We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Age Discrimination - No Lift and my 82 year old Mum and I were put on the 4th floor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Montclair Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Montclair Hostel
Ranked #11 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Whitstable
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Age Discrimination - No Lift and my 82 year old Mum and I were put on the 4th floor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This Hostel has serious Health and Safety Issues - a very poor condition dangerous spiral staircase which would support residents burning to death if there was a fire. No lift and my 82 year old Mum had to take a break to get up the stairs. The arrogant receptionist thought that her response was acceptable when she said "well the website doesn't say we have a lift" - BEFORE YOU SPOIL SOMEONE ELSES TRIP, PUT ONTO YOUR DETAILS THAT THERE IS NO LIFT AND YOU HAVE 5 FLOORS. Appalling Attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gigi1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We can't accept your comment regarding the health and safety issues. You have to know that the Police control the hostel as every hostel in Paris and there is no problem at all. We accept all the guests, all age without any discrimination. All the informations are on our website, and you have to choose the place you want to stay with you 82 year old mum and check if the conditions are ok for your trip before reserving, you never ask a lower floor, which was possible when you ask before the check-in.
The receptionnist propose you to change room for a lower floor, but you refuse.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of the stay in Paris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    279
    155
    45
    26
See reviews for
44
136
147
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great staff (we met a very very nice assistant from Poland), nice and beautiful location (romantic Montmartre, just few minutes from Sacre Coeur! and few steps away from the nearest metro station - Jules Joffrin), unfortunately a little bit too loud - very thin walls in the rooms, there were also some problems with wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patencja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your comment, i hope the wifi problem was not so long,
Thanks for the Poland Assistant, we are all here to help you find your way in Paris.

Waiting to welcome you a next time
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

For such a small price this hostel offers a high quality service. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful, wifi worked just fine, breakfast is included in the price and absolutely delicious, the beds are comfortable. The only downside is how tiny the toilets are - you can barely stand up in them. But the location is excellent, just a 10 minute walk from Sacre Coeur. Highly recommended, especially if you're looking for something with a youthful atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much, it's important to us to know that we are doing a good job!
Waiting to welcome you a next time.

Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hostel disappointed me because it´s too big for its structure (kitchen and bathrooms are always crowded), the staff was always too busy to advice you or give recommendations and it´s quite expensive for its breakfast and acommodations. It´s located in the absolutely delightful neighborhood of MontMartre and could have a much better french spirit and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment, our aim is to help each guest to feel comfortable in Paris.
Sometimes, we have lots of people at the desk at the same time, but we answer each questions.
We also have a paperboard in the lobby to inform you about the good deals of the week.
We hope to welcome you a next time for a better stay!
Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was here mid-May for 2 nights (first night in a 12 bed dorm, next night in a single room). Have stayed in numerous hostels in both Europe and North America and this was by far the worst one I have experienced. I am a student and therefore am familiar with the fact that hostels are not hotels, and that the level of service and quality of rooms will not be great. However, this was awful.

Upon checking-in the desk assistant was very rude and uninterested in giving suggestions for places to visit or directions. The dorm room was shockingly dirty- pillowcases had hair on them and hadn't been changed. Floor was covered in water and dirt. Bathroom was horrific- dirty towels everywhere, soaking wet floor. Bunk beds were unbelievably close together- woke up at 5 am. to a person climbing over me to get down the stairs of the bunk. Really?!

Private room was not much better. Walls were super thin and dirty, tiled floor wasn't clean, door wouldn't lock properly. Every time we left the room it took us about 15 minutes to lock the door since it wouldn't close correctly.

Breakfast was poor- advertised as a buffet, but you were only allowed 1 of everything (small croissant, bread, juice).

Also must mention that there were NO lockers in the dorm rooms (every hostel I have ever been to has had in-room lockers). They had lockers you could pay for downstairs for smaller items, and a luggage storage room. Slept with my camera and passport under my pillow.

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Paris, choose the Perfect Hostel instead. It is 100 times cleaner, much cheaper, more secure, and in a better location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AvidTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I really don't know what to tell you, because what you describe does'nt look like Le Montclair. I'm not telling you that we are the best in the world but ...We have no dorm of 12, we clean the rooms every day, and the shower 2 times, in the morning and in the afternoon. We change the pillow cases and blanket at the check out. Concerning the breakfast, i confirm you that it's a continental buffet breakfast and we just ask not to take 5 croissants each. The lockers are in the dorm and at the desk and they are free. Anyway, we hope you had a good time in Paris; Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My first thought when I saw the room was, where is the rest of it. My first thought when I went into the bathroom was - where is it? This place has really tiny rooms. That said, the rooms are CLEAN. The staff are helpful and the place is overall a great part of town to be in. Its not the hustle and bustle of centre city. Its the nice, away from the city part of town. Its of course near a metro, much like every other place in Paris. There's a very decent breakfast in the morning. It keeps you set and running for a large part of the day. The area and the place are also safe. Doesn't give you the creeps. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your comment, we are happy that you like our hostel, except the size of the room.
This is Life in Paris, anyway we hope you enjoyed your stay and see you a next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hostel is a little far out from the city but very close to a metro and also in a cool district.
I stayed in a 4 bed mixed with a private bathroom, both were quite clean, room was a little small but moveable.
The self catering kitchen was extremely small and the breakfast was average, although a free breakfast is better than none.
The atmosphere was nothing exciting and there weren't any social events run by the hostel.
I personally wouldn't stay here again purely for that reason, but if you're someone looking for a bed in a hostel with helpful staff for cheap this would be suitable.

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you've got a fair bit of luggage, good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonLever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Bonjour,
Thanks for your time, Concerning the room, we clean everyday. The breakfast is free and include a full continental with hot drinks, milk, cereals, bred, croissant, butter, jam, orange juice...
Concerning the atmosphere, we organize a party 1 or 2 times a month, maybe not during your stay! We hope to welcome you a next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#4 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#8 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Arty Paris
#9 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#13 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montclair Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montclair Hostel

Property: Le Montclair Hostel
Address: 62 rue Ramey, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the 18th district, in a typical parisian neighborhood, Le Montclair Hostel has everything you need to enjoy your stay; snack bar, laundry, lobby, fusebol, wifi... Few steps away from the subway station Jules Joffrin, enjoy the authentic Paris, sit in a nice coffee and walk 10 minutes to the Sacre-Coeur. Le Montclair Hostel provides beds in mixed dormitories or private, double, triple rooms. Ideal for couple, family or friends willing to share a perfect moment together. A breakfast will be served every morning and the friendly staff will be glad to answer any of your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Montclair Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montclair Montmartre Hotel
Montclair Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing