We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the weekend”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #105 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for the weekend”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a great long weekend in Paris and was relieved to find such a lovely hotel to rest in after a lot of walking. I didn't think the rooms were too small, especially compared to similar I've experienced in Paris before. They had really friendly staff who were very helpful in keeping our bags before we could get into our room (10am) and in recommending places to go for dinner.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    298
    71
    10
    8
See reviews for
180
804
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights there with my husband at the beginning of july and we keep a great souvenir of our holidays.
We had a superior room, very comfortable and freshly renovated. This was located on the garden side and we could sleep with the window opened at night ! Pretty rare for Paris.
We breakfast, taken in the garden was delicious and cheap at 11 euro per person.
The entire staff speaks god english and is very polite and helpful.
This is a place to remember and to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tania p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 rooms in late June for ourselves and our 2 grown children.
The hotel itself is nice, well decorated and comfortable The entrance is through the courtyard, which is a nice morning spot with a pot of coffee. I have to agree with those who feel the desk staff was not overly warm, OR helpful. We experienced 3 different staff persons at the desk and they all did the minimum service without asking how else they could help.
Not having stayed in Paris before, we did have plenty of questions.
My husband and I did have to move to a different room (we knew this was needed when we booked) our last night, and that is never easy- however we were happy to get a hotel for 4 of us at a late booking date.
There was a lot to walk to, the Eiffel is quite a walk- but worth it! The shopping, cafes and restaurants in this area are good.
If the desk staff warmed up a bit this would be a top rating. We did enjoy this comfortable quiet place after so much walking
every day!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank excitablesmKc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Most everything about this hotel was good but the location is fantastic! To be this close to all the important sights of Paris at the price is practically unheard of. The service was pretty good, rooms are small but unless you want new chain hotels that look the same in every city, small rooms are what you will get although the bathroom was exceptionally large for a small city hotel. We were three in a room and I would not recommend this as there was hardly room for our luggage and extra bed. I will definitely stay here again (with no more than 2 in a room) if I get the chance to go to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ch1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Better late than never, but I've been meaning to write this review for over six months. My wife and I were guests at the hotel last December. We had the superior twin, and we loved it. Terrific location -- Very nice area (7th) near a great boulangerie (Besnier), with comfy beds and a truly great bathroom (bathtub, heated towel rack). Quiet too--we were over the courtyard. The computer with internet in the lobby was very convenient. Most of all, the staff is wonderful. Not only did they speak perfect English, but they were perfectly willing to decipher a lot of far-less-than-perfect French from a couple of Americans trying to speak the native language as much as possible. And they helped us out of a real jam. On the day we were supposed to fly out (12/26 - a national holiday), my wife suddenly became so sick that she could not make the flight. They moved us into another room, summoned a doctor, and checked on us frequently to make sure that everything was OK. In fact, everyone was wonderful to us: the hotel, the doctor, and the pharmacists. Can't cry about two extra days in Paris. Just a great place. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We too had a comfortable stay in this peaceful, extremely attractive hotel, and we had the room 41 with the Eiffel view! A small room with partial view of the tower- romantic to have on first nights in Paris!

Yes, Hotel de Varenne's location was wonderful to reach the major sites with ease on foot, eg next door Rodin, Eiffel Tower, Champs Elysees and Musee D'Orsay plus many lesser know areas such as Rue Cler for markets, eateries etc. It is also stone's throw from the Right Bank's Palais de Tokyo, the Modern Art Museum, and the Grand and Petit Palaces, plus Madeleine.

A safe and peaceful area to walk in with some cosy eateries in the same street and around the corners. Cosy Giallo Oro's Italian cuisine nearby was a good start on the evening of our first arrival after having been on an extended walk of the Art Deco buildings close to the next door Invalides.

Service at the Hotel was also good, business-like, though helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quirindi282016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the 7th district which is a very upscale part of the city with embassies and national parliament.
But you also have the Rodin Museum at the end of the street and les Invalides are 5 minutes walk.
The atmosphere of the hotel is really charming with pleasant and helpful staff.
The comfort of the rooms is above the normal 3 star standard with extremely comfortable bed, modern bathroom and upscale decoration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philipp m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#92 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#128 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#78 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#112 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#83 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing