We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favourite hotel in Paris”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #137 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the last few years and love its quiet elegance, quiet location and (often) very reasonable prices for the area. It is walking distance from many of Paris museums and monuments as well.
Fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast is a plus though you could go a café nearby for coffee and croissants for slightly cheaper.
I have had several different room and most are not huge but roomy for Paris - given the choice the rooms higher up are better.

Room Tip: rooms at the back have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafiki99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Paris and we very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel de Varenne. The location is excellent for accessing public transportation and in addition to being a short walk from the Rodin museum, there are several cafes, shops, etc. nearby. Our room, overlooking the garden, was comfortable and quiet. We were particularly impressed with the knowledge and graciousness of the staff, who were readily available to answer questions and provide information. We hope to return soon!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 263SusanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the hotel.
It is 400 meters from the metro station, which is very convenient.
The area itself is full of ministries, embassies, so very beautiful. Musee d'Orsay is 15 walking distance, so it was a pleasure, and it was the biggest reason why I'd chosen this hotel.

The main entrance is like the entrance to a very good museum, amazing, the reception also.

As for the room (4th floor) it was more than average, full of yellow color, pretty small (as in most Paris hotels), the biggest part of the room was a big bed, which was just near the door...
No noise isolation, so having a rest is almost impossible, I could hear not only all conversations seemed they were right in my room, but even someone snoring in the room near by!
Nothing to say about bathroom facilities: liquid soap and an old hair dryer.

I didn't take the breakfast as for 11 euro there was just tea or coffee & croissants.

Room Tip: On the 4th floor there are 4 rooms only: 3 are together and the 4th is separate. Maybe it will be le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oxa1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay exploring Paris for the first time and enjoying the comfort of hotel Varenne.
After a warm welcome we discovered our lovely and quiet room on the garden side.
What a pity to have such a cold weather, in summer time this must be nice to take advantage of the charming garden.
The quality of the hotel, its service and its comfort is number one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely hotel in a very nice area. The room was clean, the staff were very pleasant and the price was reasonable. There's a great bakery next door and the restaurant, Le Sac a Dos, across the road was a great recommendation from the staff. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A serious good hotel.
The management and the staff are doing a very good job and it shows.
The room was clean, cosy and nicely decorated with the best of the modern technology.
Yhe ocation is second to none, close to the Rodin museum.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We loved this hotel and its friendly staff.
Comfortable room and delicious breakfast, awesome tea.
Rue de Bourgogne is very convenient with nice little shops and good restaurants.
Our stay was too short and we would like to go back for a longer time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#174 of 1,802 in Paris
792 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#102 of 1,802 in Paris
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#53 of 1,802 in Paris
523 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#78 of 1,802 in Paris
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#100 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#120 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $173 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing