We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Bellechasse
Ranked #180 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Bellechasse for one night, the final of my trip.

I paid for the top quality room, and while most people have praised these, it had a slanted attic roof, and really did not feel very big. Half of the floor space was unusable. I also felt uncomfortable that the roof window (the only one in the room) was only coverable with a lacy curtain, and really provided no privacy from nearby apartment buildings.

The location is nice. Its very close to the D'Orsay, but not in the heart of Saint Germaine, or indeed immediately close to the Eiffel Tower. It misses the character of most of the top left bank areas.

The breakfast is adequate. Nice cheeses and cold cuts.

The hotel really makes you wonder about star rating systems, because I really can't identify any value added features here. It is a true, three star boutique hotel, with nice, unspectacular rooms.

Room Tip: If booking the deluxe room, avoid any of the attic rooms with their slanted roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 819 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent four nights here, being a older couple who still have a lot of romantic tendencies. It was wonderful. The staff is professional and very helpful. The location is so good that you can check out the length of the line for the d'Orsay from the balcony. The room was of good size, well equipped. The metro stop was 500 feet away. We found some good local places for pastry and simple dinners, and I'm sure there were fancy places if we had looked more.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony room overlooking the street. It was 104 and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was my first stay in Paris (my husband had been there before). We were with another couple whose travel agent had recommended the hotel. We were warned that the rooms were small...and they weren't kidding. But, actually, it was kind of funny. The fact that one of us had to stand ON the bed so that the other person could walk AROUND the bed will always stand out as a humorous recollection. And the reason I'm willing to accept miniscule accommodations without ranting is because everything else was flawless...oh, except for that blessed hand-held shower head-like thing and no shower door so that the water just shot all over the place. But I'm sure it's just my provincial "American" lack of experience that made this such a trial. Other than that, the hotel was clean, clean, clean...which is the only issue that will send me over the top. It was a half-block to the Dorsay, 2 blocks to the Seine, 4 blocks to the nearest Metro/Bus lines, and situated on this uber-French street. The small rooms are all funky and strange...but I would be hard pressed to stay anywhere else the next time I'm in Paris.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you're in, definitely talk to the people at the front desk. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It was unfortunate that through a confusion in the hotel booking and their subsequent receiving of the three of us as their guests in a room designed for two people, we ended up having to forego our stay at Le Hotel Bellechasse. While one front receptionist compliantly and willingly checked three of us into that two-person room we booked prior to our arrival (all other rooms were sold-out that night), it later emerged that it was against the safety regulation. Added to the confusion was the booking system of myboutiquehotel.com that produced a two-person room and registered the number of guests as two for our booking, when we carefully specified for three.

The amount of mistakes added up to result in us having to move our things out of the hotel room and find new accommodation at 4 in the morning. It was a stark contrast to our pleasant night out in Paris, and left a horrible taste in our mouths. While the constraints of the safety regulations were understandable, there should have been other alternative solutions to the problem than what the hotel offered us in reality - as in, it offered us no solution at all.

Our great displeasure with the hotel, however, comes from the night receptionist Karim, who proclaimed himself (many times over) to be the "boss" of the hotel for the duration of his shift. The man was aggressive, antagonistic, and extremely hostile from the first moment we came back to the hotel after having checked-in and gone out that evening. It really was and still is a mystery to us how he, for his lack of manners, common decency, and problem-solving skills, is employed in a hospitality business at all. He may just be the least service-minded person to ever be in the service industry, let alone to be working at a famous boutique hotel. He was quick to assert his "power" by telling us to leave, but turned around just as quickly to say he had no power to take responsibility for the mistake that the hotel, of which he said repeatedly that he was the "boss", had made.

The night receptionist’s first greeting to us was to interrogate with great hostility which room we were staying in, then proceeded to forbid us to go to our room and told one of us to leave immediately. There was little to no explanation of the problem (his words were to the effect that he did not wish to waste time talking to us, the customers of the hotel), nor were there any offer to help solve this problem (his initial words were "I don't care where you go" and "it’s not my problem"). His pinning of the problem solely on us showed nothing but contempt and outright discrimination. It wasn't hard to see the thinly-veiled ageism, racism, and classism in his assertion that "tourists and young people like you" were the cause of the problem that we were experiencing.* His stance, through the implications of his words, was that we were some stingy young tourists out to cheat hotels and score cheap deals.**

For that, it seemed like we were not entitled to decent words, assistance, or anything else you would have naturally expected from a hotel even at the very beginning of our interaction. His only half-hearted attempt at solving the problem, by calling another hotel to check for vacancies, only occurred long after the police had arrived and were watching his conducts.

Yes, the police were involved, as he was just equally quick (mere minutes after his verbal assault on us began) to threaten us, three small Asian women, with the forcible removal by the police because we refused to be dismissed. We accepted the offer and exercised our rights to have the police officers come to the hotel, to settle the dispute and be a buffer against his unwarranted and disproportionate aggression. Needless to say they were of little help in making the hotel, through its horrid night receptionist, compensate or take responsibility for its error. What they did, however, was to give us a fair hearing and we were grateful to them for it. It was in fact a whole world of difference to the baffling malevolence we received prior to their arrival.

At the end we left peacefully, as the police had no choice but to side with the safety regulations. Rightly so, too, since we were not disputing over the regulations. (We who also work in the hospitality business understand the need to respect such regulations well, and were besides very glad to all leave and not spend a second longer at that place.) Rather, our dispute was over the hotel's mistake and responsibility (at the least in the form of a refund, which we were refused) and our rights to not be dismissed with aggression for something that was not our fault. We walked out with the friendly, helpful police who preserved our human dignity more than the hotel was willing to.

We’d like to end our review by saying that you will be better off not staying at Le Hotel Bellechasse. Depending on who you are, you might get a stellar service from the nicest staff with the kindest words. But we’d just like you to know that it really DOES depend on who they perceive you to be. Maybe the hotel’s booking and check-in mistakes are understandable and forgivable, but the conducts of its employee that we have described are neither. We implore the potential customers that they don’t support a hotel which has so much ugliness hidden behind its masterfully-designed exterior.

*It’s easy to make a dismissive “the French are rude and racist” quip (untrue and needless to say racist in itself) , but his being French - or anyone else's being French for that matter - does not amount to an iota of an excuse for such hateful attitude towards those who are not of the same race or nationality. In fact, we cannot even say if he is French. It was of no importance or consequence to inquire after his nationality, and it definitely does not matter in the issue of his failing to be a decent human being.

**We are able to pay for a whole lot more than one small room in a Parisian boutique hotel, and trust me we looked the part that night. But any indicator of a person's financial status or race should not determine how a hotel and its employees can act towards said person. Le Hotel Bellechasse, with Karim as its representative that night, failed spectacularly and completely in this regard. A place of hospitality can never thrive, or should even be allowed to conduct business, if this deplorable disregard for common decency and manners befitting the service industry persists at the fore of its dealings with customers.

Stayed: April 2012
11  Thank TropicVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel le Bellechasse, a boutique Paris hotel with a very contemporary look, for six nights. The rooms, lobby, and breakfast area are works of art, but our room, while similarly artsy, nice-sized, very clean, and well-appointed, was lacking in two important areas. First, there was very little storage for clothing and effects, a definite minus for a multi-night stay. Secondly, the bathtub had only a hand-held shower head, without a wall mount, creating a very awkward situation. This having been said, the hotel's location could not have been more perfect. It is just steps from the Seine, the Musee d'Orsay, a Hop-on-Hop-off tour bus stop, and the Paris Metro, and just a short walk from the Louvre, shopping, restaurants, the wonderful St. Germain area, as well as a number of attractions. Best of all, we were treated to what can only be categorized as concerned service by a staff consistently willing to go out their way to be pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebdb627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were on our way back from two weeks in S Africa and I wanted a location convienient and quiet for a few days in Paris. The Hotel le Bellechasse totally fit the bill. We got is at about 8 am after flying all night. While they could not get us in right away, they stored our bags, gave us a great little map and some suggestions and we went out for a while telling us us to come back at 1 pm. We walked around a bit and returned at 1. The room was ready. The room ( 205 ) was small ( aren't all rooms in Paris ) but nicely done and very clean. I had asked for a room in the front as we love to over look the street and our request was met. The museum Dorsey is right down the block, and since we are walkers the hotel was itself convienient to the all parts of the City, bike stands, and the Metro. There are numerous good cafes and resturants within a short walk and an ATM down the block if needed. The hotel staff were extremely accomadating with suggestions, information and assistance. They even had free Wi-fi for the I-Pad !!!!. This is our second time in Paris, and I would recommend this location without hestitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed two nighs at this very different boutique hotel. We had room 101 that has its own courtyard, however the small staircase that leads to this room on the first floor is poorly lit, my wife struggled each time she had to negotiate these stairs. (just needs a handrail). The decor in our room was a spin out! Butterfly wallpaper and very dark, ultra modern though. There were a couple of things that disappointed with this hotel that had they been included this would have been a cracker, no tea & coffee making facilities in the room and the shower rose was annoying as you had to hold it (no wall mount) otherwise this is a great hotel, well located in Saint Germaine. Not sure if we would return?

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank IansHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Villa Saxe Eiffel
Hotel Villa Saxe Eiffel
#128 of 1,809 in Paris
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#85 of 1,809 in Paris
306 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Varenne
Hotel de Varenne
#132 of 1,809 in Paris
1,358 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel 7 Eiffel
Hotel 7 Eiffel
#534 of 1,809 in Paris
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Bellechasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Bellechasse

Address: 8 rue de Bellechasse | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#198 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#360 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $153 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Bellechasse 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel le Bellechasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bellechasse Hotel
Le Bellechasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing