We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD!!”
Review of Hostel Blue Planet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Blue Planet
Ranked #134 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is disgusting, nor only is it infested with cockroaches, there is only one toilet/ shower to share beyween 35 people ob each floor and the management are horrendous. I was verbally abused in my dormatory by the manager for suggesting another hostel closer in the city to two other travellers. Having travelled Europe for six months- this is by far the worst hostel I have ever come across and should be shut down!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fantabbyabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    25
    69
    64
    161
See reviews for
11
14
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Unless you have absolutely no choice or is absolutely desperate for a place, DO NOT EVER book this place! Worst service for a hostel of my life. I booked for a three bed room for females with a shared bathroom, but they gave us a 6 bed female room with strangers. In other words we paid more for a bed since there are less people but were not given what we paid for! The receptionist in charge was absolutely rude saying it wasn't his problem. He blamed hostelbookers/hostelworld stating that the websites do not inform the type of rooms demanded, only that it was a female room for three people. Two other groups of people had the exact same problem. We all were very much cheated! Worst still was the other group were forced to be split up into different rooms because there were not enough beds. The rooms were not clean and the water system was terrible. They have lock out periods. At first they said check in would be at 3pm but later informed that we were only able to enter the rooms close to 5pm. There was only one available plug in the entire room of 6people. the beds were not clean and not stable (bunk beds). We would NEVER recommend this place to ANYONE EVER. The only good thing was that it was conveniently located near the gare de lyon metro station. Otherwise, NOTHING.

Room Tip: If you have to book this place, opt for the rooms with max number of people so you won't lose ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazreena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Absolutely horrid! I can not believe that the French government allows people to offer this kind of accommodation to travelers. Besides the fact that it is a dirty, dingy hole in Paris, I was terrified at the fact that at anytime I could be joined in my room by a complete stranger once there was a spare bed! This to me is downright scary and dangerous! Stay at this hostel at your own risk and if you decide to give it a try remember to walk with a sheet and pillow case as there is no cleaning service and what is there is dirty and smells!

Room Tip: Stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agatha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Only good thing about the hostel is its good location. Apart from that nothing else was good, I was given a room on the 5th floor with no lift, no bathroom on that floor owing to renovation. Highly rude and unwelcoming staff. Terrible experience, specially even after paying 23 Euros for 1 night. There are better hostels around.

Room Tip: Please have a look at other places, this must be your last option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chidam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was quite scared with all the terrible reviews that I've read about this hostel. However, when we arrived I found the hostel decent, the price was good for being in Paris, and the hostel was located near Gare de Lyon which was close to all the main touristic places. The hostel doesn't offer free wifi and the bathrooms aren't too nice, but the rooms were clean and they offered bed linen. They also offer free breakfast from a vending machine

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMSS_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good: It's no hotel quality stay but it's got the bare minimum and if you're the type of travel that just needs a place to put your bags and to have a sleep and shower than this is the best place for the price. The main attraction is within walking distance, the metro is a few meters away. You get breakfast - coffee and choice of pastry out of a vending machine. There's no lockers so unless you are staying with friends that may be an issue.

Bad: Loud at night. Grotty shower and toilet. Only one of each on each floor. No elevator. One key per room.

Very happy with the hostel and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place was extremely affordable. It had a great location as well.

It was a little run down and was a little shady, but my friend and I got our own private room for just $10-15 a night.

The security was good and the staff was very professional.

It is a perfectly fine place for young people backpacking through Europe just looking for a place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,143 of 1,801 in Paris
288 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,261 of 1,801 in Paris
74 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#1,457 of 1,801 in Paris
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#961 of 1,801 in Paris
217 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de Reims
Hotel de Reims
#1,167 of 1,801 in Paris
281 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Aurore
Best Western Aurore
#1,279 of 1,801 in Paris
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blue Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blue Planet

Property: Hostel Blue Planet
Address: 5 rue Hector Malot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Blue Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Blue Planet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing