We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much & you won't be disappointed”
Review of Aloha Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aloha Hostel
Ranked #121 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed May 14, 2006

I was really scared to stay here because there were so many mixed reviews. I was expecting it to be horrible so I was surprised when it wasn't a complete hell-hole.

That said, it definately has a security problem, they should get some kind of locker system. I didn't have any problems with security personally, but I could see that others would. I was in a group of four and we got our own room, so we got to keep our key on us at all times. Otherwise, if you shared with strangers, you had to leave your key down in the lobby and your stuff wasn't protected in the room.

The breakfast is nothing to brag about.

The area is nice, we thought it was a decent location for metro travel. Staff was what you would expect I suppose. Sheets had holes in them. The heaters were on automatic timers and didn't come on until 8pm at night so it was FREEZING!

The daytime lockout thing sucked, but it kept us out there seeing the city even when we were tired, so it's a good push for weary travelers.

Just know what you're getting into when you book this place and you won't be surprised or disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelDabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 350 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
317
Reviewed September 20, 2005

The rooms were decent, but there was mold on the wallpaper under the windows. Breakfast, which is included, is baguettes, cereal, juice, coffee, milk, orange juice.

Here are the facts: sheets are an additional 3 Euros (for the whole stay), they play different movies in the lounge every night, sinks are in the room, toilets & showers are outside the rooms, internet access for an additional cost, cheaper if you have a laptop and ask for the Wifi Rate, supermarket close by, Metro about 2 blocks away, they take traveller's checks, English-speaking staff, kitchen facilities and refrigerator, laundromat and internet cafe (with better rates) down the street

Cons: lockout from 11AM-5PM, although you can use the lounge and bathrooms; safe behind the counter is a joke- they don't even ask you your name when you put something inside; noisy at night, although I think they are adding extra doors; not near any monuments, pump showers, which means each blast of water only lasts a few seconds and the showers are tiny (worse part of the hostel, IMO)

Bottom Line: Decent if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, but it's far from everything, the shower is a pain, and you can find something better in a livelier neighborhood

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2004

I stayed in Aloha for 5 nights, and thought it a superb hostel. Its quiet basic but situated very close to a metro. In terms of the curfew which was my only worry we came in after 4 on 2 nights, The staff were exceptionally friendly and informative. Very reasonably priced as well. No problems and a very lively atmosphere.

10  Thank MartinLillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2004

Decent hostel. My friends and I had a private room here which was pretty spacious. We only had to share the bathrooms, which were small but functional. Very good location near the metro, walkable to Eiffel Tower. Plenty of good food shops and little stores around, seemed like a safe neighborhood. Downstairs there is a small bar and luggage room. Overall it was a good value and I would recommend it.

10  Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
426
Reviewed May 4, 2004

Staff was very friendly and accomadating, there is a curfew in place though, so be aware!
Bring your own pillows too!!
Laundry and groceries were very close by.
We a very college-age hostel, with a very communal feel. Able to make friends very easily here!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank MARIEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Miquel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#14 of 185 in Paris
676 reviews
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#24 of 185 in Paris
461 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
The Loft
The Loft
#36 of 185 in Paris
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Woodstock Hostel
Woodstock Hostel
#59 of 185 in Paris
275 reviews
3 Ducks Hostel
#22 of 185 in Paris
343 reviews
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#38 of 185 in Paris
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Hostel

Address: 1 rue Borromee | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $33 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aloha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing