We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel, close to all you need”
Review of Hotel Malar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malar
Ranked #897 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife. Arrived early ( noon) and staff were great and let us check in. Nice room, 328, with ensuite and facing the road at the front which was never overly noisy. Room was clean, had tv on wall and linen changed every day. Small fridge in cupboard to store all your water etc, or purchase stocked items. Close to shops, lovely bakeries, a starbucks, pizza hut and loads of local restaurants, cafes and bars. A short walk to Eiffel tower and metro station. Being avid walkers, we were centrally located and able to take in most of the landmarks in one day! All staff were very good with english and helpful with anything we asked them. We would return to this hotel when we go back to visit Paris!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dekesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

After weighing out the reviews, I stayed two nights at Hotel Malar. The reviews, both good and bad, were accurate. The stairs are very narrow, the bathrooms are extremely small, but not a problem for me. My husband is 6'3, slender, and could hardly fit in the shower, but he managed. The room had a peculiar smell, but not overpowering. The noise level was quieter than I expected (after reading reviews). More importantly for me, everything was clean and tidy. The location was within walking distance to most attractions. The staff was personable and helpful when called upon. English speaking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I showed up to check in for my reservation and the hotel manager told me that Expedia had not bothered to confirm my reservation and that they did not have a room available for me. The hotel is now fighting with Expedia and saying that it is entirely my fault and that I didn't like the room... I didn't even see the room!!!!

They sent me down the street to Hotel La Serre and it was the best experience ever!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sona_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

good value for money/located centrally very easy to access and reach the major sights/good hotels/cafes nearby to visit.helpful staff.Considering that you would not be spending much time in your room or the hotel ,you really do not need any more space only a clean bed and washroom.Yes and thats what we got.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donchaiunglikum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Hotel Malar, is not bad just because, the walls are thin, the staircase is dangerous, the bathroom is extremely small. When I checked out, they told me that the price was higher than accorded due to "taxes". I thought "ok, it's not that much". When he gave me the bill, they had charged me a bunch of drinks I had never consumed. It was annoying, and the person in charge was rude to me. He didn't have change; I had to pay with credit card. He wasn't even able to get me a cab to go to the airport. THIS HOTEL SUCKS; DON't GO, it's not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valerykorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Clean and comfortable, but remember that hotel rooms in Paris are SMALL, and if your'e in an old building there is unlikely to be a lift. Not a problem for us, and we slept very soundly, had a lovely breakfast and went on our way refreshed. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Someone said in a review about eating breakfast in the reception - not strictly true. It is open to the reception, but there are also French windows which open to a small courtyard. Good location for the Eiffel tower (about 5 minutes walk), but not so good for the centre, although you can always take the Batobus down the Seine from the tower.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-MoScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

This was our first hotel on our weeklong trip to France in April 2009. We stayed here 3 nights. We had a double room (actually two twin beds pushed together) with shower and toilet. The room, though clean, was only large enough to fit the bed, desk, and wardrobe, with not much room to walk around. The TV has 2 English channels: BBC and CNN International. The bathroom was clean, but it had a very small shower and there was the persistent smell of urine after the first flush after a room cleaning. Our room was on the 5th floor, and the spiral staircase, which was very narrow, was difficult to navigate with our suitcase. The front desk staff was a little indifferent and appeared to be more interested in whatever they were doing. I would add that I asked one receptionist for the day's weather, to which he confidently responded that it would be wonderful weather, much better than the previous day's all-day rain. Based on this, we didn't bring our umbrella or raincoat. As it turned out, it rained that day too and didn't stop.

I'd just say at this point that based on the reviews I've read of other comparable hotels in Paris, everything mentioned above appears to be quite common, so I wouldn't say that this hotel is any worse or any better than the others.

On the positive side, the hotel is located in a very nice neighborhood. The Eiffel Tower, which you can see from the street, is about a 10 minute walk away. The nearest stop is La Tour Mauborg is less than 5 minutes away. The convenient bus #69 to major sites (Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, etc.) runs just around the corner from the hotel. The best thing about the area though is that it isn't touristy at all. It was quiet and felt truly like a neighborhood (the complete opposite of, say, Montmartre around the Sacre Coeur). I'd recommend Hotel Malar just for the neighborhood it's in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yapper210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Amelie
Hotel Amelie
#736 of 1,803 in Paris
270 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#797 of 1,803 in Paris
366 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Pavillon
Hotel Le Pavillon
#511 of 1,803 in Paris
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Alma
Hotel de l'Alma
#1,264 of 1,803 in Paris
391 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,283 of 1,803 in Paris
520 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
#1,297 of 1,803 in Paris
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malar

Address: 29 Rue Malar | 29 Rue Malar, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #897 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $113 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Malar 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malar, historic Parisian charm with modern flairImagine a hotel overflowing with colors, at once bright, changing, elegant. Imagine a scenery creating joy and vitality, giving spaces a special energy. Think how nice it would be to bathe in the City of Light, staying in the heart of the prestigious 7th arrondissement, in the golden triangle between the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, the Musée d'Orsay, Champs-Elysees, Grand Palais.The Hotel Malar welcomes you in its 22 affordable and quiet rooms overlooking a bright and flowered courtyard. Free WiFi in all rooms, Internet terminal in the lobby, lounge with café bar.Our friendly team look forward making your stay comfortable and a most pleasant and inspired experience. The reception is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Malar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malar Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing