We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Closet Hotel... yep it's small..!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Parc Saint Charles
Ranked #1,722 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a Closet Hotel... yep it's small..!”
Reviewed December 20, 2006

I travel on Business about 200 days a year and this is the first time I thought I should write a review because the website shows nice pics and pricing doesn't match what you actually get....

Yes this hotel has had some refubishing in the bath rooms and breakfast area but the rooms are so small you can touch 3 walls at the same time standing up...!

A few other bad points Doesn't have a lift... so pack lite
Breakfast is rolls and coffee... I've had better breakfast in hostels..! Cheap Foam Mattress beds... and Cheap bedding
Shower head was blocked up... not cleaned for years...
When cancelling your stay the staff think they can charge you for the whole stay..... as if...!

Good points.... well it is next to a Metro station and there is some little cafes nearby... I have stayed in worse hotels... but not many ...

If you want to stay in that area in a better small refurbished hotel stay here "Porte de Versailles Hotel" thats where I am staying now...

I think this hotel is worth 40 euro a night max...

Hope this helps someone out there

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — You could do better in the middle of Paris
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gary6587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    7
    7
    30
See reviews for
3
14
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

The hotel we booked was supposed to be a 3-star hotel. However, when we reached the place it turned out that:
1)Hotel Du Parc Saint Charles is a 2-star establishment,
2)The place was overbooked and we were placed in a ground-floor room, approximately 9m2 big. The space in the room was not even sufficient to open the
suitcases. When we complained, they offered us a SINGLE room for double use!
3)The room was basically without a window, the window could not be open on the ground floor, and the shutters were permanently closed making the room dark.
4) On arrival, we were infomed that there will be NO running water on the next day from 8:30-16:00, although the hotel staff knew about the planned water
shortage well ahead and did not bother to inform us in a time sufficient to cancel the reservation.
Lovely romantic holidays.... The staff did not see any problem, however, the manager refused to speak to us and although we decided to move out immediately they charged my credit card as a regular cancellation for the first night. It was a nasty thing to demand cancellation fee as for "booking and not showing up", while we did show up - and the reason we left was ENTIRELY hotels' fault. Be warned!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iwona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

My husband and I booked their internet special (double room for 89 euros) and were quite excited about staying there after reading the previous review. I chose it for several reasons, it being a nice, boutique type hotel instead of the run-of-the-mill tourist hotel, and their claim on their website of being just minutes away from the Eiffel Tower.

The free souvenir chocolates at the front desk were a nice touch. Plus when you check in, they give you a free map of the tourist spots which we found quite helpful.

Make sure you're willing to take your own luggage up a flight or two of stairs, since there's no elevator. And the keys are quite unique (not electronic card keys or regular metal keys). So expect to be asked to leave them at the front desk every time you leave the hotel.

True, the quality of the sheets and layout of the room was nice, but it was extremely cramped. The double bed and the air conditioner (a floor model that was noisy and didn't cool the room...we discovered that it was much better to leave the windows open at night instead) took up the length of the room. Squeezed in width-wise into the room was also a desk with a chair, and a side table with a lamp. The closet was tiny, and since there was no dresser, we lived out of our suitcase.

Don't expect to get much use out of the wall mounted plasma tv unless you're fluent in french. There were only 2 English channels (CNN & MTV). So that sucked.

The room was extremely clean, and the bedding was to die for. Luxurious sheets, bed covers and towels. And a private bathroom with a sink, toilet and shower is always nice. But I have to admit that I found it very strange that the shower (which was hand held) didn't have a shower curtain. It made for a very wet bathroom floor.

We used up the small bottle of shower "gel" (which was actually a liquid) and shampoo early in our visit, but it was never replaced. A minor inconvenience, true. I'm sure if we had asked for a replacement we would've gotten it, but it's generally replaced automatically in North American hotels.

While we were there, there wasn't much to do in the area. The hotel is situated in a very quiet neighbourhood. Many of the small shops and cafes were closed. There is a small cafe type restaurant in the lobby, but we didn't make use of it, so I can't tell you if the food is any good.

BEWARE!!! The hotel's claim of being "minutes away" from the Eiffel Tower DOES NOT mean minutes away by walking. Unless you're driving, it'll take you about 15 minutes to get there by the Metro (subway).

Would I stay at the Hotel du Parc Saint-Charles again? Honestly, no. It was extremely clean, but I think i'll try somewhere else next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E.Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2005

I recently spent two nights at this small boutique hotel in Paris.

This was my first trip to Paris and after reading all the reviews on the internet of Paris' 2 star and 3 star hotels, I was very concerned that I would be stuck with a terrible hotel room that would ruin my first Parisian experience. I was so relieved when I checked into my single room at the Hotel du Parc Saint Charles.

Yes, the single room was very small by USA standards and as in many small hotels in Paris, there wasn't an elevator, but the room was very nicely decorated, the linens were better than many 5 star hotels in the US, and the bed was wonderfully firm. My room was outfitted with a desk, plasma TV, phone, mini bar, and portable air conditioning. The room was painted a soothing white and grey and had grey silk and flannel drapes on the french windows that opened for a breeze and view of the moon at night.

The room was very clean and everything looked new. The bathroom was very small but all the tile and fixtures were brand new and spotlessly clean. The shower, although small, had plenty of hot water with terrific water pressure. The designer amenities were appreciated as my luggage had been temporarily misplaced by the airline.

The hotel is located in a quiet, residential area in the 15th arrondissement. Its right around the corner from the Balard tube station and all the sights of Paris are within a 15 to 30 minute train ride from the hotel. The neighborhood has a lovely street, Rue Balard, that has all sorts of restaurants and shops. But I would recommend the gourmet restaurant which is practically next door "La Dinée". A wonderful dining experience and they even offer room service!

But the best feature of this hotel is its service and staff. Thomas, the Director, was wonderful and personally handled my reservations via email. Thank you Thomas. The staff that handled the front desk were professional, helpful and friendly. Thank you Arnold and Andrian. My luggage had been misplaced by the airline and Arnold called several times attempting to track it down. It was finally delivered at 2:00 am on the second night.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. My first experience in Paris was made more enjoyable with the very pleasant and positive experience I had at the lovely Hotel du Parc Saint Charles.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank paris0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
0.1 mi away
Median Paris Porte de Versailles
0.4 mi away
Le Carrosse
Le Carrosse
#1,536 of 1,802 in Paris
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porte de Versailles
Hotel Porte de Versailles
#1,108 of 1,802 in Paris
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix Paris
Hotel de la Paix Paris
#842 of 1,802 in Paris
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabriel Paris-Issy
Hotel Gabriel Paris-Issy
#9 of 12 in Issy-les-Moulineaux
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc Saint Charles

Property: Hotel du Parc Saint Charles
Address: 243 rue Saint Charles, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,722 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Parc Saint Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Parc Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing