We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #124 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

You really feel that way as soon as you arrive at le Varenne.
A warm welcome in the charming little lobby and a few minutes after you are comfortably in your room.
Our stay has been a full success because of this hotel and its staff.
We have to say that le location is superb too.
Look no further, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    301
    71
    10
    8
See reviews for
182
782
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in 3 different hotels in Paris this past year and this is our favourite.
Friendly staff, perfect location and cosy comfort made our stay very enjoyable.
We loved the breakfast with delicious omelette and strong coffee.
Next time in Paris we won't hesitate and return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The ever important factor for a hotel is location - and de Varenne's is great - walking distance to most of the highlights of Paris, through a lovely neighborhood. Metro very close for when you need it.

Check in and our were a snap, and the desk staff was very efficient and courteous. Room was definitely big enough and the amenities were good.

The one issue we had was that our room got a bit noisy at times - from noise within the hotel, and from some street noise. This was not bad enough to make us ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors might be less affected by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews..and we are glad we did. Fantastic location, charming rooms, incredible staff. The hotel is like an oasis in the middle old world charm, local shops and restaurants and walking distance to pretty much anywhere you want to go. We will return here and hopefully many times.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank srotzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the last few years and love its quiet elegance, quiet location and (often) very reasonable prices for the area. It is walking distance from many of Paris museums and monuments as well.
Fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast is a plus though you could go a café nearby for coffee and croissants for slightly cheaper.
I have had several different room and most are not huge but roomy for Paris - given the choice the rooms higher up are better.

Room Tip: rooms at the back have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Paris and we very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel de Varenne. The location is excellent for accessing public transportation and in addition to being a short walk from the Rodin museum, there are several cafes, shops, etc. nearby. Our room, overlooking the garden, was comfortable and quiet. We were particularly impressed with the knowledge and graciousness of the staff, who were readily available to answer questions and provide information. We hope to return soon!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 263SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the hotel.
It is 400 meters from the metro station, which is very convenient.
The area itself is full of ministries, embassies, so very beautiful. Musee d'Orsay is 15 walking distance, so it was a pleasure, and it was the biggest reason why I'd chosen this hotel.

The main entrance is like the entrance to a very good museum, amazing, the reception also.

As for the room (4th floor) it was more than average, full of yellow color, pretty small (as in most Paris hotels), the biggest part of the room was a big bed, which was just near the door...
No noise isolation, so having a rest is almost impossible, I could hear not only all conversations seemed they were right in my room, but even someone snoring in the room near by!
Nothing to say about bathroom facilities: liquid soap and an old hair dryer.

I didn't take the breakfast as for 11 euro there was just tea or coffee & croissants.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor there are 4 rooms only: 3 are together and the 4th is separate. Maybe it will be le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oxa1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#97 of 1,802 in Paris
551 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#114 of 1,802 in Paris
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#61 of 1,802 in Paris
451 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Walt
Hotel Le Walt
#52 of 1,802 in Paris
781 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#74 of 1,802 in Paris
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#95 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing