separate room. Anything needed was produced with alacrity but several quickly responded to calls failed to result in our air conditioning being more than minimally adequate (though our friends did not have a similar problem). Bed was exceptionally comfortable and as our room faced courtyard it was quiet. My major complaint was that the lighting in the room is far less than adequate--reading was really only possible in the bathroom.
The hotel is, again, stylish and charming with an extremely accommodating, pleasant and helpful staff. It has its drawbacks but the fantastic location overrides all. Unless someone builds a better hotel on the same block the Le Walt will be our Paris headquarters when we return. Paris is the most beautiful and exciting of cities with spectacular art, incredible beauty, great shopping and fantastic food. The right location makes all of these accessible to the short term visitor and Le Walt's location does just that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Our family stayed three nights at the Le Walt from June 11th-14th. We loved the place. It is a nice botique hotel with 20 some rooms in the perfect location. There are cafe's a plenty just outside the door plus a grocery accross the street to get some wine, cheese snacks etc.... Rooms are very clean and modern. Free internet, comfortable beds, romms with french doors that open up to the street. We had two rooms one for us and one for the kids but the prices per room were great by Paris standards. There is also a metro station right outside the door and you can walk to the Eiffel from here as well, about 10 minutes but a very very nice wolk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMOM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#107 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#75 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#58 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#89 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#29 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Walt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Walt

Property: Hotel Le Walt
Address: 37 avenue de la Motte Picquet | 7 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#52 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#131 Business Hotel in Paris
#259 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Walt 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Walt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Walt Hotel
Le Walt Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing