We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris city break”
Review of Est Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Est Hotel Paris
Ranked #1,189 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paris city break”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked with Euro star and chose the hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor.
It's within walking distance of the Gare du Nord, and also from another merto station - Jacques Bonsergent. There's a bakery by this metro station, with a good selection of sandwiches etc, if you fancy doing lunch on the go. It's a much cheaper option than some of the cafes around the tourist attractions.
The hotel room was basic and very clean, daily room service, clean towels, recently refurbished bathroom, excellent shower, selection of shower gel, shampoo and soaps, replaced when we used them, hairdryer, T.V but no tea and coffee making things, the room was on the ground floor but considering the proximity to a very busy road, there was no noise at night to keep you awake. Safety deposit boxs available, 4 euros daily.
Marione deserves a special mention, her English and local knowledge is excellent and she was very helpful when it came to sorting out Metro tickets, do take her advice and buy for Zones 1 and 2 6.60 euros a day, and if you are travelling further afield, Versailles or Disney, then get tickets that cover Zone 3. All of the other staff (24 hour reception) were also helpful and very polite, nothing was too much trouble.
You can only buy tickets for the metro with a card or from the self service machine at the nearer Jacques Bonsergent station. If you buy several days ticket at the same time don't mix them up.
We didn't have breakfast at the Hotel but chose to eat on the go, so cannot help with that. I think it was an extra 6 or 7 Euros.
Hotel is in a great place to access popular tourist attractions and the metro at Gare de L'Est will take you to pretty much anywhere in the city.
We would look at using this Hotel again: on a city break we look for the location, cleanliness of the hotel and safety of the area, we found all with the Est Hotel.
We did find a well stocked supermarket, turn right when you come out of the hotel, it's on the next block.
There is also a really good selection of bars, cafes and resteraunts to eat at, we chose the cafe le bistro, turn right from the hotel, opposite side of the road to the hotel and about 2 blocks down.
Really nice staff, the menu is also in English and we can recommend the fish and spinach lasagne, the meat lasagne and the traditional beef steak. We had breakfast there too. It seems like all the eateriers are expensive but we thought it was comparable to others in the area and we liked the atmosphere. Samual and Mathieu and the two ladies serving during the day were friendly, helpful and pleasant. Service was good, the food was hot and well presented and a lot of French locals used the place when we were there which is usually a good thing.
If you fancy a stroll, the Place de la Republic is about 15 mins in one direction, turn right from the hotel, and the Marais and Beaubourg districts are within easy reach from there. And Montmartre is about 20 mins walk, turn left from the hotel. Do take care with those who are selling gifts on the street, there can be a lot of them about and they can be persistant. We found that where there were security staff around and police, you didn't get bothered, but that isn't the case at all the popular tourist attraction.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colettemorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    237
    234
    76
    65
See reviews for
129
262
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Do not ever go to this hotel. The staff were so unbelievably rude and patronising. The rooms were smelly and to a very poor standard. Myself and my two friends arrived late at night and were due to share a triple room. When we asked if we could get additional single rooms, they said they had them but for some reason wouldn't give them to us - the whole experience was very bizarre. The staff were really unfriendly and very unwelcoming. Horrible place, avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely hotel. We stayed in one of their triple rooms and although it was basic it was all that we needed. It was in a rather safe location with a small supermarket nearby, several close restaurants, a few patisseries and very close to the Gare de l'est. Although it wasn't close to any of the major attractions, it being close to the station meant that we could easily take the metro to any attractions and yet not pay ridiculous prices.
The room was quite basic and although the bathroom was small it was manageable. It had one wardrobe that was an adequate size as well as a desk, chair and a Tv, however there was no hairdryer. There was also no safe but there were safety deposit boxes that were only €4 per day and they were well worth the money especially for storing passports and money.
The room was always like new when we returned in the evening and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who aren't looking for luxury but for somewhere to stay whilst exploring the city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tyrone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in a triple room and it was everything we wanted! Close to the metro (Gare de l'Est), reception staff were friendly and helpful, room was cleaned every day and was spotless. A typical Parisian hotel- small and traditional. There are safety deposit boxes to keep passports etc but at a charge of 4euro. The area wasn't the best however it did have supermarkets and bakeries nearby. The only problem for us was that there wasn't a hairdryer or kettle in the room, but these are easily lived without!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loui95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The worst hotel i have ever been to. Room is tiny. Shower size is 75cm by 75 cm with a curtain that sticks to your body when you are showering. It is so small that every time you turn around you accidently close the water (and i am thin). Since we took a shower in the morning the floor got wet (it is impossible to shower without wetting the floor) and the room service punished us by not cleaning our room and leaving us a note that the floor was wet.
Other than that, not too friendly or helpful. It is located not far from metro but not close to anything. The neightborhood is ok during daytime but a little scary at night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michal G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic location, walking distance (15-20min) from Centre Pompidou and the river. The hotel is typical Paris, small rooms and corridors, no luxuries. Very clean. Very friendly excellent staff.

My only problem was, no kettle in the room, or fridge. I do usually make my own breakfast, or at least tea. Walking distance (5min) from Paris Du Nord. Shops near by, in the center of Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJT302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on the fifth floor - our balcony overlooked the street, which was lovely. The room was clean and well cared for, it's clearly an old building but for me that adds to the charm. Nice big bathroom with hair-dryer. Reception were nothing but helpful and happy to keep your cases after check-out so you can enjoy your last day. Metro is literally 2-3 minutes walk away and Gare De Nord about 15 minutes in a straight line, so really good for transport. The local area isn't amazing (we went past tramps drinking/urinating in the street on our first day) but the hotel is a little gem.

Room Tip: Facing the main road we didn't have too much traffic noise and a lovely view of the balconies do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekajwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
Hotel Brady Gare de L'Est
#918 of 1,801 in Paris
529 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#846 of 1,801 in Paris
121 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,612 of 1,801 in Paris
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little Regina
Hotel Little Regina
#1,156 of 1,801 in Paris
311 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,601 of 1,801 in Paris
591 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,014 of 1,801 in Paris
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Est Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Est Hotel Paris

Property: Est Hotel Paris
Address: 49 boulevard de Magenta | Boulevard de Magenta, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,189 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Est Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a warm and friendly welcome, Est Hotel is a convenient choice for a short break in Paris equally for business and leisure travellers. Est Hotel Paris is well located next to the railways stations, Gare du Nord and Gare de L'Est. It is also very close to the Grand Boulevards and few minutes away from the famous shopping centre of Les Halles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Est Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Est Hotel
Hotel Est Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing