We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a hoStel... not hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Montclair Hostel
Ranked #12 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is a hoStel... not hotel.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed a week on my first ever trip to Paris.
The location is great, easily accessible from the airport by public transport. Within walking distance to Sacre Ceour and metro to reach all other places.

Although I stayed for a week in a dorm of 4 girls, and pre-paid 2 months before I came, the room was CRAMPED with a tiny bathroom where the hot water intermittently works. Oh the water switch off every ...1 minutes I guess...So whenever i shower, I just press my back on the knob, especially when i wash my hair.
May be not all the room is like this, but I got the most left corner room on the first floor. The 2 benefits of being on the first floor - wifi is accessible from there and just enough staircases for me to lift up my luggage . No lift.

Breakfast - all you can eat croissant and bread with selection of jams. Coffee, tea, and orange juice. Milk and cereals. Not bad at all....

Staffs - depending who is working, some can be aloof, while others are helpful. I actually enjoy talking to Fernando, the guy who cleans the room every afternoon. His English is better than the staffs in the reception.

Love the communal kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Bonjour,
We thank you for your comment, We confirm you that we are an Hostel.
For the shower, be sure that normally, we have hot water for all guest.
We also made the renovation, painting, bathrooms, in june.
We are happy that you like the breakfast and hope to welcome you a next time.
Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    288
    156
    45
    26
See reviews for
46
137
151
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hostel has a great location, just a the bottom of the sacre-coeur church. It's pretty clean. There is no elevator, wasn't a problem for me but could be for someelse. It's a good choice if you are travelling by yourself and want to meet with other young travellers. the wifi is free.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hello,
What a good idea, thanks for your review!
Concerning the lift, we understand your position and decide to install it for 2013.
Waiting to welcome you again.
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Staye here twice now, great location, awesome street and clean, well priced hostel. I've been here both as a couple and with a parent, it was perfect for both. The dorms and private rooms are both equally as good depending on what you're after

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi there!
Well, when will be the 3rd time ?
We enjoy to welcome people who come back in Paris
Thanks for your trust in our Hostel
regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

If you are looking for a central hostel with simple breakfast included and you are alright with sharing your room with others (ex. in 4-6 beds dormitory) with shared bathroom and WC or would like a very simple, but clean room with a double bed, in a superb central area in PARIS (with a view of Sacre-Ceour) - Montclair Monmartre is the place for you!
Simple, clean, old building with character and charm offers you a great stay, with clean sheets and free WiFi included in a price of aprox. 25 €/night/double bed room (shared bathroom and WC, wich is the only thing that bothered a bit whrn the hot water ran out by 09:30 am).
The staff is super nice, kind, friendly and very helpful!

We had a great stay! Merci et a bientot ;)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonecigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your comment,
We are happy that you like the Montclair Hostel
See you a next time!
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

my stay at le montclair was -ok. pros: it is located very close to the metro and it is located in montmatre, a ten minutes walk from sacre coeur. free wifi. free breakfast. the area where the guests hang out is pretty nice too. positive: they have a kitchen.
cons: no elevator. the rooms are not nice. bad beds. a constant bad smell in the toilette. no love in these rooms. some of the staff people have an arrogant-ignorant attitude.
all in all: ok.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imitthjaertakimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed in a 6-bed dorm room and were very disappointed with the room. The walls were black covered in mould which was pretty shocking and the room very damp and cold. The room had an ensuite toilet and shower although we only managed to get hot water once during our stay and it only lasted a few minutes. There is a very small shared shower on the ground floor of the hostel which has hot water so we had to queue to use that - not really worth having an ensuite! No mirror in the room. Staff were surly and unfriendly. The hostel does have secure lockers and a locked luggage room, and is conveniently located a few minutes walk from Jules Joffrin metro stop. Have stayed in far better hostels in Paris for a similar price

Room Tip: do not stay in the 6 bed dorm Room 22 - walls covered in mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess_Cardiff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramey62, Directeur général at Le Montclair Hostel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hello,
We thank you for your time to post this comment.
First we confirm you that we finish the renovations in the rooms and the 22 was part of it, you can check the pictures. For the hot water, we are sorry for this trouble and be sure that we provide hot water in every bathroom. And we also put a new mirror in the room.
Come back to let us proove you that we can provide a better stay!
Regards
Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

By the moment I entered this property I knew it was party time. The staff is really friendly and helpful, they kept answering my silly questions and always with a nice smile in their face. The best thing is that when i got lost they did help me to get back, thank you guys!!!
The location is perfect, 1min walk from Jules Joffrin metro station. Is close to everything and really minutes walking to the montmartre and the moulin rouge.
I will defo be back to Paris one day and hope to stay here again.
Thank you all for everything.

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom, is always cleaner and the shared one is not really on the way, plus try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 173 in Paris
791 reviews
Arty Paris
#8 of 173 in Paris
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Regent Hostel
#11 of 173 in Paris
1,010 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Vintage Hostel
#14 of 173 in Paris
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montclair Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montclair Hostel

Property: Le Montclair Hostel
Address: 62 rue Ramey, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 173 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the 18th district, in a typical parisian neighborhood, Le Montclair Hostel has everything you need to enjoy your stay; snack bar, laundry, lobby, fusebol, wifi... Few steps away from the subway station Jules Joffrin, enjoy the authentic Paris, sit in a nice coffee and walk 10 minutes to the Sacre-Coeur. Le Montclair Hostel provides beds in mixed dormitories or private, double, triple rooms. Ideal for couple, family or friends willing to share a perfect moment together. A breakfast will be served every morning and the friendly staff will be glad to answer any of your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Le Montclair Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montclair Montmartre Hotel
Montclair Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing