We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely agree with Yorkshirecritic: "Book it. Now."”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #116 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Logan, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Completely agree with Yorkshirecritic: "Book it. Now."”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel de Varenne was a wonderful place to stay in Paris! Located centrally--just about a block from the Rodin Museum and not far from the Orsay, the Seine, the Eiffel Tower, Rue Cler, and Invalides, but on a nice, quiet street. Very good bakery next door, a grocery store two doors down, a few nice restaurants right on your street, two Metro stations closeby, and two banks with ATMs at the end of the block--we really felt this location couldn't have been more ideal. We walked to the Louvre and Notre Dame as well without difficulty and walked home each night in the dark never feeling unsafe.

We didn't even have a superior room, just standard, and the room was spacious by European standards with a lovely view of the courtyard. Everything was very clean, and the beds were VERY comfortable with wonderful soft duvets. Our bathroom was HUGE for a hotel in Europe and again immaculate with a cradle on the wall for the showerhead. The fridge in the room was very convenient, and free WiFi generally worked very well all week. The hotel staff were very helpful with anything we needed and quite friendly--some of the most patient people we met with our French! We especially enjoyed Carlos with whom we could enjoy speaking Spanish thanks to his Colombian heritage!

While we felt we didn't need the 11 euro breakfast daily with our room, we found that just 8 euros for scrambled eggs, a carafe of hot chocolate and a fresh baguette was a wonderful way to begin a few mornings!

There were so many hotels to choose from in Paris--we were extremely happy with our decision to stay in Hotel de Varenne. We had a very comfortable and affordable stay (189 euro per night) and can't wait to go back! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a classy, yet comfortable hotel with good service in a fantastic location!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. I understand there are rooms on this floor with views of the Eiffel tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WHSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    301
    71
    10
    8
See reviews for
183
787
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My family stayed at the Hotel de Varenne last July; we had a total of three rooms, two singles and a standard double. We got a good price for them via the web. The hotel is, as others have noted, well run and in a quiet location, especially appreciated in high tourist season. I have two fairly minor negative comments, however. One is that on two of our four mornings the coffee was undrinkable. I've never before been served such terrible coffee in a French hotel. The other and more serious deficiency was that, in our (small) standard double, the toilet was located on one side of the room, and the sink/shower on the other. The single rooms were actually more practical and had more charm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fammay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I totally agree with previous reviewer.
This was the best choice we did to stay at the Varenne.
Friendly staff, quiet room , spotlessly clean, delicious breakfast, fantastic location ....
We will go back soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was our first trip to Paris so we were somewhat nervous about hotel selection. We narrowed the finalists to three and then selected this hotel. It turned out to be the absolute best choice from a quiet standpoint after walking by the other two hotels during our stay. I look for clean, quiet, good service and access to metro. This hotel fit all. Our room had twin beds and was very nice size as was the bathroom. Even though our room was on the "main street, the hotel is located in a quiet residential area. So even the main street is very quiet at night. You can sleep, but at the same time get to the metro in a two minute walk. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms spotless. Beatrix was very pleasant as were other members of the staff. They even allowed us to purchase a bottle of wine from the market across the street and sit in the garden and drink it. And the hotel provided the bottle opener and glasses at no charge. Visit the bakery and fruit stand next to the hotel. They were great. As was the small market across street for wine. Great prices. Having a refrigerator in the room really helped with food cost as well. This hotel made our stay in Paris so enjoyable. I almost hate to rate it this well for fear it will become so popular we won't be able to get a room when we go back. I would absolutely go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Garden would be quiet but we even stayed on the main street side and it too was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

;We spent one week in a nice and spacious room overlooking the garden.
We hesitated very much before choosing the right place for our anniversary in Paris and did not regret at all our choice.
The comfort is excellent, beds are first class and everythijng is spotlessly clean.
The desk staff is very helpful and polite, they gave us a lot of good addresses and printed our boarding passes.
The location is a real plus, close to everything in an upscale area.
Don't hesitate, go ahead and reserve.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Sloped walls of roofline in our room and bathroom significantly reduced the accessible space and felt more like the spare room in the loft. Excellent bed and linens!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BardofMountbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Efficient, spotless hotel; old-fashioned rooms with modern bathrooms and an attractive outdoor terrace on the street level. Staff pleasant and helpful. The hotel is near the Musee d'Orsay, Rodin Museum and within walking distance to the main hub of the Left Bank. The Centre Pompidou is within a reasonable hike.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#127 of 1,801 in Paris
452 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#96 of 1,801 in Paris
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#60 of 1,801 in Paris
466 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Derby Alma
Le Derby Alma
#76 of 1,801 in Paris
692 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#176 of 1,801 in Paris
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Property: Hotel de Varenne
Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#90 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing