We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand hotel de Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Paris
Ranked #1,622 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A great location, room was basic but price reflected this. Staff could not have been more helpful with good English. Room was warm, bed was fine and shower satisfactory. I didn't have breakfast here. I found the rooms quiet, which was great as I'm a very light sleeper.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 375 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for five days in nov 2013 , warm helpful staff . Very centrally placed easy reach from gare du nord and gare de lest a
All kinds of food Indian, Turkish, Italian, French, creperies, KFC McDonald's in walking distance , plenty of budget shopping for suits , Tati store near by overall a good place for a Persian holiday

Room Tip: Cheap quadruple room available for family with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drskulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just come back from visiting this hotel (November 2013)

Overall we was disappointed, We didn't pay much to stay here and you definitely pay for what you get! The hotel was very dated, the lift was very small, which only fitted the two of us in. The hotel overall seemed to be clean. The bathroom was ok, although our shower leaked into to bedroom, making the floor wet.. When explaining this to the reception staff they didn't seem to care. Otherwise we had hot water and clean towels.

The hotel rooms was an ok size for the two of us, the bed was hard and pillow was too soft, which gave me a neck ache. The room had a wardrobe which was handy and a large mirror. Their plugs were nearly hanging off the walls so kept loosing connection. The room was very stuffy but the large doors were very handy and looked out onto the road which was nice, although very noisy, so we had to decide whether we wanted to be kept awake by being too hot or the noise from the road outside. The room had a TV, but one English channel.

Breakfast was disappointing, there was hardly anything to choose from, so other mornings we decided to go elsewhere for food.

Our biggest worry was the lack of security. On our first day we arrived at the hotel and left our bags in the room to go straight out. It is their policy that you must leave your room key with reception when you go out. This was no problem... Although when we arrived back to the hotel, there was a different gentleman on reception, we asked for our room key and he handed it straight to us, he hadn't seen us before. The next day, this happened again, there was a different lady on reception when we asked for our room key and she handed it straight to us, so I asked her with there being no safe in the room and them asking for no identification of who we are, not even our names, if our belongings were safe. The staff don't speak fluent English and this was no problem either, but when asking her, she didn't seem to understand our worries. Later on that day, we asked for our room key (46), they handed us room key 56... again how easily do they give out the room keys? In my opinion anyone off the street can come in and have access to any room they like!!

The staff were not helpful and when asked questions were very blunt.

The location is perfect, you are literally on top of the metro station which links a lot of lines, they're are also bars and cafe's down the road.

On the day of checkout, we had to leave our bags their for the day as our train home wasn't until later in the evening, they seemed to have a corridor off of reception where they store guests baggage, this was right next to the stairs and right near reception in a corridor, the door was left open and no lock, again we was worried for the safety on our baggage, especially as there is not always a member of staff at the reception desk.

Overall the hotel was ok, as I said we got it very cheap and we only stayed for a few days, the biggest worry for us was the security and the un-friendly staff. They definitely need to update their rooms.. I have looked on websites since being back and the rooms are not what they look like on their photos!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just back from long weekend 8th Nov - 11th Nov . .The hotel is very close to metro , restaurants , railway, buses and shops. Very good breakfasts to keep you going until lunch time if your watching your euros !!. Very friendly and helpful staff. Constant hot water fresh towels very clean hotel. We had single rooms which are small but as we were out all day and only slept there that was not a problem.

If its just a sightseeing weekend your looking for its a great hotel not recommended for romantic weekend. Downside there is not a vending machine for coffee or tea in reception as advertised and the lift is an experience .

Otherwise the other reviews are spot on .

Room Tip: single rooms at the back of the hotel no view. The lower the floor the darker the room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 447chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I read the reviews before going, and they worried me a little. After staying there for 3 nights in November, I would like to say, for the price, it was great! If you're expecting a 5* experience, this hotel isn't for you, but for a simple weekend break, somewhere open 24 hours, to rest your head at night, look no further!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October 2013. I really have no complaints about this hotel. The staff were super friendly and helpful. My French isn't brilliant, but I spoke to them as best as I could and they responded by speaking slowly (in French) so that I could understand.

The room was nice (we stayed in room 26). It was big enough for us to put our bags at the side and still have room to walk around. The bed was a bit too firm for our liking, and the pillows too soft - but you can't please anyone. We had a view of the street, and although it was right near a busy area (almost like a bus station), it wasn't noisy. The bed was covered with a sheet, a blanket, and a duvet, so you could take off what you didn't want and keep on what you did. We had a television in the room, with only one English channel, but you're not in England so you can't expect much more. However, we did enjoy watching some interesting French programmes.

The bathroom was small, but contained everything we needed. The shower was warm, and we were provided with soap and shower gel, plus towels (even though I always take my own).

Breakfast was simple but nice. As soon as you enter the dining room, a member of staff brings out a bowl of bread and croissants, and asks you if you want tea, coffee, or hot chocolate. There was also milk, water, and orange juice to drink. Then there was a buffet of ham, cheese, yoghurt, butter, nutella, cake, and cereal.

I can't complain about this hotel, as it was a budget hotel but it provided the basics with a smile. I would stay here again as it is perfectly situated by Gare de l'Est, with an entrance to the Metro only a few metres from the hotel. There is also a small supermarket around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccahMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel is a typical old Paris hotel with friendly people. The room is basic but the beds are oke and the bathroom nice. We had no closet witch was not very helpful. We stayed here for the second time.
Note: Are reservation with easybook didn't work.. When we arrivés we were not in the books. Luckely there was a room free. The first time it was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,591 of 1,803 in Paris
604 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Nord et Champagne
Hotel Nord et Champagne
#1,485 of 1,803 in Paris
298 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Sibour Hotel
Sibour Hotel
#1,482 of 1,803 in Paris
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Est Hotel Paris
Est Hotel Paris
#1,188 of 1,803 in Paris
684 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
#1,559 of 1,803 in Paris
106 reviews
Hotel Altona
#1,551 of 1,803 in Paris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Paris

Address: 72 boulevard de Strasbourg | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,622 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $60 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing