We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Paris”
Review of Hotel Le Walt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Le Walt
Ranked #58 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfection in Paris”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

There isn't a bad word i can say about this hotel. We arrived early for check in but were able to leave our luggage there while we saw the sites (which are right on the doorstep might i add). The staff were so helpful and would go miles out of their way to make sure you were happy. They gave us some good recommendations and always asked if we needed anything.

The room was stunning. We stayed in room 302 with a view of the tip of the Eiffel Tower which is incredible to fall asleep and wake up to on THE most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

A painting on the wall behind the bed adds class to the room and the amenities were the best ive had in all the hotels ive stayed in. We had some lovely french chocolate and champagne on ice waiting for us when we got in. I cant fault breakfast either - it was delicious and enough choice to last if you were staying for a week. We had forgotten our toothpaste and when i asked one of the staff where i could get some - he supplied us both with a travellers toothpaste set. Nothing is too small of a task for the staff here.

Metro station to the majority of main tourist attractions was right outside, a good selection of restaurants and shops nearby and of course the Eiffel Tower no more than a 5 minute walk away.

Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay even more perfect than it already was.

Sherry & Ben :)

Room Tip: 3rd floor has views of the tower :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheradanHannahFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sherry & ben,

How wonderful to read on TripAdvisor that you have enjoyed your time in Paris and at the Hotel Le Walt ! You have indeed left an amazing description of our hotel !

Your comments about the room, the service of our team are marvellous and we thank you very much for your wonderful support.

It is a great source of motivation to them! Indeed, our team strives indeed to make every single guest feel like royalty as they deserve and they will be thrilled to hear that they achieved their goal.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to your new home-away-home in Paris.

Very Best Regards,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    198
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
87
414
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been. Small rooms, noisy rooms, poor bad room, very bad quality of breakfast and under performing staff members. Even after booked a late check-out including a booking in their systems, they take your stuff out without even trying to contact you. And while trying to discuss this with the staff members involved they have no clue at all what they did wrong... An over rated hotel - no 4 star quality or service - only 4 star prices !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BSSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

By leaving a comment on Tripadvisor, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations.

Nevertheless, I allow myself to confirm you that the late check-out was never confirmed to you. You have just requested it without confirming it.

Moreover, you gave us bad marks about the rooms but you wanted to do a late check-out...
This is strange because usually, when a guest is not satisfied about a room, he did not want to stay longer...

So I do not think that your comment is fair.

By the way, you are talking about the breakfast which was for you "poor quality" but I can see that you did not take it.

I am really sorry to understand that you have to find not real arguments to share your bad feelings about our hotel.

I was also informed by another guest that you were rude and aggressive in our lobby.

I am sincerely sorry for you if you had to express your frustration like this.

Regards,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

First of all, I have to admit that I'm more the big-and-international-hotel-kind-of-person. Le Walt was chosen because it was close to the place I needed to visit for my business. So I went there with some limited expectations as the typical Paris hotel rooms are quite small and the breakfasts rather monotonous. Le Walt proved to be an exception to the rule. Quite large rooms that were really spotless. Although located next to the elevator, there was no noise at all.
The breakfast room is very limited with only about 10 - 15 tables. But apparently this was not a problem as there was enough room the 2 days I was there.
A good day starts with a good breakfast. The choice on the "buffet" was rather limited but very well watched and refilled whenever needed.
The one negative point : as I had to work in my room one afternoon, there was a lot of noise from the cleaning staff that seemed to be busy in the corridor during the whole afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Marc V,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Le Walt ! Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feelings with us on TripAdvisor.

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were overall satisfied with our services.

I am however concerned about your very constructive remarks in regards of the housekeeping organisation and I will immediately share them with the Housekeeping Manager in order to prevent this to reoccur in the future.

Please do not hesitate next time to inform the reception if you need to work in your room.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have just arrived home after a fantastic stay at the Le Walt for Valentines weekend.
Everything you have read about the wonderful staff is true. They are kind, speak English perfectly and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are great, not huge but comfortable and very nicely decorated.
When we travel we tend to look after ourselves and this hotel covered all our needs.
We would definitely recommend to others

Room Tip: Room 602 Top floor facing the Eiffel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear LeesaJC,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor !

It was a real pleasure for us welcoming you and we are very happy to see that you liked the hotel and our services.

Your enthusiasm for our staff is a wonderful source of motivation for the entire team.

The entire team is looking forward to seeing you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days having done our homework on Tripadvisor. The location was brilliant being just 10 minutes from the Eiffel Tower by foot and literally 30 seconds from Ecole Militaire Metro station. The hotels was a small boutique hotel which was very well maintained. We were given a first floor street facing room (102) and whilst there was some road noise it wasn't as bad as some reviewers have suggested. The room was modest in size but functional and very clean. The bathroom was big with a full size bath and excellent shower. We have a slight view of the top of the Eiffel Tower, I would suggest requesting a higher floor on the street side to get a better view. We had very little contact with the staff, but they were very helpful with the loan of a plug adaptor. Checking in and out was very professional and quick.

The hotel was close to a number of restaurants and bistros and close to Rue Cler which is a very well known traditional market street with lots of shops and cafes. Be aware of hefty alcohol prices (c.£10 a pint gulp!!). The is a supermarket opposite the hotel when you can buy snacks and drink for the room at excellent prices. There is also a cash machine next door to the supermarket.

We booked a meal on Valentines night at "Le Florimond" (see our review). This is 100 meters down the road and was just amazing. We didn't eat in the hotel but there was a patisserie just 50 meters down the road with some amazing breakfast snacks (yum yum). We generally had evening meals around the Saint Michel district, near Notre Dame as we found this to have great choice at very reasonable prices.

To sum up, great location, friendly boutique hotel, ideal for exploring the city by Metro. We purchased a 5 day metro pass that got us to and from both airport and Euro Disney and unlimited metro usage for c.£50 per person. It's is a "Paris Visite" pass.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike66Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mike66Harvey,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your beloved one on this special occasion which is Valentine’s Day to the Hotel Walt Paris ! Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feelings with us on TripAdvisor.

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were overall satisfied with our services. Your comment about the professionalism of our team is very much appreciated and is always a wonderful source of motivation, thank you very much.

We are very much looking forward to see you back soon

Yours sincerely,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our second stay at Le Walt, having last visited a couple of years ago (we have also stayed at a couple of other hotels in Paris, but none that we'd recommend over Le Walt). The staff went to great lengths to recreate our last stay by giving us the same room for a special occasion - showing real attention to keeping guests happy. The rooms on the 6th floor have spectacular views of the Eiffel tower - not often you can see such a famous landmark from the comfort of your own bed! The staff are friendly, polite and interested at all times (which I don't believe always comes naturally for Parisians so do appreciate this).

The rooms are decently sized (for Paris, where space is at a premium) and included the major amenties with good wireless internet access, Sky TV (only one channel in English, but then you don't visit Paris to watch TV!), magazines, and a pretty decent en suite (shower was a bit weak but then water pressure is always going to be tricky 6 storeys up). Paris was bitterly cold during our visit but the heating and insulation were up to the job!

Room service is provided by a neighbouring restaurant and the menu is pretty extensive. Our one disappointment with this was a mix-up resulting in a 2 hour delay for dinner (unclear whether the hotel receptionist or the restaurant forgot our order) - but the reception staff dealt with this once we highlighted the problem (no bitter complaining needed) - very apologetic, helped us order room service from an alternative restaurant, and offered us free wine to apologise. Breakfast was pretty bargainous at 16 Euros pp - choice of hot breakfast, pastries, cereals, meat/cheese platter etc and plenty of fresh coffee.


Location is super - right outside L'Ecole Militaire metro station, less than a minute to Ecole Militaire, Champs de Mars and of course the Eiffel Tower, and easily walkable to Invalides, Pont de Alexander III, Champs Elysees etc. Lots of lovely little bistros and bars nearby. The street is busy but soundproofing good so we weren't disturbed and had a good night's sleep. The area feels safe at night. We would recommend nearby restaurants Suffren for a relatively modest price (recommended to us by Parisians) and Cafe de l'Esplanade immediately across from Invalides for a more expensive (but delicious) meal with excellent service (consistently good across several visits), both 5 minutes walk from Le Walt.

All in all, Le Walt is excellent for a mid-priced hotel, and we would heartily recommend it - will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the 6th floor have spectacular views of the Eiffel Tower, if a little less water pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kerri B,

We thank you very much for your patronage and for staying back at the Hotel Walt Paris. How wonderful to read that you enjoyed once again your time with us!

Your comments in regards our services and staff are very much appreciated!
We were indeed happy to recreate your last stay “atmosphere”.

We are very much looking forward to see you back soon for your third stay in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved our stay in this lovely, clean and fresh hotel. Brilliant location, great view from room and all in all an absolutely charming stay.
Staff are so friendly, polite and willing to help at all times.
We'd recommend it, you'll be very happy and there's restaurants, city shops and local market too. It's just fab.

Room Tip: Ask for an Eiffel Tower View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vainney L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Walt, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Bobymax,

We are impressed and so happy with an amazing comment like yours! Thank you very much for your kindness in sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable at the Hotel Walt Paris!

Thank you very much for your great appreciation of our staff! I will certainly not fail to share these comments with them; this will without doubt be an incredible source of motivation to them.

Looking forward to your future visit,

Very sincerely,

Laza ROBINSON,
Operating Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#100 of 1,802 in Paris
549 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
568 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#65 of 1,802 in Paris
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#75 of 1,802 in Paris
682 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#60 of 1,802 in Paris
339 reviews
Hotel Le Marquis
#91 of 1,802 in Paris
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Walt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Walt

Property: Hotel Le Walt
Address: 37 avenue de la Motte Picquet | 7 Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#49 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#131 Business Hotel in Paris
#258 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Walt 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Walt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Walt Hotel
Le Walt Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing