We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, that's all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Montclair Hostel
Ranked #9 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location, that's all”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Excellent location, one and a half blocks from Jules Joffrin subway station, in my experience that's probably the only pro. ah! Sebastien from the front desk was very helpful.

The place is not really clean, the staff always seems to be really stressed, once there was what i think is the manager and a receptionist trying to solve something in front of the computer, i approached myself to the front desk to pay my bill, they look at me and keeped talking to the each other, ok, they were busy…after that i was probably standing right in front of them about 4 minutes and nothing (i've been working in hotel industry for years and it's very easy when you are really busy just saying "i'll be with you in a minute"), but this was not the case, i was the only one in the reception at the moment. i talked to other guest in the hostel and we all agreed that the staff was not helpful at all and always really stressed.
There was 4 computers, one was working fine, the wifi was good, fast and always working.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    286
    156
    45
    26
See reviews for
46
136
151
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This place had extremely rude staff. I was traveling with two friends, and we had booked this place for two nights, but they made us switch rooms after the first night do to an error they had made. This meant we had to pack all of our bags after the first night, lug them down the stairs, store them in an unsecured luggage room, and then "re-check in" to another room later, which happened to be on the top floor. What a nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hostel was fairly nice and the price was fair. Staying here two nights we realized the location was pretty good, as the metro is right around the corner and there are some nice restaurants in the area. Prices at them are a little spendy but about the same as anywhere else you go in Paris. Also there are a few sights within walking distance. Doors were rather squeaky and showers small and tricky but if you can deal with that, its not a bad stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

First off, I loved the location of this hostel. Just north of the touristy part of Montmarte are some awesome (and nice) locals and chill bars. Staff were nice and helpful, booked me for 4 extra nights in the same room last minute when my other hostel fell through. So close to the Metro, which is fun to figure out, 10-15 min to Louvre. Close to Gare Du Nord train station. Not a drunk 'party' hostel, but I met some cool, interesting travelers and with no curfew you don't have to worry about getting locked out.

Rooms are quiet and clean, cozy (aka small) but totally worth the value. I would absolutely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank time_traveler_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I've stayed in a lot of backpacker joints in my life, but the room we were given here was preposterously small--literally a bed with about 30cm to walk around it, and a miniature bathroom.

Unsurprisingly--considering it's packed full of half-drunk English teenagers--it can be a bit tough to sleep. If you're keen on hearing the more irritating accents of Britain at 3am, you'll be giddy here.

Service is adequate, if unremarkable. The place looks... okay, if very tacky. There's 'free internet'--but it doesn't seem to extend beyond the ground floor. If, like us, you're given a room on the top floor, you might grow to resent walking up what feels like 400 flights of narrow stairs to get to your room. Was also fairly annoying being woken up by renovations at 7am each morning. You'd think a hotel would be a little more aware of guest needs, and opt to have their workmen pick up tools at a reasonable hour. Obviously not.

Even for the relatively reasonable price (for Paris), it's hard to say much good about this place. Montmartre is a nice suburb... I guess there's that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostreehombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a hostel so don't expect all the bells and whistles you would get in a 4 star hotel. We stayed in a 4 bed private ensuite and it was all we needed. The room and bathroom were clean, there was nice big windows overlooking the street and there was a metro just around the corner. Plus the free breakfast was a great bonus! If you want simple cheap accomofation in Paris I definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Pretty much what you'd expect from a hostel, you got a roof over your head and that's about it. But if you're going to Paris, you probably won't want to lay down in a room somewhere and watch TV all day long anyway,

price is great, perfect for backpackers,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostHolyChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
781 reviews
Arty Paris
#7 of 166 in Paris
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Le Regent Hostel
#8 of 166 in Paris
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montclair Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montclair Hostel

Property: Le Montclair Hostel
Address: 62 rue Ramey, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the 18th district, in a typical parisian neighborhood, Le Montclair Hostel has everything you need to enjoy your stay; snack bar, laundry, lobby, fusebol, wifi... Few steps away from the subway station Jules Joffrin, enjoy the authentic Paris, sit in a nice coffee and walk 10 minutes to the Sacre-Coeur. Le Montclair Hostel provides beds in mixed dormitories or private, double, triple rooms. Ideal for couple, family or friends willing to share a perfect moment together. A breakfast will be served every morning and the friendly staff will be glad to answer any of your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Montclair Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montclair Montmartre Hotel
Montclair Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing