We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad- you get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Montclair Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Montclair Hostel
Ranked #11 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not too bad- you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Montclair a few months back. We had a private double room on the first floor.
Like most places in Paris, there is no lift and it is quite small. However, we got this room at a pretty cheap price so we sort of expected a small room. We have travelled to paris before and paid more for a larger room. You definitely get what you pay for in Paris! If you want luxury- you have to pay luxury prices!

Pros: Our room was clean, as was the bathroom. Our bed was made every day. The staff were friendly and helped us with anything we needed. We could use the wifi from our room as we weren't far from the lobby. We stayed in the winter and our room was always warm! It was a good location for us! Doesn't take too long to get to from the airport - easy metro route! Within walking distance to the Sacre Cour! From there we walked everywhere so the distance was no issue for us.We liked to see the Paris surroundings properly.
At the end of the stay our flight home wasn't until very late at night but there's a luggage room we used for free! So we left our cases and went exploring for the rest of the day. Very handy! This was one of the reasons we chose this hostel.

Cons: It is very noisy. People around us were slamming doors constantly and just being generally loud. The walls are very thin so there's no noise barrier! However, we didn't stay in the room much as we were too busy going out to explore!
The bathroom was tiny and the water was running hot and cold most of the time. But a small bathroom is something I've found before in a Paris hotel/hostel.

It's an ideal place if you're looking for somewhere to rest your head for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Gérant at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for leaving a review!
In effect if you visit Paris you will be at the hostel just for sleeping.
The 1st floor could be a little bit noisy because of the fact that there is not elevator so everyone who goes upstairs pass next to your room...but we will have an elevator soon! we are waiting for some renovation works...
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    279
    155
    45
    26
See reviews for
44
136
147
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hostel is located in Montmartre...near the metro station. Its a good location...you can visit Sacre Couer, Picasso's studio, Moulin Rouge etc easily. But for all other usual locations like Eiffel Tower, Louvre etc you need to change the metro atleast once sometimes twice.
Its a good place to stay if you aren't travelling with too much luggage.
The breakfast was good...croissants, coffee, juice.
You have to take password for Wifi everyday...and it doesn't properly work in the room (we were staying on second floor).
Our room was small but clean with private bathroom. Bunk bed doesn't have ladder. Shower was a start stop thing...you press it, it runs for 5 sec and stops, then you start again.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_O6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Bonjour,
We thank you for your time to leave this comment. The wifi is only availaible in the Lobby.
We hope to welcome you a next time to enjoy the breakfast once again!!
Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Paying 30euros a night in many major cities I'd get very decent conditions, but not in this hostel unfortunately. I had a private twin which was situated on the 6th (!) floor, with no elevator (and there was no warming about it when booked). For most of long-time backpackers it is inconvenience, not to mention me with my suitcase (stairs are very narrow so be careful!). The promised internet was only in the lobby, but as everyone tried to use it, it barely was working (pain if you need anything for your further trip to be booked...). But again, no warning, and having advertised it as 'free wifi' we all assumed it would be in the entire building.
Breakfasts were nice, getting into Parisian atmosphere with croissants (but just 1).
There was no shower at our floor and toilet was so tiny that if I wasn't size 36 I wouldn't get in there, so we ended up going on the 4th floor most of the time.
Staff was not too helpful either :/ Only 1 person ever showed an effort to help us with our questions and printing tickets.
On a plus side I met some great people there (mostly because the internet wasn't working at the time and we all ended up complaining about it) and we travelled together to other European cities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barashek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Bonjour,
Thanks for your comment. About the lift, it's written on the website that we have no lift and when you ask at the desk, we change you the room. On the 6th floor, you have the view of the Sacré Coeur! Anyway, we understand your position and it's our future project to create the lift, normally in 2013. Concerning the wifi, normally there is no problem, we use the same connection to work, but we will check to solve the problem. Our team is here to make your stay pleasant, sorry if you didn't feel the same, we hope to welcome a next time to proove you that we can do better.
Romuald, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. It's ok. Cheap and clean, but nothing much. There is an ok breakfast included - that you can only serve yourself once (except for coffee, tea and cereal). The staff is ok, not so friendly, and the rooms are really small, but clean. There is no elevator! I stayed on the fourth floor, and that's exhausting. Despite that, ok.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for leaving us a comment.
The breakfast is free so we try to have enough croissants for everyone. There will be an elevator soon...promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The place is quite clean and conveniently located in montmartre. The rooms are tiny, and you can hardly walk around the bed. While our room had its own shower, hot water was hard to come by. The toilet is easily the smallest I have seen, I could just about walk in without my shoulders touching the walls. The building is quite old and has poor sound insulation. You can hear every single tipsy bagpacker running down the has all night. The breakfast is also tiny, a croissant and a bit of muesli. In the week we spent there, we could not get an Internet connection due to the weird system they use.
That said, the staff are very friendly and you will struggle to find a cheaper hostel in Paris. If you are on a budget, it is just fine. You get what you pay for, and not more.

Helpful?
Thank Miroslav N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review.
We will do some renovation works at the hostel this year to improve ous falities, and about the internet conexion, we are working on it to make itfaster.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I would stay here again. We only stayed here for 1 night & would have stayed a few more. It's in a nice area (montmarte) & close to a metro stop. The room was a reasonable size. We had a twin room which was bunk beds. We had to share the bathroom and showers. I don't know if the shower was broken or not but It would only spray water for 5 seconds and then you would have to press the button again... The only complaint would be the cleanliness of shared bathroom. I'd stay here again if I could figure out the shower

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missbex89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romuald B, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Bonjour,
It was great to read this, thank you.
For the shower, i will check with housekeeping to fix the problem, because we clean 2 times per day.
Waiting to welcome you a next time!
Best wishes for 2013
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

After paying extra to get a private room, my significant other and I had planned on getting some sleep before hitting the city. Noise was constant starting at 10pm until 6am. Multiple complaints were responded to with "it's Friday, you aren't going to get any sleep" or "the 4 people being loud are more important than those who want to sleep".

Mold grows wherever there is running water here. Black, purple, and green are the colors. I believe purple mold tends to be poisonous.

Helpful?
2 Thank god10145
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Bonjour,
Thank for your time to leave this comment. Then it's not normal to answer you that you're not here to sleep, it's an Hostel, not a discotheque. Please accept our apologise for this matter and be sure that i will do my best to understand what happened during your stay.
To not leave a name on internet, please be so kind to send me an email to explain exatly what happened: manager@lemontclair.com
Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel
Generator Hostel
#5 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#9 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Arty Paris
#8 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#13 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montclair Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montclair Hostel

Property: Le Montclair Hostel
Address: 62 rue Ramey, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the 18th district, in a typical parisian neighborhood, Le Montclair Hostel has everything you need to enjoy your stay; snack bar, laundry, lobby, fusebol, wifi... Few steps away from the subway station Jules Joffrin, enjoy the authentic Paris, sit in a nice coffee and walk 10 minutes to the Sacre-Coeur. Le Montclair Hostel provides beds in mixed dormitories or private, double, triple rooms. Ideal for couple, family or friends willing to share a perfect moment together. A breakfast will be served every morning and the friendly staff will be glad to answer any of your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Le Montclair Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montclair Montmartre Hotel
Montclair Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing