We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, solid location”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #111 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good, solid location”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

After a mix-up with the online booking site I used, the hotel bent over backwards to ensure that my stay with my father was a success.

Checking in is a bit fast for my liking... the receptionist welcomes you briefly and then hands you the key and points you in the general direction of the elevator. No register, no orientation, no explanations.

Remember to keep the key card in the lock to open the door. Then put the key card in the slot beside the door inside the room to make the lights work. (That would have been useful information to have on check in)

The reception staff is helpful, finding a restaurant that served out-of-season fare.

Continental Breakfast for 11€ is adequate. Their coffee menu is complicated- Un Grand Café comes in a coffee pot.

Some have said that it's a bit out of the way. I disagree. It's three blocks and a bridge from Place de la Concorde, and 5 minutes from the Varenne Metro Station.

Serious kudos to Beatrice and her reception staff.

I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    298
    71
    10
    8
See reviews for
180
802
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

REading the many nice comments on the Hotel de Varenne, led us to expect the charming, quiet, well-run place where we spent a very happy week. However, the sense of intimacy in the cosy breakfast room and lovely patio with other guests was an unexpected bonus, one we seek in avoiding larger commercial hotels. The neighborhood abounds with national agencies, embassies and consulates, but has plenty of little restaurants, markets, cafes and pharmacies.
This is not a shopping area.

We walked to the d'Orsay, the Louvre, the nearby Rodin Museum, and the Canmps Elysee.
The managers were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Beatrix. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: A room opening on the patio offers quiet and fresh air. Ours was larger than most big city rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I am right now at this hotel again, this time with family. We have rooms 41 and 45 and they are, as usual, excellent.

Full bath with tub and shower.
Shampoo, gel, etc. provided.
Hair dryer.
Air conditioning in each room.
Windows that open fully for fresh air.
Full curtains to block out light if needed.
In room safe.
In room fridge.
Large by Paris standards.
Great price.

Staff is excellent day and night as always. They will call taxis as needed. Many small shops and restaurants on street that is generally very quiet. Easy to sleep. Steps from Rodin museum and les invalides. Easy walk to tour Eiffel. Small courtyard to type tripadvisor reviews. Clean, safe, and fun. Wash clothes cheap right across street at full dry leaning/ washing service (not do it yourself.)

Book early as they are becoming discovered! I keep returning which is my proof of satisfaction. Bread store next door for mornings as well as small supermarket and fruit stand. You can even buy good cigars one block away which is icing on the cake!

My favorite staff member is Christophe who tolerates me and my family and all of our demands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was a great price. The room was small but not cramped and was perfect for sightseeing as we were only planning on sleeping there. It was very very quiet and we slept very well...apart from my moms snoring. The location was perfect for the price, about a 20min walk to the Eiffel Tower. We were planning on getting a cab, little did we know that it is very hard to get a cab in Paris. So we did end up walking quite a bit. The hotel staff weren't overly friendly but not rude either and were nice enough to hold our bags for the day so we could go sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbrat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 8 days in July. The superior double room was tremendously spacious for a European Hotel--ample room in the room and the bathroom. Air conditioning worked well, which was good, since our room faced the street--leaving the windows open was noisy and difficult to prop the windows open. There was a small refrigerator in the room, which was so handy to store beverages and breakfast items. Beds were very comfortable with smooth linens and comfortable pillows and duvets. There was free wifi in the room, as well as a computer in the breakfast area. The breakfast runs from 7-noon, and was a convenient (albeit expensive) way to start the day, but there was more than enough food (croissants, pain au chocolat, and baguettes), along with juice and either coffee, tea, or chocolate. for 11 euros. The toiletries were from Lanvin, and were a little too strongly scented for my taste.

The location is superb. It was two blocks to the Varenne Metro station and 4 to the Invalides Metro station. Very walkable distance to the Rue Cler area for restaurants, as well as to the Seine, the Louvre, the d'Orsay, the Bon Marche. The neighborhood is residential and quiet--not a lot of nightlife. Lots of embassies in the area. Great Italian restaurant two doors down.

We'd stay here again in a heartbeat--great value--great location. The staff are helpful and friendly, but not effusive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First of all, if you want to be in an area with lots of bars, cafes, dining, shopping, etc., this hotel is not for you. It is on a quiet street in an upscale residential neighborhood. And if you like the amenities of the massive chains, you won't find that either.

But - it is a very attractive, typically Parisian hotel in an interesting location with great access to just about everything. We had enjoyable walks to The Louvre, Eiffel Tower, Pont de Neuf, d'Orsay museum, and some good dining. Also, the Varenne metro station is just two blocks away. (To get to most places from this station you will have to change trains, but the Paris metro is very easy to navigate.)

Our first room was truly tiny, even by Paris / NY standards; you may want to book a mid-size to large room. Also, while the staff was very friendly and warm, they really did not provide a concierge type service as far as recommending things. (C'mon - you don't know good place for breakfast in your own neighborhood??)

All in all we were very pleased with our stay. The quality of the hotel and the excellent location make it easy to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was almost perfect but for the grouchy reception staff. I am well aware from numerous trips to Paris that French city service is the worst in the world. While this hotel wasn't quite that bad, the female reception worker definitely let us know she thought she was much better than us. Her male co-worker was marginally better. It had nothing to do with language as my partner speaks fluent French and she received the same scorn.

The rooms were lovely, location excellent, and property was very well presented. The value for money was good but not exceptional due to the service. We would stay here again to give it another chance, as Parisians are just like this - even in Hospitality. Strange but true...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varenne75, Owner at Hotel de Varenne, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.
Thank you for saying that the hotel is almost perfect.
I am so sorry you had a bad contact with our female receptionist. I am really surprised you founrd her "grouchy". She is our head receptionist and I have been working with her for years. I spoke to her and she was sincerely sorry you felt offended by her behaviour with you. She usually takes care of each guest personally and friendly. We always do our best to be polite, friendly and efficient with each guest.
If you decide to give us a second chance we will show you how we like to treat our guests as they deserve it.
Best regards.

Jean-Marc POMMIER
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#93 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Bourdonnais
Hotel La Bourdonnais
#131 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#81 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#112 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#84 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing