We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overall a pretty solid hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Ducks Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
3 Ducks Hostel
Ranked #18 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall a pretty solid hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

PROS:

I stayed at 3 ducks in May 2014 and had an overall pleasant experience. For a hostel, the rooms are decently sized and clean. Like many others have said, the location is pretty stellar as well. It's very close to the Eiffel Tower and only a couple of minutes walking to the nearest Metro station. There are lots of cafes and coffee shops within a couple of minutes away by foot. Everyone I met there was friendly and helpful. The only parts of my three-night stay that were less than pleasant was the church bell that rang every morning at 8 or 9. I was woken up by it each and every day. Secondly, the breakfast was definitely nothing to write home about (just a few small pastries, cereal and juice). Still, I would overwhelming recommend staying here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    95
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
7
16
130
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A bit cramped, but that's Paris. Even though things are tight, the room had an en-suite. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. The hostel is only five minutes away from a metro station which makes getting around very easy. There is a bakery and grocery store nearby and a great donner joint just a stones throw away. In regards to the review complaining about the church bells, they don't start until 10am. It's not as bad as they make it out to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deanshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at 3 Ducks for 2 nights and should have stayed longer. It's in a great location and only 15 minutes from Eifell Tower not 30! The area is very safe and the Church didn't wake me. Everything you need is close by. The rooms are very clean as was the bathroom, maybe extra hooks in the bathroom would help. The rooms aren't big but you don't go to Paris to stay in your room. The only thing they could improve on is their cappuccino making, at €3.40 you would expect a full cup of hot coffee, but couldn't get a decent cup anywhere.
Would definitely stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I originally planned to stay 2 nights a 3 ducks... but they messed up my reservation and stayed only 1 night. You'd think I would hold a grudge, and I wasn't happy at all, at first. But they made up for it: all the staff I met (I believe 3 or people in all) were very helpful, respectful and accommodating. They helped me find a place to crash for that one-night glitch.
Of course, the place is squeaky-shiny new, so it's all very nice and clean. I do hope they keep it up: there is a need for that in the hostel business. The way the hostel is set up, around a courtyard, is quite unique for an accommodation in Paris and they've taken full advantage of it, providing a patio to the guests and a beautiful setting for breakfast. The place has A/C! Can I say this louder?! Rooms are comfortable, quiet, with their own bath and toilet and the AC makes it so nice when you come back from a summer day of hiking around Paris or an evening of partying around town. Location is excellent, quiet street with 2 subway stations nearby and local businesses all around provide a village atmosphere. I only regret I had to stay somewhere lse the first night! Oh well...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisTO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Great location and awesome rooms. Go to the restaurant across the street and get the duck!!! The courtyard area was really awesome but there isn't a large selection for breakfast. Right near the train station which is great. Top floor room has an awesome view.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingsarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torinto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hostel was fairly good. In a decent location near the main attractions. The rooms were nice and modern and the hostel has a bar. Although the rooms were a little crammed. 8 people share a small room with one bathroom per room. Also make sure not to lose your small ticket stub that is given to you upon arrival or else they will absolutely not return your deposit money in any case.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dseb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There are three things i mainly look for in hostels: (a) cleanliness, (b) safety, (c) cost. As a woman traveling alone for the first time, i was especially concerned with choosing the right place to stay.

3 Ducks Hostel was a great choice. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, neighborhood was safe (i felt comfortable walking down the streets alone at 2am - which i hear is not the case in other hostels), staff were nice, and it has two subway stations three minutes away. Great restaurants nearby (being a residential area).

I was in Paris for 9 nights; didn't bother looking for other places.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiwon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#3 of 141 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#1 of 141 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#12 of 141 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#8 of 141 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Ducks Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Ducks Hostel

Property: 3 Ducks Hostel
Address: 6 Place Etienne Pernet | 15th Arr, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentique,Design, confortable, idealy located & Fun....;;located at 10mn walking distance to the famous Eiffel Tower, the 3 Ducks Hostel & Bar has reopened its door on april 18th 2014 after 2 yers of full & amazing renovations.Located in ancient postal stables from 18th century,the 3 Ducks hostel & Bar has been restaured from the Inside by "vieux Paris" architectes et designed for the inside by 2 french artists.All rooms (some on duplex) are ensuite, with aircon, hairdryer , individual safe box and individual reading light. the beds are made at arrival. the breakafst is included.the Bar is among the cheapest in Town et make easy the communication between guests and locals.Free wifi all over the buildingFree breakfastFree city mapsfree kitchenFree lugage roomMutilingual staff with an amazing knownledge of travels and of course Paris....Rooms are for 4-6&8 beds.electronic key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 3 Ducks Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Ducks Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing