We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Hostel Blue Planet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Blue Planet
Ranked #135 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Let me start off by warning you on many reasons why you should not stay here. There is not a single thing i enjoyed about this hostel and it will ruin your Paris trip entirely. Here is a list of the terrible things that took place:
1) Upon arriving, a group of 4 people came up to us and warned us not to stay at the hostel. We were waiting to check in and had pre-booked so there was no chance of pulling out but this made us scared. We saw her crying at reception to get her money back for the rest of her booking because of a major bug problem in their room and they wanted to find a new place. Took them forever to give it back even when they said they'd call the police.
2) 5 levels and no elevator...not fun.
3) No sanitary bins for toilets so very disgusting smells and no sink to wash your hands in.
4) The pipe in our room broke and we told reception, the man came up and said "no, no it's fine", chucked a towel toward it and left...IT WAS A LEAKING PIPE!
5) They would kick everyone out of their rooms from 11am - 3:30pm everyday for cleaning and maintenance. This was ridiculous. No time to sleep in and if you wanted to go back and get something there was no chance of it.
6) The included breakfast is horrible. 2 tokens for 2 vending machines: one filled with the same thing in each ring (chocolate croissants - the kind you buy at the supermarket in bulk packs for $2) and the other was a coffee machine. Blegh.
7) The girl staying in our room said her bag had been tampered with during when cleaning took place so that's a bit dodgy...
8) Staff were very rude and unaccomodating. Came home one night at midnight and it's 24/7 reception. Rang the bell so many times before 20 mins later staff comes down from the hostel rooms followed by a girl staying in the hostel...and they looked pretty out of it. I came in and told him how disappointed i was and he got mad at me. I was pretty shocked. Made me perceive French people as the stereotype.
9) Only get one key card per room. So had to wake up people when coming back into the room at night.
10) Walls were super thin, could hear everything other people were listening to or when talking.
11) Curtain rod fell on us when we opened the window and even the cleaners didn't fix it they just left it there so we had to put up with it for our stay.

There is not one thing i liked about this hostel. It is horrible and not worth the money. I recommend paying an extra 10EUR/night more just to stay somewhere not like this place.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, you don't get to pick where you are. Luckily we didn't get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheUnknownnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    25
    69
    64
    161
See reviews for
11
14
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BARCELONA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I visited around 20 countries and always stayed at hostels. Blue Planet is, without not doubt, the worst place I've never been! My mattress was on the floor. Outside was -5 degrees but not heater in the room. In our room I saw 3 cockroaches and the bed sheet were dirty and full of unknown fluids....
Also the staff was very rude. As an example of the annoying situations, the staff asked me to pay the 3 nights before even show me the room.

Really, if you go to Paris spend 3 euros more per night and go to another place.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LENYBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

As the price was quite cheap, which I paid for €40.00 for two nights, I did not expect much from the hostel. I'd like to say it's lucky to have found this cheap hostel in an expensive Paris, and I stayed in a dorm room for 4 persons.

Thumbs up for:
1. Its location which is very near to Gare de Lyon, quite strategic hostel to stay.
2. Its breakfast - well at least they provided it.
3. Free locker - came early than expected so I have to keep my bags there.

Thumbs down for:
1. No free WiFi
2. Only one switch socket in the room and sometimes it did not work well.

Room Tip: Early and online booking will make your life easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaseRayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Not good hostel, there is a bathroom in each room but they do not have proper door, also you have to wake up at 11am because they "clean" the rooms until 3pm... The breakfast is a really bad, just 2 peaces of bread and a coffee... should be better if they said that they don't have breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe_BAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It may seem tempting, but never NEVER do this mistake and choose this hostel, not even for one night. Dirty, full of bugs and insects, humanly IMPOSSIBLE to sleep in theese rooms. Bathrooms are shared and really dirty. But the worst part is the rooms. Beds are dirty and full of bugs and cockroaches. Same way the whole room. On the walls, in the pillows, everywhere.We had the chance to see another room to in order to find a better place to sleep but it was worse, so every room is like this. We were three college girls ready to enjoy paris for the first time and we had one of the most terrible nights ever. Plus, the reception and the service is really unkind. This place offers nothing at all, not a wifi, not a breakfast, not even a place to sleep. Of course NO refunds! Just stay away.

Room Tip: No good rooms at all, stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

At first, everything seemed fine, we arrived (they told us to check in at 15.00), took a nap and went out to explore the city. When we got back though (around midnight) and entered the room it was full of bugs! EVERYWHERE! The floor, the walls, the doors, the beds! It was one of the most disgusting sights I have ever seen. And what is worse we had our stuff there for hours AND we had slept there! When we said that to the guy at the reception he just kept laughing and offered to give us another room. We went to the other room but it was EVEN WORSE. It was 2am and we were in a foreign country with nowhere to spend the night. We felt helpless. We knew we couldn't sleep there, and ended up in a very expensive hotel close by (it was the only available within walking distance) to spend the night. Needless to say we never got our money back from the hostel. The receipt they gave us when we first arrived, said in the back, no refunds, but it did not say that we would be sharing the room with their "pets".
Even though Paris is a beautiful city, this ruined our trip and we ended up spending way too much money on accommodation (the hostel which we never stayed AND the hotel), leaving us nothing more to enjoy the city. Don't book this hostel!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Mag24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was my first experience of staying in a hostel and it was terrible..The rooms were discusting and the blankes too,The shower and the bathroom very dirty.There were insects in all over the room.No free wifi,you have to pay for the internet, no breakfast,only a automatic machine with croissants.The only good thing was the location,quite close to everything.I can't recommend this hostel.Stay Away!

Room Tip: Do not go to this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annygri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,136 of 1,801 in Paris
288 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,259 of 1,801 in Paris
74 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#1,456 of 1,801 in Paris
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#954 of 1,801 in Paris
217 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de Reims
Hotel de Reims
#1,181 of 1,801 in Paris
281 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,282 of 1,801 in Paris
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blue Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blue Planet

Property: Hostel Blue Planet
Address: 5 rue Hector Malot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Blue Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Blue Planet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing