We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - walking distance to most attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel
Ranked #482 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in a triple room and it was quiet roomy considering the size of most rooms available in Paris, The price was comparable to other hotels even though I feel the prices for hotels in Paris are inflated somewhat to the rest of Europe.
The hotel is very comfortable and very clean. It feels safe and the staff are helpful.
This hotel would be good for couples and families who want to be in the middle of the action and where you can get a fairly cheap meal. Most restaurants in the laneways near by will offer deals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. These will costed between 6-15 Euros and usually will mean a 3 course meal so good value.
The souvenir shops closest to the hotel seem to be the cheapest so another good purchase.
Also, in the laneways is mini marts so you can buy the little things you might need when travelling.
The only downside for us, we booked this hotel to pick us up from the airport and something must of happened as no one was there to meet us. Therefore, not sure if you should bother with this service. We did explain this when we arrived at the hotel but no one explained anything to us as to why the ride was not there as planned. Hence, we did not use the service to get back to the hotel.
The breakfast in the hotel was fine for 12 Euros so on a Sunday when outside places don't open until later and you want an early breakfast, indulge.

Room Tip: If you want space then for only a few Euros more go for the triple room as it is quite large. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobby1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 585 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is on a busy street, very near Notre Dame. We booked 2 twin beds & pushed them together instead of the one queen bed option, much more comfortable. Our room was about 10X11, w/closets on either side of the beds.The built-in desk had stationery, pen, paper. The mini-bar had room left for us to keep a liter of milk for my AM coffee bought from the sandwich shop next door. Bed linens VERY clean, beds moderately comfortable. I was impressed by the modern bathroom w/travertine tile all around & combo heater/towel rack,but all other bedroom furnishings were of IKEA quality. No street noise-- we requested a quiet room not facing the street,it was the interior walls allowing the late nite revelers & early risers to wake us nearly every night & morning.This hotel is quite near 3 RER & Metro, but try getting your big luggage thru the exit barriers. The nearest RER-B is actually an elevator entry, but u cant get yur big luggage thru the entry barriers. Due to the difficulty of carting our lugguage off the RER, we arranged w/the polite front desk folks to SuperShuttle back to airport.

Room Tip: Book a twin & push the beds together for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gpalumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've been to Paris a few times, and on this occasion we decided to pay a bit more and stay somewhere more central. The latin quarter around the Sorbonne is somewhere we often end up as there's some great value eating nearby (€10 for 3 courses!) so we picked this hotel.

A short walk from the RER and Metro, it's located opposite a pretty church. The reception area is attractive and nicely welcoming (although the open fire wasn't lit which was a shame). Checkin was quick and efficient and we were shown to our room on the 4th floor.
The rooms aren't large- but this is Paris, so it's normal. The bed was comfy and the bathroom a reasonable size (compared to the room!) with good shower.

We were on the front, so had a nice view of the church opposite, although traffic noise at night was loud with the window open. The aircon didn't seem overly effective.

Free WiFi was a bonus, although it broke on the first morning- we let reception know and it was fine again by the time we got back in the evening.

The various reception staff we encountered were all nice enough; certainly not rude like some reviewers said! We didn't take breakfast- it seemed expensive when you could get a croissant, coffee and juice around the corner for less than €5!

Overall, the location is the bonus here - when we next go to Paris I don't think the location warrants enough of a bonus over a hotel a little further out for, say, €75 a night (we've stayed in a few of these and although not quite as nice, they are usually fine for a short break) as you end up needing the Metro to go further afield anyway! But if you want somewhere central, and reasonably priced for being there, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a nice view, but noise may be problematic. From the 4th floor we could just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location and easy to get to all tourist spots! The staff was helpful in making reservations for us. We loved the view of the church across the street! Only complaint was that the shower seemed to get water everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street if you don't mind some street noise! Beautiful views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Yes, the rooms are small, but this is Paris! The location is right in the center of everything, yet there was little street noise though we overlooked the busy Rue St.-Jacques. The staff, as opposed to what some others are saying, was perfectly nice and helpful the 5 days we were there in June. The lobby is charming, the room was clean and the breakfast was adequate. And the in-room Wi-Fi worked! Right near 2 metro stations, a short walk to many restaurants, across from Notre-Dame, etc. We would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location of this hotel is superb. Extremely close to Notre Dame and the Seine, it makes a good base for exploring the left bank. The room we had was perfectly adequate and clean, however the service was poor (even by Parisian standards). Wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wesmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Still, not a bad choice if you want to stay somewhere central in the St Germain des Pres area. Located just off the Blvd St Germain, it's not as noisy in the evenings as most of the other hotels area. Close to the river (Quai de la Tournelle), La Cite and the Blvd St Michel, le Henri IV is a good, clean, reasonably priced option. It's small though. Much smaller than those pics suggest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#258 of 1,804 in Paris
937 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#187 of 1,804 in Paris
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
#319 of 1,804 in Paris
950 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#824 of 1,804 in Paris
223 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Esmeralda Hotel
Esmeralda Hotel
#759 of 1,804 in Paris
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel

Address: 9 rue Saint Jacques | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#553 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $156 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Henri IV Rive Gauche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Henri Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing