We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don`t go there!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Blue Planet

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostel Blue Planet
Ranked #127 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don`t go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Read these comments, they are all true! First night we went there, there was a piece of raw MEAT under our bed and our sheets were covered in some kind of white powder and dots... This place is a serious risk for your health and getting a disease of somewhat wasn`t very far. There were at least 32 cameras in the hostel, which was creepy as hell. In the mornings at 11:00 people come knock your door and yell YOU MUST LEAVE, IT`S 11!!, great way to start your day.

The showers were horrible, straight from the horror movie. COLD water and the condition of the showers was just awful... holes in the walls and pipes weaving in your legs! The whole place has really serious moisture problems and you could see with your own eyes that there were MOLD eveywhere! It`s not coincindence that our throats were hurting in the mornings, only time in our trip..

We tought that this is only a place to stay but almost ruined our Paris. If you don`t have any other choice, which we didn`t have, go and stay outside of the city, this place ain`t worth a single penny and should be destroyed to the ground!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    68
    64
    158
See reviews for
11
13
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

BED BUGS! Came out savaged.
Dirty floor.
Dirty sheets.
Sheets and pillow smelled of urine.
Shared dorm bathroom door didn't shut.
Bed's were broken.
1 plug socket per room...broken anyway.
Filthy shower.
1 key per room, other people fell asleep so couldn't get in.
No lockers in shared rooms.

Despite being the cheapest hostel in Paris pretty much, I think sleeping on the Metro would have been preferable!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

the standards of this hostel were purely "french" (as an English would say)........ utmost pathetic... from this hostel i realized why people call the french as rude........

the room was to accomodate 5 people, with 5th bunk on the floor. the room was meant like a cage. with 5th bunk out (from underneath the other bunk), hardly was there any space to walk

the washroom was as if imported from afghanistan. inside the tiles were broken and even the lock was missing with a big hole, totally destroying ur privacy. even the doors wont close properly.

the attitude of the 2 hosts (other than one young man) was apathetic and least concerned....

book this hostel, destroy ur trip to this beautiful city and get a good taste of french attitude.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Couldn't agree more with all the comments below - terrible, terrible and terrible...find someplace else to stay, even if it means spending a bit more! We ran out of toilet paper and were actually told at reception THAT HE DIDN'T HAVE ANY TO GIVE US!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Worst hostel I've stayed in Europe and what a disgrace. Dirty, disgusting and the staff could not be any worse. I can not imagine how such a place manage to be in the business and they shouldn't be. I will not recommend this hostel to anyone, not even to my enemies (or maybe). Because it is just so terrible. Spend a bit more and have a better time elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I cannot recommend you the visit of this hostel. There are some reasons for it:
- On the webpage it is said that it costs 18 EUR per night. But it is wrong. When I arrived they told me to pay 25 EUR per night. It is not that I don't want to pay this price. If the costs for the hostel are high, they can ask for a higher payment and it is my decision if I accept the price and book the hostel or not. But I have to know the exact price before booking the hostel. If the webpage tells me another price than I have to pay, it is cheating in my opinion.
- The breakfast you really cannot call ??? a breakfast. In the morning you get 3 coins and you can get for each coin at vending machines what you prefer: Small croissants in a plastic. This doesn't taste very good, it is not fresh and it is not much. Also you can get at a vending machine something to drink, like different types of coffee.
- There is only 1 key for each room, not for each person.
- Each room has only 1 plug for electrical devices like notebook, shaver etc.
- no Wifi at the hostel. There are computers with Internet, but you have to pay 3 EUR / 30 minutes to use it
- The smell is not so nice at the hostel.
- The mattress was old and worn-out

I am sorry, but I can't make a better evaluation for this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Although in a great location (right near Gare de Lyon and short bike ride from main attractions) this hostel is disgusting.
The sheets were dirty (they didnt change ANY of the sheets in the week i was there, despite the fact that many different people stayed)
The pillows didnt have removable cases so you were sleeping on dirty pillows
The shower in our room didnt work, you had to hold the button in the whole time and the water was cold.
Everything was dirty
The hostel had just been painted and the fumes were overpowering. When i complained and asked for a refund (as i got really sick from the fumes) they said i couldnt have a refund and that i would just have to stick it.
There is only 1 outlet in the room which makes charging things impossible in a room of 4people.
Your not allowed in the room between 11am and 3pm. There were 2 days where i was extremly sick and got yelled at by staff to get out of the room so they could clean.
No self catering avaliable and breakfast is a disgrace.
I would never ever stay here ever again. Pay a bit extra and stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Dont even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hstewart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#1,104 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,295 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#552 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#464 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#920 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN Aurore
BEST WESTERN Aurore
#1,282 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blue Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blue Planet

Property: Hostel Blue Planet
Address: 5 rue Hector Malot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Blue Planet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Blue Planet Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing