We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Bellechasse
Ranked #174 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We planned a little last minute getaway to Paris from Leicestershire at the tail end of our summer holiday, just two nights, so we chose where we were staying for location with the added benefit of a flash sale on a website we frequent. I cannot stress how fab the location is: right behind Musee D'Orsay. The Batobus has a pick up there for easy Seine cruise access to other sites and easily walkable to the cafes of St Germain des Pres. Plus at night, the area is very quiet.

The hotel is lovely, and we were greeted at 11:00pm after a queue (!!) of people by an accommodating clerk who walked us to our massive room, #8, on the ground floor of the courtyard. I've rented flats smaller than this room and with its seating area, double shower and lovely decor, we were convinced we somehow won the upgrade lottery. Only downsides were the pillows (not my fave), the lack of anywhere to hang our towels and that the room was connected to the room adjacent with a very thin door, and the people were quite loud when they returned from their night out. Note to the hotel: in the morning, perhaps the cleaning crew could hold off on cleaning the metal stairs until midday? 8:30am is way too early for that, even on a weekday.

All the staff were very helpful and courteous of my broken French. I can't fault the place, but honestly, in my opinion this is a very lovely and well run 3 star hotel, not 4. And with the multitudes of comparable hotels in this wonderful city, it wasn't impressive enough to convince me to come back.

Room Tip: Room #8 is very large with loads of space. Its twin beds can be put together to make a super Kingsiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    214
    69
    20
    13
See reviews for
66
459
47
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed during the bank holiday week end. We chose it because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor but we were disappointed. We went for my husband's 40th birthday, a rare week end away from the kids.
Our first impression was of a very unfriendly receptionist. The first room we were given overlooked a communal terrace where a group of young Americans were having a loud time. The so-called designer look means that there is no bathroom, the bath was in the middle of the room, in full view from the terrace. Sink by the bed. Loo at the other end of the room, the size of a small cubicle on the Eurostar! Not impressed!

It is a nice little place in a great location. But it is definitely not luxury and therefore vastly overpriced. If you book it for a special occasion you might be disappointed. If you book it as a base for exploring Paris, the location is great, just round the corner from the Musee d'Orsay and within walking distance to most sights.

I would not go back, as there are much finer hotels at that price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pros:
- Great Location
- Great Staff
- Gorgeous Design
- Comfortable Beds

Cons:
- Shower: Our room had the oddest design. The shower is not attached to the wall, but is a cord that you either place in a wall holder, or hold yourself. On our first night, the cord came out of the wall and water gushed all over the place. The staff was quick to fix it (the next day), but even when working fine it was an awkward showering experience, as the wall holder is at a weird angle and it's hard to get the water to flow in the right direction. Additionally, there's a very small glass partition between the shower and the rest of the bathroom, so it's pretty easy to get water all over the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Good part is the fantastic location a big part of the city is within walking distance. The rooms are nicely decorated, but we had a standard room and apart from the decoration it was small and not really any different to many other small Parisian hotels in the area we have used in the past.

The room had a mouldy smell, probably because the bath/shower was in the room itself not seperate and with limited ventilation..

The cost per night was quite a bit higher compared to same size/standard rooms at other small hotels in the area we have used in the past. Service at check-in and check-out worked, but nothing that would make you feel special or particular welcome. The location is nice, but overall we did not find that the hotel offers value for money, even considering the generally high cost of hotel rooms in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jusug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel fantastic. Very clean, very friendly staff, well done rooms, and in a great location. Breakfast is included daily and is your standard French Breakfast. It is a bit expensive, but hey....It's Paris. I've found my new home in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEasyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We love staying at the Hotel Bellechasse! The design of each room (we have stayed in 4 different rooms over several years) is fun and special as well as comfortable. Also, we love the fact that the air conditioning actually works and very well, so Important during a very hot August stay. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly, from the front desk to the lovely breakfast room. We try to stay here whenever we can and can recommend it without reservation. I was most recently there during a business trip and it felt like home!!

Room Tip: The courtyard facing rooms are truly quiet, but the windows are such that all rooms are peaceful, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMP997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is really a review with two parts. I will start with the pluses. The location is great, the staff very friendly and accommodating and the beds were big and comfy and everything very clean. Now the minuses. The hotel is billed as boutique with each room being decorated individually. This is true, but I agree with an earlier review that the decor is more garish than stylish! Of course, this is down to personal taste, but the rooms were small and I found the lighting frustrating. Hallways were very narrow and dark, which added to the slightly claustrophobic feel of the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#79 of 1,801 in Paris
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#128 of 1,801 in Paris
452 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Varenne
Hotel de Varenne
#117 of 1,801 in Paris
1,309 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Bellechasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Bellechasse

Property: Hotel le Bellechasse
Address: 8 rue de Bellechasse | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#199 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#220 Family Hotel in Paris
#361 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Bellechasse 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Bellechasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bellechasse Hotel
Le Bellechasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing