We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bad place on a dangerous zone” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Andre Gill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Andre Gill
Ranked #1,172 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad place on a dangerous zone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Short review: Stay away from this place!! Seriously

Long review:
Traveled alone around may'12. My first deception was when I got a room on the top floor with common bathroom. Room smell really bad and requested a change. They charged me more for a bit more decent room, not as bad smelly. They have cats around the lobby.

About building, elevator is very small, as well as common areas but no critics, because it's part of the architecture

Arounds: Pigalle is the red light district of Paris, lot of cabarets and indigents. Dangerous place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank george01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    33
    7
    22
See reviews for
21
85
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a double room with bathroom on the internet. Price was 60 euro per night for the room breakfast included. When we arrived at 11pm there was a nice guy at the reception. We had room 50 wich was on the 5th floor. There was an elevator but the elevator is sooooooo small (fits just 2 people) and always stops on the 4th floor for no reason. We had so much fun taking the elevator ;-)
This place has a great location.Close to the sacre coeur and moulin rouge. Walking distance from the train station. There are two subwaylines near and a carrefour supermarket.
There are some bars, restaurants and even concertrooms next to the hotel and still there wasn 't much noise, sometimes heard a little bit of some concert untill 23 o clock and then it stopped. Sometimes even extremely quiet at night.
Our room had 3 beds in stead of 1 double bed. But we just put the beds together and had 1 SUpersize bed. Beds are not for tall people. Beds were not too hard or too soft but just ok.
The room was good sized. Bathroom was big and clean. It was very cold outside but the room was cosy and warm.
Beds were made up every day and got new towels every day.
You can see that it used too be a 2 star hotel maybe in the 70's or so... Now everything is a bit older and not so modern anymore but they were renovating the 6th floor when we were there.
Only thing that bothered us was that breakfast was between 7.30 en 9.30 so there wasn't much time to sleep out. Breakfast is 1 croissant, 1 piece of baguette, butter, jam ,coffee and orange juice. The room where breakfast is served is very small but cosy.
And in the daytime there was not always somebody at the reception excepte for 2 cats ;-)
Would stay here again because hard to find a room in paris with such great quiet location(montmartre) and breakfast for that money.

Room Tip: rooms at the back and higher up are very quiet. Elevator is very small so if you are claustrophobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babsieflapsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location-  just a short walk from the beautiful Montmartre neighborhood.  

The staff is also very nice, specially Marcial.  He definetly played a big part in making our stay so great.

The only complaint is that the rooms are very plain and not in the best conditions , although it seems that they are working on this.  I'm  not a high maintenance person by any means, but I do believe it would be to the benefit of the hotel to make their rooms more comfortable & aesthetically pleasing to their guest.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lola1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have never stayed somewhere where the staff were so rude and made our stay in the hotel so uncomfortable. There had been a miscommunication between myself and one of the staff members in the weeks leading up to our stay. We had asked the cost of adding an extra fold out bed into one of the 3 bed rooms, I was told it would be "no extra cost" in addition to our current booking. When we were requested to pay almost 100 EUROS extra and I politely questioned this we were not only branded liars, but also stupid and we laughed at by staff. Just to get out of a horrible situation we stopped the discussion and agreed to pay the extra (all required in cash??). The staff would not stop going on about it. I asked for this not to be discussed again as we just wanted to enjoy our time, and no surprises the next morning the manager pointed us out to staff the next morning who continued to laugh, question us and make us feel uncomfortable again. For the remainder of our time there we tried to only enter and leave the hotel when there we no staff (particularly the manager) around.

The hotel itself is ok as far as Paris goes. Small, simple but clean. Toilet water leaking on the floor - not great.

Great location. A shame about the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Monasterevin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights;
Room: Double Private + Ensuite (incl breakfast)
Cost: €130 for 2 nights + tax

Staff: Girl at reception was nice but wasn't happy when I was confused about the city tax. The guy at reception was extremely nice a helpful...told us all about the metro and very friendly
Room: Nice rooms with clean sheets and towels
Ensuite: More like a toilet and a sink inside shower
Breakfast: Lemon Tea, Croissant and Orange Juice
Location: About 4km walk from the main attractions about 15 mins metro

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

the first hotel my friend and i booked was infested with bed bugs which we discovered shortly after checking in. so left with no hotel and still on a budget we were stressed to say the least! we decided to walk around looking for a cafe with internet and just happened to pass by the hotel on a quaint alley. a hotel employee named marceal was absolutely amazing. after we told him about the situation from the last place he took us right up to a room and let us examine the bed and bedding. the room was adorable and overlooked the alley with a cute balcony. the bathroom was quite large and the room was very very clean. the owners were both sweet and charming and they did everything in their power to ensure we had a great stay including giving my friend a pack of cigarettes when the stores around us had closed. as far as location it can't be beat! much less touristy than other spots and filled with amazing restaurants/cafes/bars.
we DEF be where i stay for every paris trip!!!

Room Tip: room 46!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marihalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

So we accidentally booked the wrong night and didn't have anywhere to stay for the one night. The staff were not very helpful except for one staff member marceal. The owners son insulted me by telling me that my country was ugly and then after asking if i was with someone I said yes with a boy he proceeded to help a bunch of French girls instead even though I had been waiting for ages. They charged us €5 per bag to store them there for the night while we wandered the street. Our bathroom then flooded. No discount was offered no apology. Luckily the location was great and we were right in the middle of Montmartre and had better things to do at the time then winge.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estherlinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
#999 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,133 of 1,816 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
#1,034 of 1,816 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#657 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
#1,099 of 1,816 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
#1,289 of 1,816 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andre Gill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andre Gill

Property: Hotel Andre Gill
Address: Paris 18eme 4 rue Andre Gill, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,172 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Andre Gill 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Andre Gill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andre Gill Hotel
Andre Gill Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing