We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just a room in a good location”
Review of Hotel Malar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malar
Ranked #937 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    85
    49
    32
    24
See reviews for
34
99
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is really nice. That's the best thing I can say about it. It was not a comfortable or pleasant stay. It's a great location and luckily we spent almost no time in our room, otherwise it would have been a very unpleasant stay. The staff was not friendly either, but that's Paris I suppose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The rooms are tiny and the walls are paper thin. The shower is so small you have to shut off the water to get lathered up. The sheets are like sandpaper and are placed on top of a plastic mattress that shake like jello with the slightest movement.
The first day I could here the women across the hall talking like they were in my room. Then last night after I'd finally gotten to sleep they came in at 3:15 and started slamming doors and shouting about plugging in iPhones.
Don't stay here if you have any other choice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmorin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Malar a few years ago and choose the hotel for its location & for the cost ($100.42 AUD per night).
The location was great. The hotel was situated in a nice street, very close to the Eiffel Tower which was within walking distance. There were many restaurants located close by. A supermarket and starbucks around the corner.
Breakfast at the hotel was 11euros which I found pricey so didn't bother with. The hotel is small. Room was small but not too small as Ive stayed in smaller hotel rooms. The bathroom was very small. I paid for a single and got a double bed which was two beds pushed together which I was happy with. Room was clean. Also no elevator so be prepared to drag your suitcase up stairs. I found that the photos on web sites made it seem alot nicer than it was if that makes sense.
It is a budget hotel and would I stay there again? Absolutely. I would definately stay again for the location unless something else was available in the same area for the same price.

Room Tip: Just a reminder that there are no elevators so getting a room on the ground floor or 1st might be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Malar from the 1st-5th of December 2011 - The Hotel Malar is ideally situated near the Eiffel Tower. Just 10 Minutes walk away in fact. This then opens up the whole of Paris for exploration. The Hotel is small and located on the Rue Malar a small quiet street with a couple of hotels on it. The staff were welcoming and very pleasent during our stay. Indeed when they realised I walk with sticks they offered to move us rooms, but not until 2 days later. We chose to stay put in the room we had, which although small it was adequate for our stay. The bathroom had a very good shower in it and was large enough to be easy for me to manouvere. The walls are paper thin and we could hear every sound our neighbours made! However, we were out from 10:00am till 10:00pm so it was just a place to sleep. Breakfast was extra and at 11 Euros each we felt was a bit overpriced, so we had breakfast out, which was very pleasent indeed. We did feel that for what we got the room was overpriced at 475 Euros for 5 nights room only, inc tourist tax. No english speaking channels on the TV., but we didnt expect any. Overall the experience was very good and we would stay there again.
One bonus-the rooms all have central heating. That was a great plus for me. Would I recommend it?....Yes indeed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABW814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I took my wife on her first trip to Paris and made a reservation at Hotel Malar THREE MONTHS IN ADVANCE. Upon arriving in Paris, we took a shuttle to the hotel only to discover that they were "overbooked"! - No reservation! Why did I even bother making one? Hotel management sent us over to Hotel Le Serre, which is home to the evil dragon manager lady (see reviews!)
Sorry I can't review Hotel Malar - never got to stay there!

Room Tip: Don't bother making reservation - it means nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Amelie
Hotel Amelie
#785 of 1,800 in Paris
263 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,270 of 1,800 in Paris
506 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Alma
Hotel de l'Alma
#1,209 of 1,800 in Paris
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Tulipe Tour Eiffel
#1,294 of 1,800 in Paris
183 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
Hotel de la Paix Tour Eiffel
#811 of 1,800 in Paris
217 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Kensington
Hotel Kensington
#1,511 of 1,800 in Paris
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malar

Property: Hotel Malar
Address: 29 Rue Malar | 29 Rue Malar, 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #937 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Malar 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malar, historic Parisian charm with modern flairImagine a hotel overflowing with colors, at once bright, changing, elegant. Imagine a scenery creating joy and vitality, giving spaces a special energy. Think how nice it would be to bathe in the City of Light, staying in the heart of the prestigious 7th arrondissement, in the golden triangle between the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, the Musée d'Orsay, Champs-Elysees, Grand Palais.The Hotel Malar welcomes you in its 22 affordable and quiet rooms overlooking a bright and flowered courtyard. Free WiFi in all rooms, Internet terminal in the lobby, lounge with café bar.Our friendly team look forward making your stay comfortable and a most pleasant and inspired experience. The reception is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Malar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malar Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing