We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!”
Review of Hotel Montpellier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montpellier
Ranked #1,453 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good experience!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Montpellier for 2 nights in July '14 and we found our experience was more than satisfactory. No, it's not the Ritz, but for what you pay and assuming you are going to spent the majority of your time exploring Paris as opposed to sitting in your hotel room it's good for the price. The skirting board was a bit damaged (which resulted in a couple of ripped pairs of tights) but that was the only real problem with the room itself. It's also directly across the road from a Metro station which was very convenient.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were okay - our sheets were clean and beds were comfy.They cleaned our room and changed our towels which we weren't really expecting. Our room was on the same level as the reception so the fact there is no lift wasn't a problem for us.

The only problem we encountered was that when we arrived our booking had been "lost". We think the fault possibly lies with Laterooms.com who we will contact as we did have to pay an extra 8 euro a night because the only rooms they had were the slightly more expensive ones that had a shower in them. But like I said, I don't think this was the hotel staff's fault and at the end of the day, it was still cheap.

All in all a good experience! Would recommend to those stopping through Paris for a few days on a budget!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    35
    25
    35
See reviews for
18
40
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice staff, but the premisies need some updating. They used that strong smelling detergent (perhaps to overpower the smell of mould) that I had to sleep window open. No elevator.Location is very near to metro and Montmarte.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmetto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July for one week. I was using the communal restroom and was locked inside because the door knob fell off. I was stuck there for approximately half an hour. The bed was small, fortunately the shower was right across the hall. There is no air conditioner and they lack an elevator. Some of the staff were rude and some were friendly. If you plan on just sleeping here then this would be an adequate place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed there with my wife on 12 and 13 September. We paid 60 Euros a night. There were 1 set of towels that was dirty, torn bed covers, and a shower that my wife was afraid to use. That is despite the room was paid for 2 people. The toilet was in the other side of the corridor BUT had no washing basin so no one could clean their hands leaving the toilets. That includes people going straight to the lobby and dining area, bringing all kind of filth and bacteria with them. We got a pillow out of the wardrobe and it had black stains of mould on it !!! It was disgusting !

The room was very noisy (Room 6) and the telephone on the wall was not working. We skipped breakfast (although paid for it) as we did not want to risk our health on a holiday.

It was NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE and I warn anyone reading this, to AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

The surprise was that we stayed in a 4* in Italy the next day that costed us (from a special offer of course) around 25 Euros a night, and with no comparison between the two places.

The photos I upload speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel land avoid similar ones in the area. Do not take rooms facing central street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vassilis-Manoussos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and found the hotel more than acceptable for what you are paying. I was on a small vacation by myself and only wanted somewhere in Montmartre and reasonably priced as I would only be washing and sleeping there. The Montpelier was more than acceptable on both these counts, only 5 minutes walk from Sacre Couer and the cheapest I found in the area. The immediate environment is a busy shopping street, not high fashion though, but at night I felt completely safe walking in the area on my own. The only quibble was that the shared toilet door did not close correctly but this is only a small matter. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem with the room or the cleanliness of the room or hotel, fresh sheets and towels every day and not a hole or dirty mark in sight. You get what you are prepared to pay for and this is a budget hotel so do not try to compare it the Hotel de Ville!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location and not a bad price, but it's fair to say we expected more than sheets with holes in, one plug socket in the room and no lift. Staff were mostly friendly, and the check in time up to 1am was helpful after our train was delayed. However, we didn't feel safe enough to leave anything valuable in the room, and having to drop the room key off at reception every time we went out and then pick it up again when we came in wasn't ideal either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domfront, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I booked this hotel for my son who was travelling from Thailand with his wife and three young sons. The room he was shown was not fit for purpose. No fire escape, beds up on a mezzaine so long drop for young boys. Room led straight into bathroom The hotel said they wouldnt charge but took money out on my credit card and would not refund although they said THEY WOULD NOT CHARGE. A horrible hotel in a dangerous area according to the taxi driver

Room Tip: I would not advise going to this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,540 of 1,802 in Paris
275 reviews
Montmartre
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
Caulaincourt Square Hostel
#1,239 of 1,802 in Paris
371 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,563 of 1,802 in Paris
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1,393 of 1,802 in Paris
167 reviews
Gofen
#1,641 of 1,802 in Paris
20 reviews
Montmartre
Plug-Inn Hostel
Plug-Inn Hostel
#869 of 1,802 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montpellier

Property: Hotel Montpellier
Address: 64 boulevard de Rochechouart | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,453 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Montpellier 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montpellier Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing