We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in an interesting neighbourhood.”
Review of Hotel Andre Gill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Andre Gill
Ranked #1,229 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value in an interesting neighbourhood.”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Andre Gill was a greet place to stay. The staff were wonderful, and the resident cat (Maxi) just adorable. Rooms were basic but bright. The small elevator is very handy for getting your bags up and down stairs.
A filling breakfast was served every morning, and rooms cleaned daily. In the heart of Montmartre, it's a great base for exploring Paris and its surrounds. Just make sure you don't hang around the metro stations at night.
Wifi was connected the day before we left, and seemed quite a fast connection.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    95
    34
    7
    23
See reviews for
24
87
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

After some bedbug experiences elsewhere, this was a great option where the staff could speak english! The place is a bit old and my bed was partially broken. Location is in kind redlight district but it was not bad as nobody bothered us and felt safe. Breakfast was very basic and not adequate for us. Overall, for a place to sleep, good for the price. Just know that paris is overall very expensive!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie_botha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Although the location may seem good, and the price is lower than the average Paris hotel, this place is bad news on many counts. We got stuck with them even after trying to backout because of their 'cancel 48 hours in advance' rule. I wouldn't want others to make the same mistake we made, and here is why:

1. They only accept cash and wanted all $300 upfront immediately upon arrival. It was obvious there are some shady money dealings going on, and I wouldn't be surprised if most of their clientele are sex-tourists, although, to be fair, that is more of an assumption based on my observations.
2. I -a woman- asked to see the room before paying and the host responded with a shocking amount of disrespect. It was obvious to my companions, both men, that he spoke down to me because of my sex. He refused to let me see the room and threw a fit, basically. The whole thing was awkward and inappropriate, given our simple request to see the room before paying a large sum of cash. He said several sales-tactic pressure lines to get us to pay the cash immediately, and even got weird about giving us more than one map.
3. The drawers were dirty, and room felt disgusting. At least the sheets were clean and to their credit we did not get bed bugs.
4. The coffee was undrinkable. The croissants were good and the presentation quite positive, however a perfumey stink permeates the whole hotel.

Note - I am all for budget options and I am accostomed to roughing it. But this place felt more like a scam operation than hotel, and it was a nasty, creepy experience staying there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marthaquest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Forli, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2010

First of all, going out from the Pigalle metro station you could think that you would stroll around a quartier full of prostitutes and find your hotel over a brothel..well, not that one!

Going in the opposite direction of the red light quartier you find this hotel in a little and nice closed street. The hotel itself it's quite little but very comfortable.
You will probably find one of the two big laizy cats of the owner sleeping on the desk at the entrance. They are very friendly, don't be scared.

The rooms are very simple but there's everything you need if you are in Paris to see Paris and not to live in your hotel's room.
The shower is a little bit strange small and in the first moment you could find it difficult to make it work (but I'll not tell you how to do that, you have to discover the correct way yourself..), but works good.

The breakfast is good; croissants made in the kitchen, baguettes, butter and marmelade. And coffee or tea (wrll, I'm italian, for me the "coffee" was brown water but that's not important..).

They let us leave our baggages at the hotel for one entire day after check out.

They just didn't give us a receipe after having payed the amount, but for us it was no problem; moreover, on the internet there was written breakfast included but it costed 2 euro per person (really not a lot..).

Anyway, good position, very friendly persons and nice bars nearby.
So go there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDuckIsTired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Just 2minutes walk to Pigalle metro station, located in the "real" Paris.. visited Paris and France since I was tiny and the staff at the hotel were the most helpful and friendliest people!
If you are severly allergic to cats or dogs.. maybe miss this out, it's very very clean.. but there are a couple of cats and a dog roam ing around in the lobby!
Breakfast is basic.. but just what you need to start the day and theres an internet room to use at a small charge!

If you want to see the real Paris and do all the touristy stuff without spending a fortune on accomodation, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2010

we wanted to stay at the hotel for 3 days but we couldn\'t do it from internet because they are just accepting passenger for 2 days and if you want to stay more,you have to pay much money than the normal price!!they are telling it this is our price but they are giving different price for everybody!we couldn\'t have any chance not to accept the offer because there weren\'t any place left in paris at these time and they used this oppurtunity giving high price to the customers!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We were so lucky to find this place, after driving through the night from Calais to Paris we were desperate for a place to crash and wanted something like a hostel but with private rooms. Having been met at the front desk by the haughtiest and fluffiest cat in France we were given (by an actual person) a lovely room on the top floor with a balcony. Lovely and clean, really comfy bed, and a nice enough view. We didn't go for the breakfasts, as there is no need really, you have Rue L'Epic just around the corner for the best breakfasts you can imagine. All in all, and excellent value for money, does exactly what it says on the tin, (plus a little more) place to stay. Stayed for 2 nights, and we want to go back this year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielacelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
Ibis Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme
#1,190 of 1,800 in Paris
981 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,236 of 1,800 in Paris
375 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
#1,013 of 1,800 in Paris
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
Hotel Roma Sacre Coeur
#967 of 1,800 in Paris
586 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
Hotel Bonsejour Montmartre
#1,263 of 1,800 in Paris
254 reviews
Hotel De La Comete
#1,024 of 1,800 in Paris
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andre Gill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andre Gill

Property: Hotel Andre Gill
Address: Paris 18eme 4 rue Andre Gill, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,229 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Andre Gill 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andre Gill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andre Gill Hotel
Andre Gill Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing