We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly”
Review of Hotel Andre Gill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Andre Gill
Ranked #1,282 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The family run Hotel Andre Gill is a comfortable oasis in the midst of a busy city. Located less than a 5 minute walk from Abbesses (downhill) or Pigalle (uphill) Metro stops, it is also close to restaurants, bakeries, Sacre Coeur, and Moulin Rouge. The hotel common areas were spotless, even with 2 friendly cats and dogs in residence. Breakfast of croissants and French bread, with orange juice, plus coffee, tea, or hot chocolate was included, and was served in a common dining room area with pleasant classical music to set the ambiance. Our room on the 6th floor was quiet, comfortable, warm, and very clean and could be reached by stairs, or by a tiny elevator (lift). The bed was comfortable, and the room included a desk and TV. Staff was friendly and very helpful and most speak some English. Free WiFi worked only intermittently. Our stay here was a very positive experience. We would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizyx211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Paris can be a lot of work. Worth it, but a nice place to rest helps a great deal. Marciel and Jasmine outdid themselves in making this hotel precious to us and we returned to it for a second stay after fleeing a cold and dreary Paris for sunny Provence recently. Marciel arranged a fine room chosen perfectly to suit the romantic trip we were planning, and Jasmine did noble battle with the nefarious SNCF website for us and helped above and beyond the call of duty in setting up hotels in other cities for us. Mere et pere running this family business are as charming, helpful and pleasant as everyone else (including the housekeeping staff) and humble in a disarming way.

On two occasions we slept into the afternoon and both times the maids uncomplainingly cleaned the room late, without us asking. The cleanliness of our room was outstanding. Though there was no safe in the room, security was not a concern. I saw some guests leave cash at the front, and the staff clearly had a scrupulous policy with respect to making guests feel safe about possessions in their rooms. The maids would not take small tips left for them in the room and had essentially to be forced into taking them.

Breakfast was a great croissant and the usual great crusty yet soft and chewy Parisian bread with cafe au lait if you wanted coffee, along with nice orange juice.

Our room had a view of the Eiffel Tower over the rooftops of the city. The Montmartre neighborhood was itself a welcome break from the center of Paris..and did not close down early, even on Sunday. Pigalle is nearby but the difference two blocks makes is astonishing. This area is quite gentrified and the red light district itself, while seedy, did not seem particularly unsafe even at night. Use the Abbesses metro station if you want to dodge all that. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat if we return to Paris. Don't miss Tentazione (great little Italian place nearby).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ndjEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a great 2 star hotel in close proximity to buses, Metro and walking distance to Gare Du Nord. We actually arrived in Paris at Gare Montparnasse, with luggage decided it easier to get a taxi, which cost approx. 17 euros. We walked to Gare du Nord (downhill) on our departure which took about 15-20 minutes. If you wish to get to the hotel by Metro, go to Pigalle, on exiting walk straight ahead to intersection, turn left into Rue Martyres, Carrefour will be on your right. Walk up the hill about 50 metres and first on right is Rue Andre Gill. The lane is so small it doesn't feature on a map. Hotel is clean and all required for a budget stay in Paris. It is not a hostel as we imagined (we are both in our 60's). Rooms had a hairdryer, towels, shampoo, soap and wifi in our room. Staff extremely helpful. We did not have breakfast here so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank polyesterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

free wi-fi, nice breakfast, super friendly staff with that helped us and good location (2 min' walk from a metro station). we really enjoyed our stay and when we visit Paris again we'll gladly come back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orit_Aviran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Remember that this is Paris, and all of the budget hotels are small .
Very friendly and helpful staff which is key to a great stay.
The location is wonderful with Montmarte on your door step, and the metro just a short walk away.
The breakfast is basic, but you can go to a more expensive hotel and have no breakfast included at all!
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
We would book again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank johnkitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel was clean, quiet (despite the location being near a lot of nightly entertainment), located in one of the best parts of Paris (beautiful Montmarte), had very friendly, responsive and helpful staff. The breakfast was also good. I would recommend it to anyone. The one limitation is that like a lot of Paris it isn't wheelchair accessible. There is an elevator, but it is too small to fit a wheelchair.

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms, both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This older hotel is clean, charming and comfortable. it is located on a picturesque cul de sac in Monmartre. My friend and I stayed in room 22 and found it to fit our needs very well. The room was bright, had a small terrace and a renovated bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the shower was always hot and well pressured and when housekeeping came in to clean it always smelled like jasmine. Speaking of Jasmine, one of the hotel's most charming managers was a woman named Jasmine who helped us immensely. She arranged for us to have our pick of rooms after helping us navigate our departure from a dirty and unsightly hotel nearby. She made our stay a pleasure and is the definition of good service. I read one traveler's experience about not accepting a credit card at this hotel--but I paid using a credit card so I am unsure why he could not use his. The only drawback of this hotel may be the dining area. It was so small, very few guests could fit into it at one time. This means that you needed to be a pretty early riser if you did not want to fight the crowds for breakfast as the hotel has 6 floors worth of guests.

Room Tip: The hotel also provided "hostel like rooms" so be sure if this is not your cup of tea to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenelopeFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Bellevue Paris Montmartre
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,211 of 1,804 in Paris
1,019 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#1,042 of 1,804 in Paris
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
#1,281 of 1,804 in Paris
151 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
#1,006 of 1,804 in Paris
97 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,154 of 1,804 in Paris
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andre Gill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andre Gill

Address: Paris 18eme 4 rue Andre Gill, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,282 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Andre Gill 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andre Gill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andre Gill Hotel
Andre Gill Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing