We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of Hotel Recamier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Recamier
Ranked #324 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I came to Paris for my husband's birthday and these few days will stay in our minds for a long time.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful, the rooms were very well decorated and the atmosphere in the hotel was very zen and relaxing. At a walking distance from all the main monuments and located on the beautiful place Sainte Sulpice.
The breakfast was fantastic and also they had an application on the Appstore with the best news you can find about Paris, so we ended up going to see exhibitions and trying new restaurants just like Parisians !!

We will come back here for sure !

Room Tip: Rooms with the view over the fountain are super !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryS10310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    94
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
186
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A small hotel tucked away next to St Sulpice. Well run, with the usual small rooms but nice service, and a good breakfast in the tiny hotel dining room with delicious croissants from the legendary patisserie round the corner. We stayed in a room off the smokers area in the garden which I would not recommend, but have also stayed in the main building which was better.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel hits all the right notes. It is perfectly located on the Left Bank. It is tucked away in a little charming corner of the square. Very quiet. It perfectly decorated in a chic Parisian style. The rooms are large by Paris standards and well fitted out with desk, closet nice bath, etc. The best part os the very warn and highly attentive service. In particular, a lovely young woman named Jessica at the front desk. She helped with restaurant reservations, taxis...all with a big smile and efficency that you don't usually find at this mid-range hotel level.

Room Tip: Deluxe or higher rooms have view onto square that is gorgeous. There's even a peek of the Eiffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrintdsgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Located in the 6th arrondissement, surrounded by great restaurants, shops, and sights. It is the perfect location for walking to the Seine, the Louvre, Notre Dame, Musee Dorsay,....

Helpful staff, very clean and super cute rooms! In a quiet corner of a square, overlooking a fountain and church and you could even see the Eiffel Tower in the distance from our balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandralinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel Recamier is tucked away in a corner of Place Saint Sulpice, just next to the imposing Saint Sulpice church and in the heart of St. Germain des Prés, in my view the most charming part of Paris. It belongs to the boutique hotel genre, with nice decorative touches in the public areas and rooms and a soothing brownish colour palette. My room was equally nice but very small, with limited storage space and a tiny bathroom. This is quite common in Paris, though, so I wouldn't say that it is a distinctive drawback of this hotel as such. A generous buffet breakfast is served in a small salon with beautiful decorations including African masks. As far as I could see there is no fitness club, which is not surprising given the size of the hotel. The staff at the reception were all extremely friendly and helpful. If you don't mind the small size of the room and the fact that it is not cheap at all, I would recommend it for a couple on a leisure trip or a long weekend on the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This charming and cozy small hotel, used to be the residence of the beautiful Madame Recamier and her family, who were very highly regarded in19th century Paris society. It has been tastefully restored with great attention to detail and cleverly decorated by integrating pieces of african art to a definitely french architectural structure, creating a very harmonious blend. A pleasant atmosphere permeated through the hotel. The breakfast room was well stocked with fresh juices, fruits, yoghurt, ham, cheese and of course french pastries. The service with a smile was quick and efficient. Every afternoon a complimentary tea was offered to the clients

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Place Saint Sulpice have a lovely view of the surrounding square and impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I visited Paris over Thanksgiving from NYC--and Hotel Recamier absolutely exceeded our expectations. We were hoping for a small, charming boutique hotel that still had the creature comforts we were going for, and this place absolutely fit the bill and more. Of course there's nothing wrong with staying at the large luxury hotels, but we were looking forward to staying somewhere that felt unique. This little gem was perfect...as people have said, the rooms were small (hey, this is Paris!) but very stylishly decorated--best described as quirky but classy (i.e. not Ikea quirky furniture that falls apart when you sit on it). The bathroom was actually surprisingly spacious and well appointed with lovely toiletries--more than enough room for us to get ready side-by-side. The bed was a dream--so comfy, and given that the area is fairly quiet at night--and we did lots of walking and wine-drinking, we slept like slightly buzzed babies. Last but not least, the service was wonderful--Cecilia, Jessica, Vincent and the rest were so warm and helpful. They made dinner reservations for us prior to our arrival, and were exceptionally helpful with our (many) questions once we arrived. I can't say enough for this charming little hotel--we'll certainly be staying there on our next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#103 of 1,800 in Paris
657 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#102 of 1,800 in Paris
378 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#407 of 1,800 in Paris
266 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#109 of 1,800 in Paris
1,082 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
#1,006 of 1,800 in Paris
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Recamier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Recamier

Property: Hotel Recamier
Address: 3 B Place Saint Sulpice, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#210 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#248 Family Hotel in Paris
#285 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Recamier 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly nestled behind the trees on Place Saint Sulpice in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés area, Hotel Récamier is about to become a new exclusive address in Paris. The hotel should meet the expectations of travellers in search of confidential addresses such as those exchanged between well travelled and demanding friends.Half of the 24 rooms have a direct view on the place. The rooms have been superbly revamped by the renowned interior designer Jean Louis Deniot who was inspired to create 24 entirely different rooms with one theme per floor. On a classical basis he has added some eclecticism inspired by the various 20th century decorative styles. You will find neither hyper exuberance nor minimalism: here we are talking real Parisian elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Recamier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Recamier Hotel Paris
Hotel Recamier Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing