We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely romantic Boutique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Recamier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Recamier
Ranked #332 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic Boutique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Beautiful little boutique hotel on the edge of the Place St. Sulpice. The rooms are cozy and extremely comfortable and well-appointed. We were lucky enough to get one on an upper floor looking out at the Eglise St. Sulpice and the Place, which was magnificent. It could not be better located for wandering around the left bank, and both culture and shopping are minutes away. The staff are warm and welcoming, and the afternoon tea a welcome treat. loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MainStreetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    89
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
175
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent service throughout our short stay at this chic boutique hotel. The hotel is conveniently located close to Mabillon metro station and walking distance to the shops and cafe of St. Germain & jardin du Luxembourg. The bed was very firm and extremely comfortable making for a perfect night's sleep. The complimentary afternoon tea in the lounge area was very much appreciated too. The room was well soundproofed and we did not hear any noise from the other guests or outside (its a very quiet area). We took the free upgrade to a king-size bed room overlooking St. Sulpice, (thought still a relatively small room), but it was just a pity that a king-size bed was two twin beds put together. Notwithstanding, the furnishings in the room were very tasteful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumahiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is tucked away behind san suplice in a quiet corner. We had a room on the third floor facing inwards so no views out of the room but it didn't matter. It's a great location and the staff are very friendly. They recommended two restaurants for us which were spot on for the type of places we requested. The hotel is very classic and understated like an old townhouse. The rooms aren't big but then again where are they big in paris. It's a quiet hotel and we couldn't hear any noise from either the streets or the rest of the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short weekend break!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caparso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Located in St Suplice this small hotel provides a stylish, intimated base from which to explore Paris. Decorated four years ago it has been featured in interior design magazines because of its chic Parisienne look. The scale is tiny, but similar to how French women dress it makes the most of what it has and provides a very comfortable yet stylish setting. The rooms are small but beautiful, well equipped, with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. Service is friendly. Room service available. A complimentary afternoon tea was appreciated. Location is fantastic and one is able to access all the main sights very easily. There are a great selection of restaurants and shops nearby. Perhaps not suitable for a large family this hotel makes a perfect location for a couple or friends wanting a small sophisticated base.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I met my husband at the end of his business trip and picked the Hotel Recamier after pouring over many reviews of intimate hotels in the Left Bank area. We had both been to Paris before but wanted to try a different hotel than either of us had stayed in before. We were so pleased with our choice. I arrived after a long overnight flight and my reserved room type (deluxe) was not available, but I was given an upgrade to a club room type which worked out so well for us because it was larger than what I had booked. Our room (#42) overlooked St. Sulpice and the elevator, while typically small, was actually large enough for us and our luggage! I sprained my ankle on our second to last night there and the staff was very helpful with ice and taxi arrangements the next day for us to at least be able to have a nice lunch. Their restaurant recommendation (La Coupole) was very good, packed with people, and we enjoyed that day even though I was on crutches. While at lunch my husband emailed the hotel to see about a nice last dinner. They made a special effort to make us reservations for that night which we knew would be tough because it was a Sunday and a lot of good places are closed, in addition to our the last minute request. They reserved a wonderful Michelin starred restaurant only to have us need to cancel it because I wasn't able to move around as much as I thought after great lunch with my ankle sprain. Prior to our trip I had the hotel arrange a transfer for me from Charles de Gaule airport and it was prompt and reasonably priced. The lounge area was cozy and comfortable, the internet worked well, and the proximity to the Luxembourg Gardens was a bonus, especially with the November cold drizzly weather. The bed, (2 pushed together twins to make a European king) was very comfortable for me although my husband always ends up on the crack in the bed! We walked to the Louvre and to shops and dinner in the Marais with no problem, which we loved because that's why you go to Paris, right? To wander the neighborhoods and stop when a restaurant looks good... We will definitely return to the Hotel Recamier.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and loved this little gem. The location is in a quiet corner of a square, and so close to all the sights of the 6th and 7th districts, as well as walking distance to the Louvre and Notre Dame, etc. The rooms are small (we had room 54), but it was so quiet and dark at night: pefect for a good night's sleep. The staff is charming and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Opiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel Recamier is the best hotel for a short stay in Paris -- the location is fantastically central, within easy walking distance of everywhere, and it's in a relatively quiet part of the city (or perhaps it was quiet because we had a room at the rear of the hotel). Rooms are very small but the hotel makes no secret of this on its own website -- you can't expect masses of room in such an affordable, central, boutique hotel. It was scrupulously clean, beautifully and artfully decorated, and the staff were so very courteous and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to guarantee a quite night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#80 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#84 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
#1,068 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#137 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#463 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Recamier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Recamier

Property: Hotel Recamier
Address: 3Bis Place Saint-Sulpice, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#202 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#249 Family Hotel in Paris
#285 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Recamier 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly nestled behind the trees on Place Saint Sulpice in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés area, Hotel Récamier is about to become a new exclusive address in Paris. The hotel should meet the expectations of travellers in search of confidential addresses such as those exchanged between well travelled and demanding friends.Half of the 24 rooms have a direct view on the place. The rooms have been superbly revamped by the renowned interior designer Jean Louis Deniot who was inspired to create 24 entirely different rooms with one theme per floor. On a classical basis he has added some eclecticism inspired by the various 20th century decorative styles. You will find neither hyper exuberance nor minimalism: here we are talking real Parisian elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Recamier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Recamier Hotel Paris
Hotel Recamier Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing