We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice family-run hotel”
Review of Hotel Andre Gill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Andre Gill
Ranked #1,184 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, nice family-run hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed with 4 adults and 2 children. The rooms and bedding were basic but clean, location was good.

Very noisy at night due to the nightclubs, but it is in central Montmarte. Very basic breakfast and we chose to eat elsewhere.

Kids loved the 2 resident dogs and cats.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    94
    34
    7
    22
See reviews for
24
87
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Andre Gill for two nights. I arrived at the hotel very early in the morning, and they allowed me to stay in the lobby and wait until my boyfriend had arrived. The staff was personable and sweet. They were very concerned about whether we were enjoying our stay, and were happy to give us some tips about what to see and where to eat. I would come back and stay at this hotel again. It is not very fancy, but it is clean and in a very central area. The staff made all of the difference in this small hotel, their friendly attitude and charm made for a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Delicately charming and gently characterful l'hotel.....at the right price. From the smiling night porter at the elegant front desk, to the centrality of its arts district location......if you get Parisienne style - this will bring a smile.....immediately. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PekingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, south carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed two nights in autumn of 2003. Perfect location and just the right amount of eccentricity.
I was traveling alone, so not seeking luxury. There is no luxury but plenty of charm. Just around the corner from the Place de Abbesses which is THE people-watching place in the Monmartre area.

I loved my stay at the Andre Gill, so much I have good memories over ten years later. Paris at it's Bohemian best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here with family - 4 adults. Hotel is adequate for people who are looking for somewhere clean to base themselves. Beds are small but clean. There is a lift that holds 2 people. Breakfast was ok but don't expect a plate. If you don't like cats stay away from reception. The hotel staff kept our bags on the last day which was a great help. Hotel was easily found, about a 5 minute walk from Pigalle Metro stop. Also very handy to bars, restaurants & a supermarket. If you haven't negotiated Paris before get a good city map & a metro map (or apps) before you go - these will be invaluable. My app was particularly good as it pointed the way, with distances, to attractions & metro stops, along with other info. Also be aware of the various types of street crime, which is rife in the city - there is plenty of info online. Stay vigilant & don't get caught out.

Room Tip: If you're not comfortable in a tiny lift ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DANA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during my trip to Paris with my Mum. We were looking for a budget hotel in the Montmartre area as while we were here we were going to a concert at the Le Divan Du Monde and Moulin Rouge. We could not have stayed anywhere nicer. This is a small family run hotel. The people are lovely and easy to approach. 'Welcome Kim' was also said as we were checking in. Breakfast is included in the price, with a croissant, baguette, butter, jam, orange juice and tea or coffee. Basic, but that's all you need! We were only here to sleep after a busy day sightseeing, but the area was great for us. Just 2 minutes from the metro line Pigalle and safe to walk around at night despite it being in the red light district. The family also have a couple of cats and dogs, but these stay downstairs at reception and are very friendly. There is a very small lift - enough for 2 and one suitcase - again, we only needed this when we arrived with our luggage. Overall it was ideal for what we needed - don't come here if you expect things like room service, a hotel restaurant etc. This is for the traveller who needs somewhere to sleep at night (a lovely place to sleep, might I add) but wants to go out and experience what Paris has to offer. Would definitely stay here again if ever coming back to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shadowed-raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very nice little hotel run by a family. Great location in the heart of Montmatre, at a quiet back street.
Lots of nice bars, restaurants and small shops in the area, and Sacré-Cœur is about ten minutes from the hotel. Place Pigalle is five minutes walk, and also the most convenient Metro station for getting to Andre Gill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,146 of 1,802 in Paris
971 reviews
Hotel du Square d'Anvers
#1,451 of 1,802 in Paris
279 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,240 of 1,802 in Paris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gerando
#1,450 of 1,802 in Paris
259 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,041 of 1,802 in Paris
281 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
#966 of 1,802 in Paris
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andre Gill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andre Gill

Property: Hotel Andre Gill
Address: Paris 18eme 4 rue Andre Gill, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,184 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Andre Gill 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andre Gill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andre Gill Hotel
Andre Gill Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing