We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Andre Gill
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$370
$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$243
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$195
$173
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Augustin - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
$174
$151
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Fred Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$237
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Fabric(Paris)
$216
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$172
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$564
$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
41
99
37
7
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
99
37
7
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoulin rougesacre coeursmallest liftaround the cornerclose to metro stationper nightrestaurants and barsthe hotel staffhot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 208 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here with family - 4 adults. Hotel is adequate for people who are looking for somewhere clean to base themselves. Beds are small but clean. There is a lift that holds 2 people. Breakfast was ok but don't expect a plate. If you don't like cats stay away from reception. The hotel staff kept our bags on the last day which was a great help. Hotel was easily found, about a 5 minute walk from Pigalle Metro stop. Also very handy to bars, restaurants & a supermarket. If you haven't negotiated Paris before get a good city map & a metro map (or apps) before you go - these will be invaluable. My app was particularly good as it pointed the way, with distances, to attractions & metro stops, along with other info. Also be aware of the various types of street crime, which is rife in the city - there is plenty of info online. Stay vigilant & don't get caught out.

Room Tip: If you're not comfortable in a tiny lift ask for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DANA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during my trip to Paris with my Mum. We were looking for a budget hotel in the Montmartre area as while we were here we were going to a concert at the Le Divan Du Monde and Moulin Rouge. We could not have stayed anywhere nicer. This is a small family run hotel. The people are lovely and easy to approach. 'Welcome Kim' was also said as we were checking in. Breakfast is included in the price, with a croissant, baguette, butter, jam, orange juice and tea or coffee. Basic, but that's all you need! We were only here to sleep after a busy day sightseeing, but the area was great for us. Just 2 minutes from the metro line Pigalle and safe to walk around at night despite it being in the red light district. The family also have a couple of cats and dogs, but these stay downstairs at reception and are very friendly. There is a very small lift - enough for 2 and one suitcase - again, we only needed this when we arrived with our luggage. Overall it was ideal for what we needed - don't come here if you expect things like room service, a hotel restaurant etc. This is for the traveller who needs somewhere to sleep at night (a lovely place to sleep, might I add) but wants to go out and experience what Paris has to offer. Would definitely stay here again if ever coming back to Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shadowed-raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very nice little hotel run by a family. Great location in the heart of Montmatre, at a quiet back street.
Lots of nice bars, restaurants and small shops in the area, and Sacré-Cœur is about ten minutes from the hotel. Place Pigalle is five minutes walk, and also the most convenient Metro station for getting to Andre Gill.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The family run Hotel Andre Gill is a comfortable oasis in the midst of a busy city. Located less than a 5 minute walk from Abbesses (downhill) or Pigalle (uphill) Metro stops, it is also close to restaurants, bakeries, Sacre Coeur, and Moulin Rouge. The hotel common areas were spotless, even with 2 friendly cats and dogs in residence. Breakfast of croissants and French bread, with orange juice, plus coffee, tea, or hot chocolate was included, and was served in a common dining room area with pleasant classical music to set the ambiance. Our room on the 6th floor was quiet, comfortable, warm, and very clean and could be reached by stairs, or by a tiny elevator (lift). The bed was comfortable, and the room included a desk and TV. Staff was friendly and very helpful and most speak some English. Free WiFi worked only intermittently. Our stay here was a very positive experience. We would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizyx211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Paris can be a lot of work. Worth it, but a nice place to rest helps a great deal. Marciel and Jasmine outdid themselves in making this hotel precious to us and we returned to it for a second stay after fleeing a cold and dreary Paris for sunny Provence recently. Marciel arranged a fine room chosen perfectly to suit the romantic trip we were planning, and Jasmine did noble battle with the nefarious SNCF website for us and helped above and beyond the call of duty in setting up hotels in other cities for us. Mere et pere running this family business are as charming, helpful and pleasant as everyone else (including the housekeeping staff) and humble in a disarming way.

On two occasions we slept into the afternoon and both times the maids uncomplainingly cleaned the room late, without us asking. The cleanliness of our room was outstanding. Though there was no safe in the room, security was not a concern. I saw some guests leave cash at the front, and the staff clearly had a scrupulous policy with respect to making guests feel safe about possessions in their rooms. The maids would not take small tips left for them in the room and had essentially to be forced into taking them.

Breakfast was a great croissant and the usual great crusty yet soft and chewy Parisian bread with cafe au lait if you wanted coffee, along with nice orange juice.

Our room had a view of the Eiffel Tower over the rooftops of the city. The Montmartre neighborhood was itself a welcome break from the center of Paris..and did not close down early, even on Sunday. Pigalle is nearby but the difference two blocks makes is astonishing. This area is quite gentrified and the red light district itself, while seedy, did not seem particularly unsafe even at night. Use the Abbesses metro station if you want to dodge all that. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat if we return to Paris. Don't miss Tentazione (great little Italian place nearby).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ndjEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews