We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED it and will return!”
Review of Hotel de Varenne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Varenne
Ranked #102 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This beautiful little gem is worth the money - gorgeous people; beautiful rooms; tasteful decor and the location is perfect. Can't fault this place it is just lovely and I highly recommend it to everyone wondering where to stay in Paris - unless you want the big hotel experience. This is small and very friendly, intimate, and the service is wonderful. Very chic, very French.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

I was taking my fiance on a surprise trip to Paris for his 30th birthday. I wanted a central hotel which was cosy and romantic but not too expensive. I saw the reviews on here and decided to book the hotel.

I was not disappointed - the hotel has a brilliant location for those who want to explore the city on foot. It is really near the Latin Quarter but also the river, the Eiffel Tower etc. Great as a base. The hotel is small and our room was small but very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was lovely - great power shower. Very quiet at night.

The hotel staff were very helpful in organising various parts of our trip before we arrived and booked us into 2 fantastic restaurants for the Friday anad Saturday night so we didn't have to trapse around the city finding somewhere to eat. Defintiely try Chez Francoise and see my review on that.

They give you until 12 to check out which we thought was really good (and rare).

Only negative thing is that breakfast is not included in the price - it is 11 euros extra which seemed quite a lot for a continental breakfast of essentially bread and jam! It didn't bother us though as there are so many fantastic bakeries/cafes etc - just get breakfast out.

Overall a very good hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank complex_blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Hotel De Varenne is a nice hotel and MOST of the staff are very friendly.
Take the stairs when going up as the elevator is incredibly small, it only holds one person. We were on our honeymoon and asked for something complimentary, we were told our room was cheap and that is complimentary. But most of the staff is very friendly. My wife has a gluten allergy and one staff member was kind enough to look for places to eat.

The hotel is quiet but cramped also the tv selection is all french very little english channels or options. The hotel is close to the Diagonal grocery store.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varenne75, Owner at Hotel de Varenne, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
I am sincerely sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
I was personally at the reception during your stay and remember you and your wife staying in room 34 for four nights.
You say you were on your honeymoon and I remember you mentioned it when you reserved, asking for a room with the best possible view, you did not mentioned you wanted something complimentary! The problem is you reserved one of our cheapest and smallest room at 139 Euro per night which is a real good value for Paris during the touristic season. If you wanted more comfort and space you had many possibilities to choose another category of rooms. It is clearly indicated on our website that those rooms are overlooking the courtyard and that the size is 11 m² plus bathroom.
You also say that our elevator can only hold one person. Let me explain you that in historic building in Paris you cannot expect huge elevators like in modern buildings of North America. However our elevator has been fully renovated three years ago and is large enough and approuved for three persons.
Concerning the tv selection. We have a new numeric reception system : ip Tv, which provides to our guests 6 free channels in english. I regret this was not enough options for you. We will see with our provider if we can improve it at all.
I hope that reading my answer and rereading your review we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again and to improve our service.

Jean-Marc POMMIER
Owner and Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed in at the end of July 2011. We found the location to be excellent and pretty central to everything in Paris. Being a big city, you will still have trouble walking everywhere. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Eiffel Tower. We found the rooms to be a pretty decent size and clean. The one gentleman at the front desk was rather unhelpful with making some dinner reservations, but the other two front desk employees were very willing to help.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pecos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

well priced, comfortable, large rooms for Paris. The concierges very very knowledgable and professional. Very thankful for their restaurant tips as the surrounding area was a bit disappointing for food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Booked this Hotel from all the excellent reports on tripadvisor and were not let down. This hotel is located on a little street in Paris very quiet. It is well hidden from the front of the road. The rooms are well appointed and are fairly large for hotels in Paris. Most of the attractions are about a 15 min walk or there is a metro station just around the corner and a bus stop about a 2 min walk.
Wifi is free and the people at the front desk also speak good english. The rooms also have a/c which is a good thing in Paris if it is hot. Would stay here again when in Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WATravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here a small week to visit a relative living at the Invalides. The hotel is very nice with a patio. Decoration is classical. The staff is very kind: I complained that the banging of doors made too much noise and they fixed it overnight.
Breakfast is good but limited in choice and quantity
Bathroom are OK

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Saint Dominique Hotel
Saint Dominique Hotel
#141 of 1,803 in Paris
478 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Cler Hotel
Cler Hotel
#52 of 1,803 in Paris
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Tourville
Hotel le Tourville
#106 of 1,803 in Paris
576 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#182 of 1,803 in Paris
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Varenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Varenne

Address: 44 rue de Bourgogne, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#79 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#110 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $182 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Varenne 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the hotel de Varenne... Ideally located, the Hotel de Varenne is a historic treasure dating from the 19th century, decorated with refinement in a Louis XVI and Empire style. Lying in the centre of Paris, the quiet and safe Rue de Bourgogne opens out on one end to the Rodin Museum and, on the other end, to the building of the National Assembly and lies near the Embassies and Ministries. This recently renovated townhouse distinguishes itself by its personalised reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Varenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Varenne Hotel
De Varenne Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing